Revlon • Colorstay 12-Hour Eyeshadow -General • Eye Shadow

rated 3.6(112 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 CasperXx on 5/2/2013 1:58:00 AM more reviews by CasperXx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got two of these quads (sulty smoke and summer suade) off a reduced price site and was super excited to try these but unfortunately I'm allergic to them. :( I haven't ever had a problem with Revlon products in the past but this one gave me eczema on my eye lids. Appart from that, I didn't like the product very much, they didn't seem to blend very well. They are highly pigmented which is good and have good staying power. I might have tried some other colours if I didn't react to them, at the reduced price they are decent pallets but I wasn't a huge fan.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jaylakent on 2/10/2012 7:59:00 PM more reviews by Jaylakent

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Great if you just are using one or two colors. More than that - as others have said - not so good. I bought Lavender Fields and Nude Elements (I have green eyes) and I get a lot of compliments when I wear the Lavender Fields 2 lightest colors. The staying power is great for me - but if I use more than two colors - by the middle of the day my lids are a dark purple or brown rather than distinct ombre colors. I have repurchased these over and over throughout the years - and will probably continue to do so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KrystalEmmaMarie on 1/26/2012 1:55:00 AM more reviews by KrystalEmmaMarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

The Coffee Bean package was very pigmented. It listed steps to combine all four shades to create a nice smokey eye effect, BUT it only takes ONE hour for your creation to turn into a brown, faded mash that covers the entire lid. Anyone you meet an hour later would think you apply eye shadow like a one year old.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tourmalinequeen on 1/7/2012 11:58:00 PM more reviews by tourmalinequeen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Colorstay my ass! Creased and faded within a oouple hours and thats being generous. By noon,looked like I wasn't wearing shadow at all.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ellevella on 12/29/2011 12:13:00 AM more reviews by ellevella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Best eyeshadow line I have ever used! It doesn't smear and smudge, no crease lines- just smooth even color and it lasts all day! The shades all compliment each other so sometimes I combine different shades for different areas. This is my everyday staple!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tightkitty on 12/10/2011 10:22:00 AM more reviews by tightkitty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

I love them in the package! But HELL NO it turns out what you see is not what you get..they are super chalky and don't last at all. Not pigmented enough! I bought 3 of these quads all at one time and I couldnt even see anything. I would prefer WNW and NYX to these anyday.Waste of time and money

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lizzea on 12/10/2011 6:05:00 AM more reviews by lizzea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Since discovering NYX eyeshadows which I now prefer over Revlon Eyeshadows, I won't be repurchasing, but they are nice foundations, my only gripe was that they would always fall off my lids without a primer which is essential for when you use these eyeshadows. I don't find the Revlon quads have super pigmentation which some people like because it's a softer look, but I like LOTs of pigmentation, especially if you are paying the Revlon price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 janetchan216 on 11/19/2011 7:07:00 PM more reviews by janetchan216

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This eyeshadow is okay, now that I've tried a few others. When I started using makeup, I bought 6 of these: Neutral Khakis, Blushed Wines, Sterling Rose, Berry Bloom, Oh La La Lilac, and another I forget but it has turquoise and white. Of these 6, I gave away the turquoise one to a friend who has pale skin so colors show up better on her, and the Berry Bloom, only because of personal preference (didn't want to wear such pink eye shadow anymore).

I would say some colors work better than the other. For example, the turquoise turned out quite chalky, especially on my medium /tan skin tone. However, the pinks and purples for Berry Bloom was very pigmented.

So the other 4 that I kept, I find they are a little higher than average pigmentation (compare to the quads Cover Girl shadows, these are obviously more pigmented). It will require a few more layers, and sometime I'd rather use fingers to pat it on my lids for the colors to show. I don't find them too difficult to blend, but like I said, you just might need to use a bit more products to achieve. But when you get it right, the colors look really beautiful and they are true as it looks. I have used these dry and wet and they definitely give 2 different looks. For example, I used the black in Sterling Rose wet to line, and it showed up really well. They also stay put really well and didn't crease when I use a base for it. I love it how these 4 that I kept can be good for day and night!!

All in all, I think I will buy these again if they have new colors out. I don't mind them, but they are not the best. Just be a little more patience and practice then you can achieve a beautiful look with these. If I see Gems & Jewels or Sunrise, Sunset, I might give in and buy a few more..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kittygirrrl13 on 11/19/2011 4:24:00 PM more reviews by kittygirrrl13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been playing the "drugstore game" with coupons recently and so have been stocking up on a lot of drugstore brand makeup and I have to say that Revlon has really stepped up their game. There were a few years that I wouldn't touch a drugstore brand but times have soooooo changed;)
Anyhoo.... I got the 12-Hour in Sultry Smoke and couldn't be happier. The black is a good go-to for any dark look as well as the slate. The blue has a nice metallic and isn't "over the top" blue, and the highlighter is a great iridescent lilac. This is a really nice quad for a full look and doesn't need any other accent colors. The color goes on smooth and stays with out creasing. Really a good product and I love the color combo in this particular quad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissNRI on 11/19/2011 1:46:00 PM more reviews by MissNRI

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Revlon has by far the best drugstore eyeshadow IMO. I've collected quite a few of these quads and I love them all. All the shadows have a wonderful smooth texture and rich pigmentation and have excellent staying power. As for the shades, the quads I have (some bought in India, some bought in US:)
-Copper Spice: Gorgeous neutrals with mostly metallic finishes, which are my favorite kind of finish.
-Steel Impressions: Probably my favorite, has a gorgeous shimmery black, a deep emerald, a silver/gray and a cream/white.
-Silver Fox: I love the burgundy/plum shade in this one, and the gray. Other two shades (a shimmery white and a turquoise) are a bit too light/bright for me.
-Sandstorm: Love the finishes on all these neutrals, shades are very light though and don't have much color to them.
-Azure Mist: Navy, turquoise, gray/brown and pinkish cream. Also a favorite.
-Sunrise Sunset: Another favorite, burgundy, plum, copper and gold. I wear this one the most by far, absolutely divine for Indian skin.

Overall I love these shadows! Not all shades work on all skins of course but still very highly recommended.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Eye Shadow products