Jergens • Natural Glow - Light • Self Tanners

rated 3.2(173 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 5/19/2014 10:54:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I was attracted to this product because it works gradually. I figured there was less chance of ending up some horrible orange color and having to wait a few days for it to go away. In that respect I was right, which is a plus. To test this, I only used it only my legs. The color was very even. It didn't streak. But somehow it's still not right. Although the color wasn't orange, it still didn't look natural. Maybe I'm just so fair that any tan is going to look fake.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 FayeLawliet21 on 5/8/2014 6:26:00 PM more reviews by FayeLawliet21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Smells strange, I wanted a beautiful glow but turned into an Umpa Lumpa snooki monster instead using very little of it and it horribly stains bedsheets even after drying. NEVER buying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 OxygenCat on 5/14/2013 11:26:00 PM more reviews by OxygenCat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product gives me a surprisingly natural looking tan. The trick is to rub it in until its almost entirely absorbed. And streaks left behind were my fault entirely. It does smell like fake tan, but that's because it is fake tan. Great product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 christinaMF on 7/5/2012 4:24:00 PM more reviews by christinaMF

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I have used a few tubes of this lotion in hopes of getting a gradual tan, whether for an upcoming event or just a boost of colour. To be honest, I don't know why I keep purchasing it. You do see a difference after a few days, but I find that it washes off quickly. If you dont exfoliate properly, it is also easy to see some orange patches on knees and elbows. I usually put a regular moisturizer on those areas so the colour does not settle into the crevices. I wish it gave a faster tan and was more bronze as opposed to an orange tone. Although I did not look like a carrot, it was just not what I was looking or hoping for. I am in between a fair and medium skin tone ans have tried fair for a long time, but that is because my legs barely see the light and are so white! Maybe I will try the medium shade to see if there is a difference. I just hope I do not turn into the next teletubby.

Overall, it is just an okay product and does not provide that great of a difference over time, even when used daily (from what I noticed) as it washes off fairy easily through daily showering and bathing. Just seems reductive.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anitalovestoshop on 6/24/2012 4:32:00 PM more reviews by anitalovestoshop

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this to build up a light natural looking tan colour before my wedding. It did the trick. I applied it in circular motions after my shower each morning, and it didn't smear (bearing in mind I am a total novice). It also left a nice subtle glittery sparkle. It is only a light colour though, as the name suggests. The only real draw-back for me was the smell. It had the usual fake tan biscuit smell, which is a bit off-putting. I couldn't wear it all the time, for that reason. But fine for special occasions. And it does take a few days to build up, so plan in advance (but at least then you can't go too far wrong with the colour!). Foolproof.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sassy_Pants77 on 5/18/2012 6:52:00 PM more reviews by Sassy_Pants77

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this when it first came out and absolutely loathed it. I am very fair and it left me looking decidedly jaundiced haha. But they seem to have reformatted it lately - it's in a hard package now as opposed to the soft plasticey package it was in before. I find it a little more difficult to get all of the product out of this later one, but the reformatted formula works much better! It's much less streaky - doesn't get caught in between my fingers and works right away. It's quite natural looking as well - I don't look weird and splotchy like I did before. It's also SO great as a moisturizer. It leaves me feeling so incredibly soft, which I love. But the smell is still offputting. I haven't encountered a self-tanning product that doesn't have that weird smell, so it's not exclusive to this product. Aside from that, it's quite good and delivers as promised. It's not my favourite self-tanner, but for the price, it is great. I'd repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NickyZ on 1/19/2012 12:58:00 PM more reviews by NickyZ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm writing this review so I don't stop using this for a while and start again. ALL the inexpensive self tanners I've tried at the drugstore STINK badly. For some reason at that price range they can't mask the smell of the DHA. I'f had samples of St. Tropez gradual tanner and its smell is tolerable. I just can't justify paying that much for self tanner. I love being tan but that I balk at the price of that every time I enter Sephora.

I have pretty light skin (MUFE HD 117) so it only takes me 1-2 light applications to get color with this, which is nice. The downside is that the smell is SO overpowering. It makes my fragrance smell off if I wear one during the day. I wouldn't wear it to bed because I wouldn't subject my SO to that. This was the gradual tanner that started the craze, and for that I give them props. I'd rather go au natural that smell like this crap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kabanger on 12/15/2011 8:03:00 PM more reviews by kabanger

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think it worked well on a natural tan, but it does take awhile to build it up and it doesn't last long when you shower. I would put it on at night after I showered and then I'd be slightly tanner the next day. It looks natural and smells just a little bit bad, but not too strong.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 page20 on 9/4/2011 3:34:00 AM more reviews by page20

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I can't wear this stuff long enough to even find out what the tan could look like. This is the second worst smelling skin product I have encountered. I have to wash my bed sheets after sleeping in this stuff. I never cared abut comments that complain about smell for any product because my only concern has always been to find a product that works. Smell is a second priority. But this stuff smells so awful it is sickening.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nmhidi on 8/25/2011 11:13:00 PM more reviews by nmhidi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product for quote a few years. I am naturally very pale (nw15) but I use this on my arms and legs every day after I shower, it helps me to not look ghostly white. I don't ever look orange, it looks perfectly natural. Also, I have pretty dry elbows if I don't use lotion, and this keep my dry skin at bay. I have purchased this many, many times.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jergens products

More Self Tanners products