Vincent Longo • Vincent Longo Sole Mio Duo Bronzer - Golden Glow • Bronzers

rated 4.7(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LPomona on 2/5/2009 8:50:00 PM more reviews by LPomona

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

I have to disagree with those who say this is only for the palest of the pales. I'm not that fair (NC20 / Dior Forever fluid #021 / Chanel TI compact Cameo) and the darker half of this duo is quite dark for me (though I should mention that I like just the slightest, *barely perceptible* touch of color). It is darker than BECCA Flamenco and Odette, both of which I use as bronzers. It's also darker than LM Shimmer powder, which I also use as a bronzer. The lighter side is an amazing pale bronze with a fabulous gold sheen that is not OTT.

Shade specifics: One side is a rich, medium tan and the other is a much lighter, golden tan. There is no orange/peach or pink in either side. This is a very realistic bronzer with a St. Tropez feel.

One really distinctive aspect of this item is the super-fine milling of the powder. I've never experienced a "creamy" powder before, and that's exactly what this is. It's a cross between a pressed powder & a cream: the consistency is very close to that of KA cream blushes. You'll pick up plenty of powder just by *lightly pressing* your brush against the compact! That's important! You'd never actually stroke the brush against the pan - it's just too creamy/soft a consistency. The pigmentation is super-saturated, too, so this baby is going to last forever.

In closing: you're paying for the realistic colors and the luxuriousness of the formula, which is truly exquisite. So, you get what you pay for!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JulieLance on 1/15/2009 4:11:00 PM more reviews by JulieLance

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I am very fair and so is my daughter and we both LOVE this bronzer. Just a little goes a long way and no orange, which is hard to find. Bought online as a kit with VL baby balm and VL eyeshadow trio and they all go together perfectly for easy to put together makeup. Would recommend if you have a teenager, too, as this is hard to mess up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nverno on 1/9/2009 9:20:00 AM more reviews by nverno

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

As far as bronzers go for pale chicas like me (fair, cool-toned- I don't tan easily), this is the bestest, most natural, neutral color you can use. It's such a light true (and neutral) brown (with a slight hint of gold in it to give it dimension) that it will never look artificial even when I apply it when I'm rushing without even looking in the mirror. It's pretty fool-proof. However, this would be too light on anyone with an even medium skin-tone, but you could try it just to give you an all-over glow. I doubt you'll see color.


It is a pressed powder bronzer with a soft, and somewhat creamy consistency so you get a good application and it doesn't seem to accentuate lines or pores. For those of you who have tried Laura Mercier, Vincent Longo's Golden Bronzer is not as creamy as Laura Mercier's Golden Bronze pressed powder bronzer, but it is still softer than most pressed powders that I used. Also, Vincent's is not as pigmented as that one so if you want a bit more color go for the LM. They're both excellent and natural looking bronzers for fairer-skinned peeps, but I think (I'll explain later) I like the Laura Mercier one slightly better.


Okay, so I am loving the fool-proof color of the V.L. Golden bronzer and its consistency is quite nice too, but here's the thing... I have combination skin that's all over the place. Dry in some places, really oily in others, and worst of all I am acne-prone... I have been able to care for my skin and balance it out by using good products that I found over time minimizes my breakouts and keep my skin well-hydrated so it looks and feels alright. Well anyways after about a week of using this bronzer my skin starting breaking out and it is getting worse. Since I haven't changed anything else in my skincare/makeup regimen, I know it has to be my new bronzer ...-sniffles ;*( sniffles-... When I checked the ingredient listing, I saw that contains mineral oil and I surmise that is probably what's breaking me out. I have to admit that I don't always wash my face like I should at night because of my laziness (terrible). I can't use products that have mineral oil because if they sit on my skin like that all night I am most likely going to breakout. I try to be good and stick with my skincare regimen, and I mostly do, but every now and then I do fall asleep without doing what I should for my skin so it's half my fault, half the mineral oil in the products fault i guess. I chose buy it again for that reason.


I'm sad that this didn't work out for me. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is fair and isn't acne-prone. If you are like me try Laura Mercier Golden Bronze... (see review)... I use it all the time and never ever get a breakout, even on the bad nights when I pass out without washing my makeup off (yuck). I bought two of vincent longo's bronzers at Sephora because it was 50% off and they were the last two so I am kinda stuck with them and I will use it on occasion only (The price was originally $38.50 with half-off of that so I couldn't refuse). That's how much I loooved this... I bought two before knowing I would breakout from it. I also took one lipstick off because the original price is crazy, $38.50 for a bronzer that doesn't have tons of product in it. I could see if it was bigger or something, but come on, the price is outrageous. Right now the entire Vincent Longo line is 50% at sephora so that really helps. I also purchased a few of the Vincent Longo blushes, and let me say and I need to review, because they are awesome too. Good color payoff, good lasting power and nice soft consistency.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lexijojohnson on 1/25/2008 11:44:00 PM more reviews by lexijojohnson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

this is my new HG bronzer - it's so sofrt and pretty. i used a skunk brush to apply it - and it looks awesome. i think this is almost one of those that can look good on everyone! but, because it is so spendy, I wouldn't buy it - I was lucky to swap for it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* evakser on 12/18/2007 12:41:00 AM more reviews by evakser

