MAC Star Nova

4.2

58 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/8/2012 9:49:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This gloss is one of very few that I continue to purchase. It is "just right" on my NC44 skintone and adds a natural looking touch of lovely. It's the one color that never goes wrong on me.



on 10/8/2012 6:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

First bought this when I was 14 and now, I'm in my early 20's still buying it. HG for my NC15 skin. Even my mother, who never really likes my choice in colors, considering she's an NC42, loved this as well. Perfect color and I've never found anything to replace it.


on 2/19/2012 5:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

LOVE LOVE THIS GLOSS! BEEN LOOKING FOR A GLOSS I CAN WEAR BOTH NIGHT AND DAY AND THIS IS AMAZING ON MY NC30 SKIN! IT GOES REALLY WELL WITH THIS LINER I HAVE BY LANCOME, ITS CALLED NATURAL MAUVE.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/30/2011 10:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

My new go-to l/g. Went to the M.A.C. counter to find a "natural looking gloss" for a friend's wedding, and after trying a couple (names escape me) that made me look like a jaundiced corpse, I said I was going for "maybe not THAT natural". The MA put this on, and it was love. Goes wonderfully with day and evening looks, and works over any and all other lip colors in my Caboodle (uh huh!)
Lasting power has not been an issue for me with this product; but if I haven't masked and moisturized my lips in awhile, it does get 'gritty' quickly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2011 12:15:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Pretty colour but dupable, doesn't last very long.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/23/2010 2:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Purchased this as a dupe for my beloved Little Vi that was d/c. Star Nova has too much shimmer/glitter and just looked like cheap drug store lipgloss on me. I usually like the lustreglass formula but found this more thick than the others. Little Vi was HG for me and this does not come close as all. Would not repurchase.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2010 5:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Other

Eyes: Brown

This lustreglass is an okay product. I bought this awhile ago, and in an effort to use up my ever expanding makeup collection, decided to use it constantly until it is finished (Project 10 hit pan). I have to force myself to use this because, as many others have said, this is not the most pigmented lipgloss. It looks fabulous in the tube, but is quite sheer in application. Similarly to many MAC lipglosses, it is quite sticky and glitter-y. I am trying to experiment with different lip liners and lipsticks to bring out the most flattering results for my skintone (NC 45), but I haven't found the "it" combination yet. I cannot wait to use it up and move on. Needless to say, I will not be repurchasing this.
By the way, this and Little VI are dupes of each other, though Little VI has a better color payoff. Since Little VI is discontinued, this may be a "harder to work with" alternative.


on 3/12/2010 4:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Time to give some love to this lovely lustreglass! Star Nova is a beautiful sheer mauve with a light silvery sheen w/ VERY small fuchsia glitter.

It goes on extremely sheer, but with great staying power. Not sticky, smells (As expected) of vanilla.

This is fabulous if you want a my-lips-but-better look, with lovely depth and slight shimmer.

Never in a million years would have picked this for myself (I gravitate towards roses, guavas or true berry colors), but luckily had a talented MA who suggested this.

I wear it over MAC Plum l/l (my fave combo), or by itself. Have also used it as a highlighter on a deep jewel-toned lippie (middle of lower lip, blot).

Worth the price for how long it lasts!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/1/2010 10:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely love this. It is a glittering medium mauve pink that looks good on any skitone because it adds that extra depth and shine to the natural pigmentation of lips. I personally prefer Lustreglasses over their drying, stickier, uneven sister the Lipglass. Lustreglasses are sheerer, lighter/more comfortable in texture and have a beautiful glistening effect that is easier to pull off than Lipglass. I like this best over MAC Loverlorn lipstick as it makes the bright pink more wearable by adding a mauve tone. I got this at a CCO but would pay full price for it when I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/24/2009 8:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Such a pretty mauve/pink shade. This has suited pretty much every skin tone I have seen it on. Star Nova has tiny little glitter and shimmer in the tube, but deposits very little once applied (to me, this is a good thing as I can't stand glitter on lips). It is just pigmented enough to wear on its own, or layer on top of a lipstick. Will be repurchasing shortly.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top