Lancome Hypnose Waterproof

3.7

175 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/19/2015 6:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thought I would fall in love with this mascara but I did not. First you need to apply over and over to achieve a good result. Then it sticks my lashes to each other instead of separating them, meanwhile gets clumpy. Then you need to apply lots of Bi-facil to remove it. Even then it doesn't come out totally. While doing that my eyes hurt. Then my lashes fall. After shower or pool, gives you racoon eyes. I keep this one on the side, and use it when I can't find my other mascaras.



on 5/19/2014 3:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was nervous about using this mascara: mine had been sitting unopened for about 2 years and I finally opened it straight after finishing my holy-grail Chanel Le Volume, and I have unpleasant memories of waterproof mascaras making my (already barely-there) eyelashes fall out.

It definitely felt weird when I used my Hypnose after the Le Volume "snowflake" brush, and it takes a good 5 or 6 coats to achieve a similar effect. However, I'm liking it more now that I'm re-acquainted with the more traditionally shaped brush and it's turning out to have a better-than-expected curling power.

Only 2 or 3 eyelashes have fallen out since I started using this mascara, which I find impressive when other waterproof mascaras have decimated my lash-count. It's also quite easy to remove in the evenings, but I don't mind leaving some residue overnight anyway as it helps retain some volume for the next day.

The only reason I wouldn't buy this product again is because I really want the Chanel Le Volume in Bleu after this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2014 10:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is the best waterproof mascara, high end or drugstore that I have tried so far. It really makes my eyelashes voluminous and pop out. I recently was in a big hurry and ran out of the house without putting on my mascara and borrowed my sisters and thats when I was convinced that this mascara really is better than all the rest. No other mascara that I have tried til now makes my lashes look more prominent than this mascara.

That being said... there definitely is a point where you have to stop applying else it will just look clumpy... right before that point though there is perfection.

I also took off a lippy because the formula is a bit on the dry side. I wish it was a little smoother while applying... but Im willing to deal with that given the results it gives me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2014 12:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

$28.50 USD. I really, really wanted to love this mascara but, for me, this was so horrible as few purchases are. Determined to find a replacement for my Lash Stylist and based upon MUA reviews and friends/family recommendations (all who had used this for years), I purchased the first tube in early January. The stuff was really old and dried up, and hardly any formula was on the brush. Returned and re-purchased. Checked the "newness" of the formula at the counter. Nope. Same old dried up brush. Went to another department store immediately - same thing. Finally, on my fourth try, got a newer tube, but I still feel like the brush just didn't apply enough formula, and the brush got it all over my eyelids and flaked horribly.

I'm probably biased because of what I had to go through to get a decent tube, but the results just didn't blow me away. Compared to L'Oreal Voluminous (various formulations & brushes), this was so much lower in quality, especially at this price!! I don't 'mind paying for something that has value, but this is ridiculous.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/26/2013 4:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is undeniably a great mascara for straight lashes (those that never really hold a curl with normal non-waterproof formulas) I re-purchase this product every few months and after trying Dior, Channel and YSL this for me is the only mascara that really work in the basis of 'holding the curl' which is really what I personally look for in a mascara. However, in more general terms this is also a good volumizing mascara, although it's true that on the first or second week of usage the formula is quite wet hence why clumping often occurs! (I find that the formula in fact hanged quite quickly and on that wet to flakish transition there's an amazing in between!). Now when it comes to length, for me it adds a subtle 'oomph'but nothing really major! In my opinion this is really a great mascara for curl hold and (only if purchased in the waterproof version duuuuh!) and volume! :-)


on 10/15/2013 10:27:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i don't like this mascara , first of all its super clumpy, makes you look like you have one big lash . it doesn't separate the lashes . its too runny . however i like the mascara wand


on 9/15/2013 2:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used the Hypnose Waterproof Mascara for years and I continue to buy it again and again. I have very small lashes but this mascara helps to create volume for my lashes and does not smudge or run. It stays well on my lashes even through tears. The mascara brush does have a tendancy to clump as the mascara gets older which isn't helpful when I am applying it as it creates an unnatural look on my lashes. Other than this issue it is a good waterproof mascara.


on 8/21/2013 4:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

As a previous review mentions it, this mascara definitely holds the curl. It's probably the best mascara out there for poker straight eyelashes.

All my life I've had to use an eyelash curler, and I've always been restricted to waterproof mascaras. I've tried normal ones and all they do is uncurl the lash within seconds, they have the same effect as splashing them with water.

After curling my lashes with the Shu Uemura curler, I wipe the excess off the brush as I don't like a very thick finish. The wonderful thing about this product is that it makes the lash thicker, longer and darker, without changing the curl at all, it holds it in place, it's perfect. It lasts all day and it doesn't make my eyes itchy, and it doesn't fall to bits, or starts looking greyish.

It's not that hard to remove as long as you use an oil based make up remover. I usually soak a cotton pad with regular eye make up removing liquid and then soak it again with a few drops of baby oil.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2013 10:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My next-to-favorite mascara (my favorite is by German drug store brand Manhattan Volcano waterproof for a third of the price of Hynose). I only use waterproof mascara's because I'm out and about the whole day, plus I work out regularly in the evenings and I don't want panda-eyes anytime, anywhere.

1 layer of Cils Booster and 2 layers of Hynose waterproof in the morning and I'm done for the day. This combination turns my short, thin, straight Asian lashes into long, thicker and curly lashes. To be fair, I have used Hynose waterproof on its own (without Cils Booster) and it gives my lashes length and definition, but not as dramatic as with Cils Booster.

It's expensive so I'm always on the lookout for good deals in drugstores, airports and websites.


on 3/14/2013 2:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this for my wedding and honeymoon because I needed a waterproof mascara and this was recommended. If you absolutely soaked your face, it definitely smudges. Showering or swimming won't turn out well! The brush didn't work well for me. I found that I had to apply several coats and then it would look clumpy and dried out.

I always curl my eyelashes before applying mascara, however when I did have to re-curl them with this mascara already on, my eyelashes stuck to the curler! They stuck so badly that it would rip out a couple eyelashes each time, and leave the rest feeling crimpy and dead. I used this product for 2 months (I'm not sure why) and it has taken over a month for my eyelashes to feel normal again. I have used drugstore waterproof brands that are less than half the price that are better than this. I'm very disappointed with this mascara :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top