Avene • Micellar Lotion Cleanser and Make-Up Remover • Cleansers

rated 3.6(66 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 AudreyAndrea on 1/27/2014 11:32:00 PM more reviews by AudreyAndrea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't use this as a makeup remover - I use it twice daily as my face cleanser. It's the only cleanser I've used in the past two years. I have no break outs, and my skin is less dry as a result, even in winter. Before I started using this Micellar lotion cleanser, the sides of my mouth used to crack in winter (ew and ouch), and now they don't! The reason I purchased this cleanser in the first place is that it says "no rinse" on the package. I figured it must be very easy on the skin, then. Mine is sensitive, although since I started using Avene Skin Recovery Cream four years ago it's less so.

I use this cleanser when I wake up in combination with Avene Thermal Water, then again before I go to bed. I only wear makeup 3 times per week at most so I'm not looking for more than a cleanser. Here's my routine: 2 sprays of Thermal Water, pat gently once with soft clean towel to remove excess moisture, smooth Micellar lotion cleanser over face with fingers and gently massage t-zone, 1 spray of Thermal Water, gently pat dry.

I have repurchased this lotion nearly a dozen times, and I have a travel sized bottle which I empty and refill quite regularly since I'm away from home fairly often.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wonderbuy on 1/26/2014 11:40:00 PM more reviews by wonderbuy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is pretty good but has a strong fragrance. I rate this above most makeup removers since I can wipe and moisturise, no water needed. This isn't as good as Bioderma but comes close enough that I would repurchase. I do however prefer the Vichy Micellar over since since I just feel that removes more, a little elbow grease is needed here, but only minimally so. I say give this a go, its heaps better than the LRP micellar range.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 globalchick on 1/25/2014 3:22:00 AM more reviews by globalchick

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the Avene lotion micellaire i.e. Micellar lotion and the Bioderma Crealine H2o solution micellaire at the same time and tried both. The Bioderma is the better product. It removes makeup better. I will repurchase the Bioderma only.

Also the Avene required quite a few wipes to get makeup off - more than the Bioderma. Both products are expensive but cheaper make up removers just leave the skin very dry. Bioderma is worth the money and I recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* solai on 12/1/2013 2:37:00 PM more reviews by solai

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Like someone already wrote, this is a superb cleanser for the face. It's not as good for removing mascara, but will get rid of eyeshadow. Unlike other micellaire cleansers (including Bioderma), this one won't leave your skin feeling slightly tacky or like you need to wash your face. You skin will feel soft, cleansed, refreshed and extremely comfortable - fab! It has a scent but it's very slight and not too disturbing. This will work great if you have normal, dry or oily-dry skin. I'm not too sure how very oily skin would like this but it's worth a try especially in the winter. In addiotion to removing make-up, the micellaire lotion is good as a moisturising toner or a pre-treatment before moisturising. I'm definitely buying this again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Clau02 on 11/7/2013 1:11:00 PM more reviews by Clau02

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This micellar lotion feels nice on the skin and it smells well just like all Avene products, but if you're looking for something that removes makeup well I won't recommend it. I don't find it removes eye makeup properly. I use this product in the morning when my face is makeup free. If you're looking for a micellar lotion that removes well makeup I find nothing beats the Bioderma one for now!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nina_82 on 10/22/2013 1:49:00 AM more reviews by Nina_82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I found this to be a nice, gentle makeup remover, but faced with a choice between this and Bioderma, I would only repurchase Bioderma. The Avene water just doesn't seem to be as effective in removing heavy makeup, and it leaves my skin feeling a bit greasy, so I have to wash it anyway. Whereas with the Bioderma I can remove my makeup and then go straight to the gym without having to rinse my face off.

Having said that, I used up the whole bottle and it certainly didn't have any negative affect on my skin, so I would give it a go if you don't have the option of Bioderma and want something similar.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bululu on 7/27/2013 11:34:00 AM more reviews by bululu

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A few months ago I bought some Avene products to take with me on holiday. I bought the Micellar Lotion, the Eau termal spray, and some sunscreen creams 50+. Unfortunately I was extremely disappointed with some of these. The micellar lotion was completely ineffective to remove my make up which, being on holiday, consisted only of ordinary Maybelline mascara (no waterproof) and MAC paint pot. I had to pull and tug with really mediocre results. Most of the make up would only shift around and under the eye, rather than being dissolved. I hated it so much that the evening routine became a nightmare but being on holiday I didn't really have a shop nearby to get something else. I almost turned to soap!
I thought I had chosen one of the best brands on the market as for micellar lotion but compared to Bioderma which I had previously used, it was a complete let down. Considering that the Avene products are not cheap, it was even more disappointing.
As for the termal water, the spray nozzle became clogged and although there is still plenty of product in the can, it is impossible to activate the spray.
Personally, I will stick to my trusted Bioderma and just walk past the Avene range next time I'm in Boots.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lisa_thejack on 7/11/2013 6:49:00 AM more reviews by lisa_thejack

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have one word for this product - AWFUL. It stings and removes nothing. It's like putting cleaning alcohol on your face! Very disappointed, definitely won't buy again.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Revenue on 6/28/2013 8:34:00 AM more reviews by Revenue

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like this product at all.
It does a decent job as a make-up remover but there are much better ones on the market.
I hate how it feels on the skin - it kinda leaves some greasy film on your skin but I also feel like it dries my skin at the same time - I never experienced a product as bad as this, usually it's either too greasy or too drying, never both at the same time!
I have to rinse it off as soon as I'm done with make-up removing as I can't stand the feeling of this on my face!
Smell is OK, it's very subtle, like most of Avene products.

Sorry Avene - I like some of your moisturizers that I've tried, but this is really one of the worst things I've ever put on my face...Luckily I only got a 25ml sample and didn't waste my money on this terrible product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zukenca on 6/2/2013 4:11:00 PM more reviews by zukenca

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I like the way it feels on my skin.. so soft and does not make my skin itchy or 'burned', only leaves that lovely feeling of freshness. I have sensitive and combination skin so a lot of products can cause rash or dry patches.

I don't use a lot of makeup so it's just mainly for 'fresh finish' cleaning and although I got only a small bottle of this product I will definitely buy it again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Cleansers products