LUSH • Angels on Bare Skin • Cleansers

rated 3.9(880 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tiramisu2c on 8/3/2007 10:09:00 PM more reviews by tiramisu2c

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first review in a long time, but I couldn't wait any longer to review this wonderful product.
First of all, it's my first LUSH Product ever. Secondly, I NEVER EVER would have guessed this would clear up my sudden but persistent acne.
I'm 22 with combo skin and never had acne problems until about nine months ago. All of a sudden, as soon as I graduated from college, my skin exploded. It was some of the most painful and disgusting cystic acne I've ever seen on ANYONE and it was there every time I looked in the mirror.
I didn't have money to see a dermatologist at full price, so I resorted to finding my own solutions.
I tried everything from Neutrogena's Anti-Stress Acne line to ProActiv to Birth Control Pills to ease this situation.
Nothing worked. It got worse and worse and I woke up every single morning with about 6-8 new, deep, cystic zits.
I just began a new jo b in NYC and every day I'd come back up to 34th street out of the F-train subway station, I could smell the LUSH Store. I decided to check it out one day as I had time to kill and remembered another MUAer who had beautiful skin mentioning that she used this product. I decided to try it out.
I have been using this cleanser/exfoliator every morning and night for the past week. After the first day of trying it, for the first time in nine months, I didn't wake up with a new zit. I swear - I know it sounds like a cheesy TV (ProActiv) ad, but I am not lying. I thought it was the calm before the storm or something, but i kept at it and every day, I saw less and less pimples as the ones I had were fading and there were no new ones AND... this is the week before menstruation, which is always a really bad acne week *BONUS!*.
I love the smell, the texture, the price, everything about it, ,really. It's just perfect for me.
I will be posting comparison pictures soon, but I'm telling you, you wouldn't believe it. It's like nature's perfect combination for my skin.
Thank you, thank you, thank you LUSH, for Angels on Bare Skin.
**UPDATE** 12/30/07 - This cleanser was great, but toward the end, I tried using it in the shower and the littlest bit of moisture got in the container, causing the clay to evaporate and the texture to change completely. I tossed the rest and bought a whole new container, vowing to be totally careful, but the same thing happened. I was very upset and finally gave up on AOBS. Please keep in mind, this did NOT cure my acne 100%, just kept it at bay.
Also, I finally was able to go see a dermatologist. AOBS was not part of her prescribed regimen.
I took away one lippie for the inconvenience the packaging provided, but kept the four because when it worked, it worked. If you don't mind having to use this outside the shower, go for it.

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iluvcandy on 10/7/2011 11:51:00 AM more reviews by iluvcandy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

What can I say about AOBS? It's one of my fave products from Lush! Those who complain that it doesn't remove make-up, well it's not supposed to. It's sold as a "cleanser" but is not one in the traditional sense that Americans are used to. I wash my fave twice a day and this is what I use in the morning. It gives my face a nice glow and is great at getting any flakes away to allow for smooth make-up application.It only lasts about 3 months so don't be going in buying a pound of this unless you are using it on your whole body lol. I buy 1/4 of a pound and it takes me to just about that 3 month mark...although sometimes it's longer and I never have had any issues. As far as complaints that it's not sanitary to keep dipping your fingers into it, well as with any cream,etc., I use a spatula to scoop some out. It surprises me that people dip their fingers into product...I have always been taught not to, which is why I always use disposable spatulas (you can get the mini ones at beauty suppy stores). AOBS is a great alternative to the St. Ives scub-which is way too harsh for most-and other face scrubs. Any scrubs that have almond shells, etc. should never be used and I don't know how people can buy them. They create micro tears in your skin. You always should treat your face like a piece of fine silk.AOBS is the perfect way to start.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 horsefish on 9/17/2009 2:38:00 PM more reviews by horsefish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using AOBS for a couple months now...and glad that I stuck through with it! Before, I had oily skin that was acne-prone for part of each month - even better, it was also constantly dry and flaky T_T.
I use AOBS twice a day and it's made my dry skin much softer, as well as lessened breakouts (not completely yet, but nearly there). Actually I rarely use moisturizer anymore because this product alone works fine for me, whereas I used to have to use lotion a couple times a day.
AOBS has worked wonderfully for me; I actually love the herbal scent (smells mostly like fennel to me) and am willing to disregard the packaging based on the performance of the product itself.

