MAC • Prep + Prime Eye • Eye Primer

rated 2.8(222 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 fonsii88 on 7/11/2014 6:06:00 PM more reviews by fonsii88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

super nice

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 quiksilvababe on 4/23/2014 6:29:00 PM more reviews by quiksilvababe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

EHH--

-does NOT make my eyeshadow pop in any way.
-creases on the eyelid easily
-not good long lasting

+great for coverup in general

kind of a let down especially coming from MAC.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 odettelucyt on 4/8/2014 10:23:00 PM more reviews by odettelucyt

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Such a terrible primer. Settles into creases before eyeshadow is even applied, and then when it is, the shadow shifts and settles within an hour max. Leaves me with gunky-looking, patchy colour. Avoid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 runwayartist on 4/4/2014 7:19:00 AM more reviews by runwayartist

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

A soft flesh colored moussy cream (I bought it in medium). Applying this all over your top & bottom lid (basically wherever you plan to use eyeshadows) before applying the eyeshadows makes their color pop and gives them an amazing duration. The primer comes in a jar and the 5g that you get will last you for quite a long time. It has a moussy finish and it feels lightweight, almost like having applied nothing before the eyeshadow.
For me this is a must have product and no matter how many times I've run out of it, I repurchase it every single time and I will continue to repurchase it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Maestro58 on 3/11/2014 5:01:00 AM more reviews by Maestro58

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Usually if I am going to buy anything over $15 I like to try it for a day at least but I had a voucher and was feeling reckless, my mistake!
The packaging is cute and handy,
I bought this in light, and while I loved the colour, walking from the store to my car it had creased and settled.
I have tried to use it several times and found I was better off with no primer at all! Tried to use it as a concealer but it dried under my eyes and looked dry and patchy.
Lesson of the day: Try before you buy, especially when the store will not accept returns.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shopaholicoxxo on 1/3/2014 8:41:00 AM more reviews by shopaholicoxxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Despite the reviews, I thought I'd go ahead and try it anyway and I'm pleased to say I was happily surprised! You don't need to use too much of this product to get the results and I found that it did keep my eyeshadow on for most of the day. Love the glittery lid on it and personally, I think this is a great primer! I have been using it every day since I bought it and will definitely be buying it again when it runs out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GlisteningSheen on 11/30/2013 9:04:00 AM more reviews by GlisteningSheen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

No more dark circles on my eyelids!

Price: £12.50 in the UK. I paid $27.10 SGD at the MAC counter at Singapore airport. It's MAC so not going to be cheap but a little goes a long way so I expect this to last me a very long time.

Packaging: Comes in a lightweight clear plastic circular container with a black screw on lid. Great for travelling. Lid is secure and I always make sure to tighten the lid after use to prevent the product from drying out.

Product: The trick with this product is using the correct amount. Use too much and it creases, as does the eyeshadow that goes on top. You only need the tiniest amount - less than what you think.

My dark circles extend onto my eyelids, causing orangey brown discolouration. This product covers and neutralises that discolouration brilliantly. It also minimises the appearance of the very fine red veins I have showing through on my eyelids and provides a clean, neutral canvas for my eyeshadows. I use it from my eyelashes all the way up to under my brow bone.

It dries to a powder matte finish. I have the colour Medium which is very similar to my natural skin tone and colour.

This product provides a great base for my powder eyeshadows and color tattoos, allowing my lighter eyeshadow colours to show as they should. Prior to using this product I had a hard time using pale eyeshadow colours as the darkness on my eyelids would prevent the pale colours from coming through. This product also delays creasing in my eyeshadows thus making my makeup look good for longer.

Love this product and would definitely recommend it if you get dark circles extending on to your eyelids too. I tried the MAC Paint Pots but found the texture to be a bit too thick and dry, whereas this is very creamy, yet thin and light weight so it doesn't make my eye makeup look cakey. Plus this product was a better skin colour match for me than any of the Paint Pots.

GlisteningSheen xxx

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lilbunney on 7/31/2013 9:19:00 PM more reviews by Lilbunney

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried this primer, Estée Lauder (the one that was discontinued in the skinny navy tube), the new Estée Lauder primer, and also an Elizabeth Arden eye shadow primer. This one is my favorite. I've had it for a couple of years (don't use it everyday) and it is still plenty moist. I have pretty fair skin, and also skin bordering on dry (very dry in the winter) and I feel like this does the trick for my skin type. I've never had an issue with my eye shadows creasing during the day (with or without a primer). I have had issues with it wearing off during the day. This helps the shadows to stay longer on my skin. It does not keep it from staying ALL day, but it sure helps it to stay a lot longer than when I don't use it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Rocklover on 6/20/2013 11:21:00 PM more reviews by Rocklover

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the first eye primer I have owned so I can't compare to others....but I think this does a really great job at making sure eye makeup doesn't budge. I don't wear this every day, only special occasions such as weddings or going to the races etc. where I need my eye makeup to stay put. Sometimes when I sleep in my makeup (go on, shake your head) I wake up with perfect eyes! It's unbelievable.

So why didn't I give this more lippies? The packaging looks nice, but is really quite crappy. The primer started drying out very soon after I bought it, and I always screw the lid on tight. The formula has completely separated from its glass container all the way around, and I have hardly used it. I think one of MACs usual plastic snap shut pots (like the concealer pot) would be better for holding in moisture. The one other con is the price $$$ for the amount you get.

I am quite happy with how this performs but I will probably try another brand next time to see if I can find a budget dupe.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sniffer123 on 6/16/2013 8:27:00 AM more reviews by sniffer123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is a terrible eye primer! My eyeshadow creases so badly or slides off. Will definitely not buy again. They shouldn't sell this. Total waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Primer products