Kanebo • KATE Deep Eyes Palette in Brown • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 schixzotic on 7/22/2012 12:32:00 PM more reviews by schixzotic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Kanebo eyeshadows have always impressed me and this one is no different. It builds well, is a really nice colour for Asian skintones and doesn't irritate my eye. Thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 macchamilk on 12/22/2010 6:13:00 PM more reviews by macchamilk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Gigantic fan of this palette - I can go to it at any time. All of the five colours I love, and by combining them in different ways it can go from completely casual, to smart work look, to full-on smokey eye. I'm a white girl with real pale, cool-toned skin so I'm not even the intended audience, but the colours still seem so flattering. The mid brown is quite a golden one, but if it seems too warm you can blend with the darker greyish brown to cool the look down overall.

For this price (under 1000yen at drugstores) the shadows have a great quality - soft and fine and don't fall off the eye. I always have this in my bag!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joxxy on 8/11/2010 3:17:00 AM more reviews by joxxy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is such a versatile palette - perfect for both casual and more dramatic looks. The palette comes with 5 different shades of brown ranging from a highlight color to a dark brown crease color. Some are matte, and some shimmery. I really have nothing bad to say about this palette except the packaging, which we'll get to later. But first, the pros - the eyeshadows are pigmented, finely milled, are easy to blend, don't budge (I use it with Urban Decay Primer Potion), and I feel as though these shades of brown are perfect for Asian skin tones because they have more of a golden undertone (especially the lightest highlight color, which is gorgeous - it practically glows!). The only con about the product is the packaging - since its a small palette split into 5 sections, the colors more likely to be used such as the highlight and all over crease colors have the largest space, and the palette contains a really small amount of the darker crease colors. But you really can do a wide variety of looks with this one palette alone! Since the colors blend easily, I like blending different colors together before applying them to my lids. This is definitely a staple in my make up bag!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maashi on 7/17/2010 7:17:00 AM more reviews by maashi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a review for BR-1.

I have tried other Kate palettes in the past and experienced severe fallout, which made it highly unimpressive, and my lids aren't terribly oily. UDPP solved the problem (I presume other primers would too) and I was thoroughly impressed by the pigmentation, especially on the dark brown intended as eyeliner. This is a fairly neutral brown/taupe palette which I believe most skin tones can pull off. There are 5 different grades, lightest being a near-white and darkest the brown I mentioned previously, all with a reasonable level of shimmer (not quite frost though). I am most impressed with the two darker browns... so pigmented, but still possible to be sheered out, so both day and night use are ok. Powder is fine and packaging is ok - sure it is plastic, but at least the lid isn't falling out or anything. For the price you pay, I'd definitely say go for it, I just believe there is a better quality in Japanese DS compared to their western counterparts. I highly recommend this and would be keen to try other Kate palettes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 thesoo on 3/2/2009 5:37:00 AM more reviews by thesoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love KATE's eye shadows in general, but this one just didn't satisfy me. I know all Japanese cosmetics are really small, but this one was ridiculous. There are five compartments of each color, which altogether are shaped like a ball cut into five vertical sections. And each section being too narrow (I can't even fit the sponge applicator in the smallest section), it was just too difficult to even get the product on whatever applicator I used. I got this in BR-3, the cooler/taupish shade, and two of the 5 shades (the white one and the "cooler" white) are almost identical when applied on the skin. The overall quality is quite good, but the impractical packaging should improve. I hardly reach for this one despite it is exactly in my favorite color range.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Waiting_tx on 11/25/2006 10:39:00 AM more reviews by Waiting_tx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a brown color tone eyeshadow palette because I'm getting ready to leave college and think brown would fit into office jobs. And also because brown is a good tone for Asian skin color.
I bought this because it is relatively cheaper than other brands. I've used it quite a few times for interview and stuff and I like its subtle look. The color combination equips you with all you need to get that "demure" look. The color comes on easily, stay long(not 24hrs) and can be removed easily. Overall I like all the Kate products. My make-up teacher uses its products as well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lilan6el36 on 11/25/2005 3:59:00 AM more reviews by lilan6el36

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the new Deep Eyes N from Kate. and I don't know if it was due to my inexperience with using eyeshadow or what, but I can't seem to get it to look rite on me. the color is reallie light compared to my skin color (i have pretty tanned skin for an asian girl) and the color juss don't really show up, plus the brush that they gave u with the palette was really hard to use but that is okay since I have my own brushes, I try looking for directions on how to put the e/s on their website but it was all in japanese and I don't understand it. can anyone help me? also, mayb the palette doesn't look rite because I have single eyelid? but I am finding out that i might have to throw this palette away. =( although the packaging was really cute and nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laru on 6/4/2005 6:33:00 AM more reviews by laru

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love love love this little palette of 5 different colors of powder eyeshadows. I got the cool brown palette which has the following colors:


Pearlescent white shimmer for inner corners of eyes or as highlighter. It makes up a smaller portion of the palette and wears quite well, it's your basic whitish shimmer. The shimmer is very smooth, no grittiness or roughness at all.


Black is just your plain, matte black that's supposed to be used for lining. It's soft and smooth, very smudgable when you want to smudge it, and lasts a decent amount of time. On my Asian eyes, I find it has a bit of a tendency to wear away by the end of the day though.


Medium tan shade has some red undertones and is quite cool in color. Shows up on my tanned, yellow toned skin as my lids but better with a hint of shimmer. Depending on the light, it can show up as tan or a bit peachy even, but not overly so. Quite neutral and easy to wear, a no brainer color.


Creamy unbleached linen shade. I wasn't quite sure how to name this color except for unbleached linen. It's a bit warmer than shell, and I imagine that it is probably the same skin color as some ladies with fairer skin. This also has shimmer and can be used as a highlighter or all over lid color for subtle enhancing.


Dark brown, my personal favorite of the palette, I would buy the palette over again just for this dark, rich brown. It is cool toned and depending on amount applied, can appear a bit taupey or deep, charcoalish brown. This brown has some gray undertones and it also has some shimmer, enough to keep it interesting, but not too much to make it seem teenybopper. It's the perfect color that can go anywhere. A little gives the no makeup look with a tiny bit of emphasis on the lids, and more becomes a rich smokey eye that isn't black. Love this color to pieces.


Overall, all of these shadows wear very nicely, I don't use the matte black or white shimmer much though because I don't really go for the intense look and liner doesn't last very well on me. But all of these shadows are very silky, highly pigmented and smooth. It also seems like the longer I wear the darker shades, the better they look. They seem to 'settle in' and blend more naturally with my skin, so it looks I naturally have great lids instead of me wearing powdery shadow.


I think this can only be found in certain Asian countries, I bought this palette for roughly $10 and I would buy it again in a heartbeat if I ever ran out or lost it. It can be used for a million and one combinations as well as all together for a great look :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fleckenschnitte on 4/23/2005 8:19:00 AM more reviews by fleckenschnitte

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This palette rocks! Itīs a small black plastic with clear lid palette that contains 5 eyeshadows. A shimmery light champagne, a medium peachy brown, dark brown, white and black, all with shimmer (except the black). You can create many different looks with this palette. The texture of the eyeshadows is incredibly silky (considering that it is a drugstore brand) and intensely pigmented. The shadows blend well and I experience no creasing or fading. I got it for around $10 + shipping from Hong kong.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Kanebo products

More Eye Shadow products