Dove • Intensive Nourishing Lotion • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.4(36 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Lietuva on 1/14/2009 9:45:00 AM more reviews by Lietuva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

It`s extremely moisturizing & I love the scent. Highly recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 digitaldiva16 on 11/12/2008 5:39:00 PM more reviews by digitaldiva16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I received this lotion as a sample and kept it in my winter coat pocket to keep my hands from getting chapped in the cold. It did the trick. It was not greasy and absorbed quickly. When I ran out, I bought a bigger bottle for after showers. I will admit the scent is a bit too strong at first, but it fades into a really light, nice clean, flowery-soapy scent that lasts. I also agree with others that it is tacky or sticky at first, but the fact that it absorbs quickly and doesn't feel greasy trumps any stickiness for me. I also love the long-term effects of the lotion. It keeps my skin soft and smooth all winter long. I wouldn't consider it an HG but it is a nice hand & body lotion to use in the fall/winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 punkelikat on 4/10/2008 12:23:00 PM more reviews by punkelikat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my first body lotion, so I don't really know what to expect of one, but I'll give it a try eh?
I don't take showers every day, so I haven't been using it as an everyday moisturizer, and I haven't always been very good at doing it after every shower, so maybe I've been using this once a week. INL comes in a bottle with snap-back lid, and I think it would be easier if it came in a pump bottle, but at least it's not a screw-on cap! It has a subtle scent that I love, it isn't very noticable unless you come near me but then it smells goooood. It doesn't take much time to sink in, but for my very dry legs and arms... This just don't moisture enough. I can still feel my skin itching and peeling (which it always does, it's not because of INL), and if a lotion does not moisture enough... I don't know what it's good for, really. Will still use it up though, as it smells lovely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SayItLikeItIs on 3/18/2008 12:06:00 PM more reviews by SayItLikeItIs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Not a good lotion, not very moisturizing, thick & hard to squeeze out and when I applied it to my legs after shaving I had to jump in the tub to rinse it off because it burned so bad!

Wouldn't repurchase--I'll stick with Alba Original for everyday moisturizing and Palmer's with olive oil when I'm in need of some heavy duty moisture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luvthered on 11/21/2007 1:13:00 PM more reviews by luvthered

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Hands down the best lotion I've ever used. I live in the dry desert of Phoenix and need consistent moisture 24/7/365 and this lotion delivers. Soaks right in when used after my shower and absolutely the BEST on just shaved legs. Gives them that elusive sheen-y look with no stickiness to the touch. I see from other reviews the scent is love/hate, but I happen to love it. Seems to give a "fresh" edge to whatever scent I layer on top of it. Will buy this in bulk in case they ever discontinue it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Caty_23 on 9/3/2007 4:40:00 AM more reviews by Caty_23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product after moving to a new office with air conditioning, as it made my skin really dry for the first time ever in my life. My skin felt so tight and looked almost scaly, and gave the skin on my arms an old and crepey effect. I am quite pleased with the results I have had from this lotion; it pretty much instantly makes your skin feel less dry and sinks in well despite it having quite a thick consistency. It does leave a slight shiny layer on the surface of your skin until it absorbs completely, which may take a good couple of hours. I don’t mind this too much, as it doesn’t give you a sticky feeling, but a friend who happened to touch my arm when it was still like this told me it felt like a “lump of dough” (yes, as you guessed due to the lack of tact, that was a male friend). I tend to put this lotion on before bed, and when I wake up it has fully absorbed and my skin is left feeling soft and supple. On occasion I have felt the need to re-apply it in the morning, but I generally don’t need to, which I suppose shows that the stated 24 hours of moisturisation really works. This product has the trademark Dove scent, which is nice and fresh and feminine. The scent doesn’t linger too long on the skin afterwards though, which is good as it does not interfere with any perfume you may be wearing. I may buy this lotion again, although I would like to try out a few others first. Whilst I don’t feel that the product is outstanding or anything too special, it is a good, solid product that you know you can rely on when your skin is dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 haleygreen33 on 8/17/2007 11:32:00 PM more reviews by haleygreen33

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

this is the only dove product i will buy. i bought it a year ago on a family camping trip to lake tahoe. everytime i go to tahoe, my skin dries out like crazy. i mean flaky, scaly, sunburn-y..it's disgusting. i bought this out of desperation and have been using it ever since. the scent is light and fairly nice; it rubs off after a few hours so no problems there. the lotion itself rubs in quickly and moisturizes immediately. my only complaint is the pump bottle...fine for home but horrible for traveling. by the way, my skin is naturally bipolar: my face is incredibly oily and acne prone, same with my chest, but my legs, arms and back usually lean toward the dry side. this lotion did not cause any acne (granted, i didn't use it on my face, but it was fine on my chest). overall, i recommend it to anyone, regardless of skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BreAnn21 on 6/27/2007 2:51:00 PM more reviews by BreAnn21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This lotion is great. I use it mostly after I shave my legs because they get rather dried out. It has a strong scent but it does fade. Most lotions have a strong scent IMO. It can go on too sticky but for me that means I just used too much in that area. It is rather expensive for a ds brand. I will continue to rebuy because of the certain use I do use it for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skandelouslala on 6/19/2007 10:54:00 PM more reviews by skandelouslala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I read through the reviews already posted for this product and was surprised that it was all very much so hit or miss and that this product seemed so different for everyone who has reviewed it.

Overall, I really enjoy this lotion. I put off trying Dove's body lotions for a long time b/c IMO they are a bit pricey and I know plenty of cheaper body lotions that I adore. But the Dove really is nice.

The scent is noticable but fades eventually on me. To me is smells of tea rose. I'm sure plenty would beg to differ but that is what it is to my nose. Your experience will vary.

I use one pump per body area...it absorbs pretty nicely that way but does feel a slight bit sticky for a couple minutes as it sinks in. I have 100% noticed an improvement in my skin since I started using this. My skin is so much softer and smoother. In fact there is really nothing that I can complain about. I really enjoy this body lotion and feel its work on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jellyspark on 4/8/2007 8:40:00 PM more reviews by jellyspark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

This product was disgusting and I would never repurchase. It was ovepriced (about 12$ CAD for a big bottle), incredibly thick, never sank in or moisturized and left my skin shiny and coated. I wound up throwing it away.

I did really like the smell, it smelled like expensive perfume. But if you don't like overly fragranced products don't even bother.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dove products

More Lotions/ Creams products