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome bronzer! Gives me a fabulous golden glow that does not turn orange or muddy on me - I'm not fairest pale, but I'm not olive either. I'm a neutral to warm tone (more neutral than warm) with a light - medium color. This shade is lovely.
I'm taking off a lippy for cheap looking packaging - for $38 you'd think that the compact would be a little nicer! I find it a pain to open at times. But all in all, the product does what it's meant to do and does it beautifully. I would repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ainesey822 on 11/30/2006 8:08:00 AM more reviews by Ainesey822

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is an extremely gorgeous, natural looking bronzer. I am fair skinned, and I apply some to my cheeks, above my eyebrows and my nose, an I get this amazing glow! Fabulous!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 patentg33k on 5/23/2006 11:38:00 PM more reviews by patentg33k

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Vincent Longo's Golden Glow ($38.50 US) comes in a thin black mirrored round compact. This would fit into a purse or travel bag without any problem. Part of the slimness of the compact is due to the fact that this does not come with a brush, and because there is a fairly small amount of product. The words "Sun" and "Fun" are engraved on the top of the product.

For comparison, VL's Golden Glow comes with .28 ozs of product for $38.50---Chanel Canyon is .53 ozs for $45 and the Chanel does come with a wide, square usuable brush. So if you do the math--it's hard to imagine but it's true--the Chanel is actually cheaper. VL's is similarly priced to Guerlain's Blondes Bronzer is $44 for .35 ozs. (no brush comes w/the Guerlain either).

Okay, but if you are interested enough to read about this product I assume that price/quanity is not a huge factor for you or else you wouldn't be reading about VL. I do agree with the other reviewers--this is a great bronzer for Those Of Us Who Are PPP's. It looks totally natural, gorgeous and there's just enough "glow" in terms of the texture without getting toooooo sheeeeny and absolutely no glitter effect. It leaves my NC20 skin with a beautiful, natural finish and tone.

Let me just say that I bought this bronzer while I was comparison shopping a LOT of bronzers at Sephora. It was one of the lightest bronzers out there. Also, you can be confident that this bronzer will not go orange on you. There's a super neutral tone to it--no orange--just tan.

The pan size is perfect for swiping a kabuki or blushy brush on it. The pan has two tones--a lighter and a deeper. The pan is large enough that a standard brush could be used to use the light/dark for contouring. I usually the MAC Catherine Deneuve kabuki and just swirl the two together.

Bottom line--a great bronzer for a natural, neutral look. Price is high, but this is something that you can put on at 6 am and not go wrong--and having gone wrong with bronzers I think we can all appreciate the importance of that lil' feature!!!. Foolproof, really. Great size for travel. No fading, no touchup needed. Gives skin a great finish but looks natural. Will be a tough choice on re-buy b/c I really like Chanel's Canyon too. Price aside, Canyon's pretty pretty pretty. The VL is a good solid product that has a lovely texture--but lacks the pretty peachish tone of Canyon.

The powder is extremely finely milled--this does NOT emphasize fine lines or pores. So overall, Golden Glow gets two thumbs up--nice bronzer!

Finally, if your skin tone is deeper than NC20, try before you buy. This natural pale bronzer may not show on you.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lelly on 2/16/2006 9:07:00 PM more reviews by lelly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the consummate bronzer for true PPPs! It gives the skin a wonderful healthy glow, not the orange cast or dreaded dirty appearance that so many other bronzers impart. It's pricey (overpriced), but it really does a great job. I'm very pale and have successfully worn it in February. That's saying something.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ctji on 10/6/2005 9:29:00 PM more reviews by ctji

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This bronzer does give an amazing I have been at the beach all day.Another plus is it stays on all day-no need to reapply.It is a little pricey-40.00-but the results are worth the price.I will buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tresha on 9/20/2005 2:28:00 AM more reviews by Tresha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the perfect bronzer that goes on sheer with my Japonesque bronzer brush, and it gives the best glow that is not too shimmery. It's two colors in one, a lighter golden color and a medium golden bronze color. Not too orange, not too peach, and not too brown, just a perfectly golden bronze that is not too dark. It's was $38.50 at Ulta, but this bronzer is special indeed. It's worth the money. It's right up there with another one of my favorite bronzers, NARS Laguna. I will most definitely be using this through out the winter to brighten up my face. Did I mention the great glow this gives!? It really does wonders!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Vincent Longo products

More Bronzers products