Studio Gear • Powder Foundation • Powder

rated 3.9(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 hondafan1122 on 12/14/2012 12:53:00 AM more reviews by hondafan1122

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I liked this foundation! Once I went into ULTA, and the Studio Gear representative was in town. She tried this on me and I loved it. I bought one, and am sad that I have finished it. When the rep tried it on me, she sprayed a little bit of water on her brush (from a water bottle) before applying some of the loose powder foundation on me. Once I purchased it, I would use it the same way and I loved it. What I would usually do is put my liquid foundation on first, then a bit of this powder foundation (again, with a slightly wet brush). I wish more came in the container...

I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rycolisme on 9/11/2011 2:17:00 AM more reviews by rycolisme

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I used to wear bare minerals powder foundation and that gave a really cakey look and would make me break out, so when this lady at ulta pointed out a powder foundation that wouldn't make me break out and didn't look cakey i was very skeptical, when i tried it out i couldn't believe it! it looked so flawless and it didn't feel like i was wearing makeup i was so shocked, even after wearing bare minerals for a couple of hours you can feel your pores are clogged but with studio gear nothing it felt so clean and not clogged. even though ive had this for a short time im already in love with it! I am so getting this again when i run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 enjoylesley on 1/19/2010 8:08:00 AM more reviews by enjoylesley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I usually like to go for a powder/foundation product that has spf. This product does not, so I expected it to have an even smoother finish maybe a more "flawless" look. I was pretty dissapointed. I use a kabuki brush to apply my makeup and it seemed as though this powder/foundation could not properly be absorbed (yes it was clean). I found it odd because I've used this kabuki brushes with all sorts of powders and have never had a problem absorbing the product. It also does not seem to have buildable coverage. No matter how much I moisturized and applied I just kept getting a "powdery/dry" look. I returned this and will not buy it again. I'm thinking just maybe the one that I got was from a very old package and explains the aged/poor quality.

Although I did not like this product, I am very happy with 2 of their moisturizers. (Hydrating Night Cream & Eye Cream)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Henwen29 on 11/5/2009 2:40:00 PM more reviews by Henwen29

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this foundation powder! I began using Lancome's dual finish powder, but it's too shiny, and yucky, then Sephora's powder foundation which I also love, but is too matifying for these near winter months and was drying my skin, so for those who need to soak up oil, that might be the one to try. I will wear it in summer.
I am 58 and I don't need full coverage, because I take care of my skin and have few lines. This SG Dual Identity IS underrated and makes me look angelic, I put it on with a soft brush, not a sponge. I am fair skinned and the Bisque (which I chose with no help at Ulta) is perfect for my skin tone. I just hope Ulta continues to carry it forever. No caking, no itching, just a soft glow. I am very pleased with this foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iloveyourlips on 7/30/2009 4:01:00 PM more reviews by iloveyourlips

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, so far I'm in love with the SG Matte foundation, and so today for the first time I'm trying a thin layer of powder over the foundation/moisturizer (for lighter coverage). I'm excited to see if it controls shine, I'll update later to make sure it delivers...

EDIT: It worked! A light dusting over my T zone kept me looking shine free despite a very active day in the heat. I'm in love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hystericalredhead on 9/26/2008 11:35:00 PM more reviews by hystericalredhead

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I purchased my first wet/dry powder foundation from Studio Gear! I wear Porcelain, and it gives me amazing doll-like, flawless skin. Your skin needs to be thoroughly moisturized before, however, because the powder finish will really highlight any scaliness. However, for being such a fine "veil" of color, it provides great coverage. Studio Gear is an awesome but underrated line, check it out at Ulta!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slicedbread13 on 3/1/2007 11:44:00 AM more reviews by slicedbread13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't think I'd buy this again..like the other reviewer,I got suckered into buying this at my Ulta.I wanted something oil controlling that could take the place of my beloved Estee Lauder Double Matte powder,and this was recommended...it's around $25,so the price was right.The black compact is really ugly,uninspired,and boring.The makeup itself wan't all that,either..I got mine in the lightest color they had,Porceline,because of my milky white skin,but when I put it on,wet or dry,it had this yellowish-tinge to it that made me want to hurl it in the trash.(I have pink undertones,not yellow.)Peformance wise,it was very heavy and matte looking,kinda obvious and cakey,and didn't control my oil at all.Greasy within 20 minutes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 faithaa on 4/22/2005 8:14:00 PM more reviews by faithaa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

OK, the MA artist at Ulta got me again on this one - was looking for a portable summer foundation and she recommended this, after I told her how much I loved the Satin Foundation. Her skin was absolutely flawless and she had a good match in Honey Bronze. After she told me she uses this because she's 'lazy,' (wants to apply it once a day and touch up), and it includes a both the puff (dry) and sponge (wet), I went for it. Extra 20% coupon persuaded me. I was afraid of this after using a similar Lancome dry powder foundation a couple of years ago when my friends finally 'fessed up it was "not so good." Porcelain is my color, so when I got it home and tried it dry, I looked like a Kabuki star (!). Tried it wet for better coverage next morning, and it was perfect. No settling into fine lines around nose, which I don't want to admit to at 40+. No streaking. Just powder perfection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Studio Gear products

More Powder products