Yves Saint Laurent • Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils • Mascara

rated 3.9(1256 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 sunnivajane on 10/22/2014 12:49:00 PM more reviews by sunnivajane

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

So i got a sample of this mascara when i bought the fusion ink foundation. I am probably one of the pickiest people when it comes to my lashes you will find. They must be perfect, otherwise I will be unhappy about the way I look the whole day. I usually wear either the a chanel mascara, or one from maybelline to achieve very long dramatic lashes. My lashes are fairly long from beforehand, so I want something that helps me enhance that. This mascara is friggin amazing. I used it without an eyelashcurler to see how it did on its own, and the result is amazing. My lashes got so long without clumping, and with an amazing volumized effect. I also like to layer my mascara without it clumping for maximized effect, and this did just that. I do recommend to get a sample before buying it, however this really was that good making it look like i had false lashes on. Really recommend! (I also think how you apply it has something to do with how it looks, just to bear that in mind).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Chilllovesmakeup on 8/4/2014 9:40:00 PM more reviews by Chilllovesmakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Not impressed. Made my lashes stick together and clump. Didn't do anything for my lashes. Wont repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kmichael on 8/4/2014 10:09:00 AM more reviews by kmichael

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I love how this mascara looks, but it refuses to stay on my face. I usually don't get raccoon eyes from mascara, as I'm not oily, but this stuff just melts. I still have perfect, black, thick, feathery lashes with it on -- but I also have a beautiful black line under my eyes. I usually put Clarins Double Fix over the top of it to prevent this, but having to double up on expensive products is just not any fun.

Also, this formula starts out very wet and dries up a bit within a couple weeks. I prefer a drier formula so this works for me but if you like your mascara to stay watery or if you don't use it very often then this one's not for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gechok on 5/17/2014 3:00:00 PM more reviews by gechok

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got this with a Neiman Marcus gift card. It's the first/only YSL product I've ever purchased (I have a Baby Doll Lashes sample, but that's it). It's hella expensive-- $30. It's definitely worth it. I would repurchase it, but I have yet to talk myself into that.

It's housed in a sleek gold tube with YSL on the cap. It smells like rose petals and applies like a dream. It's not clumpy and the tip of the brush is perfect for fanning out your lashes. They look fake, but natural enough to get away with. They don't look clumpy or spidery. I like long eyelashes, but I want volume more than anything else. This mascara gives me both.

Unfortunately, this comes with a hefty price tag. I'm currently using the NYX Doll Lash Volume mascara and I'm on my second tube and I'm running out. It gives a similar soft, voluminous, lengthening effect at a fraction of the price.

I'm still debating whether to repurchase the YSL mascara, as I'm 16 and I don't have a job. I can see myself buying it at some point in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 liorak on 5/17/2014 2:26:00 PM more reviews by liorak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I surprisingly really like this mascara. I got it in duty free in a duo pack. I LOVE the packaging. It looks very luxurious as I expect from an expensive company. I this the price point is not TOO BAD for the company. I would like to add that I am willing to pay more for something if it is worth the price and it does everything I need it too. I am always looking for potential HG products! I have a lot of issues with a lot of makeup. This has not caused me any issues, luckily. I do have VERY watery eyes and this did not smudge on me, like a lot of cheaper mascaras do. This reminds me of the Líoreal Voluminous Cologne mascara. However it is less voluminous and more natural and lengthening. The Líoreal one does clump a lot more. I donít have high hopes for many drugstore items, and there is almost always a high end better version, I think this is it. I donít think this will be my HG product as I am not in love. But my eyes do look great with just this and some bb cream, blush and bronzer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mmmgirl on 3/25/2014 10:02:00 PM more reviews by mmmgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Got a sample tube of this. Immediately, I noticed it had a floral scent, and I hate mascaras that have a perfumey scent added to them. It applied well, and added length and volume, but began to irritate my eyes. Also, it smudged. Into the trash this goes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sara44 on 3/7/2014 11:49:00 PM more reviews by Sara44

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Not really a fan of this mascara, it separates eye lashes nicely and is easy to apply but doesn't longate the eye lashes as much as it should. They always look nice but to short, very buildable to many coats and you get clumpy lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kzolin on 2/16/2014 3:53:00 PM more reviews by kzolin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Every time I blinked, more mascara transferred from my upper lashes to my undereye area. I should have just smeared it there to start with. Worst mascara I have ever used.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kaelie on 2/10/2014 9:37:00 PM more reviews by Kaelie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

$30 USD. Oh, Effet Faux Cils, I had such great hopes for you! I tried this in regular and waterproof formula, and both were horrible. I have short, straight, sparse Asian lashes and am looking to replace Maybelline Lash Stylist that added mega volume and length to my lashes. I'm so sad this didn't work on me - the gold tube is dazzling and makes my dressing table look very glamorous. However: (1) it took down the curl; (2) brush did not coat my lashes at all - it was worse than the mega plush; (3) it smudged SOOO badly someone at work asked me about 10 am or so whether I had been crying - I got to work at 9 am that day and had not been crying and had put on the waterproof version that morning; and (4) it added neither length nor volume. Back it goes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Molleeeee on 1/31/2014 4:50:00 AM more reviews by Molleeeee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really like this mascara. I have quite long lashes but not much volume and this makes my lashes look thick and longer. The packaging is beautiful although it does get finger marks all over it very quickly. I see a lot of people are put off by the smell but to me it smells faintly of roses which I rather like. I also like the fact it doesn't make my lashes crunchy like a lot of drugstore mascaras do. The things I don't like so much are the fact you can't layer too much or things get a bit clumpy, but that can be solved with a spoolie. Also it dries up so fast which is annoying, maybe that's to do with the packaging? The last thing I don't like is the price, this mascara is lovely but so expensive ): I would repurchase again but only for a special occassion due to the price!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Mascara products