This is just from my own experience, but if you have combo oily/dry skin similar to mine, PLEASE try using a moisturizer and/or face soap for dry/sensitive skin. I've realized that my acne was caused by using too many acne products that dried out my skin, causing my face to overproduce oil. I wonder if many people think they have oily skin when the reality is they are worsening the condition of dry, sensitive skin with harsh acne products.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 adidav9 on 8/4/2009 11:07:00 AM more reviews by adidav9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I have normal skin that doesn't usually act up or break out. I bought this along with Celestial for a new skin routine. The SA applied this all over my hand and I remember thinking to myself, why is she rubbing wet horse food all over my hand? After she rinsed me off, I felt my skin and was amazed at how soft and clean it was, so I bought about $10's worth and decided to give it a try.

It's been about a month, and I use this product religiously. The smell was a bit strange at first - certainly not anything like the fruity or flowery cleanser smells I was used to - but it's grown on me and I actually enjoy the refreshing scent now. It's kind of annoying to wet it and knead into a paste, but it only takes about 10 seconds and I like that a little bit of product goes a long way. I use this pretty much every day because my skin isn't super sensitive, but every once in a while I exfoliate with this for five minutes and leave it on my face for another five minutes. It leaves my skin feeling soft and fresh, and it's helped clear up some blackheads around my nose.

As with all facial products, I would highly recommend picking up a sample first. This product worked well on me but that's no guarantee that it'll do the same for you...always read these reviews with a grain of salt!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tramrak on 10/19/2008 2:20:00 AM more reviews by Tramrak

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

a cleanser?! i don't think so. for me, using AOBS doesn't really remove anything makeup-wise, and all i am attempting to remove is non-waterproof mascara and some concealer. i can't imagine how anyone could actually use this as a cleanser, because although it gently exfoliates, it certainly doesn't 'cleanse' anything. so although i would *never* use this in hopes of it removing makeup, oil, or just the regular accumulation of a day's grime, i do like it for gentle exfoliation and a kind of skin massage. the way i've been using it is by first washing with Coal Face (which i LOOOOOVE, and which removes makeup and grime without even slightly drying out my normal/very slightly combo skin), rinsing that off, and then kind of massaging this into my skin before rinsing again. my second pet peeve with this product (first being that it's NOT a cleanser imo) is how difficult it is to use. taking the recommended 'pea sized amount' in my palm and wetting it slightly to mix it up did absolutely nothing, and i found for it to work at all i need more like 3 pea sized amounts. you put this in your palm, add a tiny bit of water and then rub, and it turns from a paste into a milky, watery puddle with what looks like chunky oatmeal in the center. it never becomes the kind of 'paste' that you could actually easily and evenly apply to your skin and then rub in. so what you're doing is rubbing your skin with crumbly beige specks and milky water. ok, whatever, it's a nice gentle way of exfoliating for the cooler months when harsh scrubs irritate dry skin. but what i can NOT understand is how anyone who is acne-prone could ever use this! when you rinse it leaves a very noticeable film of oil on your skin that doesn't wash off, and while i myself am not acne-prone and this so far hasn't done anything negative to my skin, it still doesn't feel clean when i'm done rinsing. after drying, your face does feel nice and soft and smooth, probably from the exfoliation and the natural oils your skin is wearing, and while this is ok for people who aren't acne/clog/breakout prone, i can't imagine it working for anyone who is. for me, i got this as a sample and even after all the negatives i've stated, i do kinda like it, but it's nothing i would splurge on or couldn't live without. i'll use up my sample, and wouldn't mind eventually coming across another sample, but won't purchase.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 risababy on 1/11/2012 10:32:00 PM more reviews by risababy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used to have really clear skin. Then, a mixture of hormones, stress and makeup have led me to having constant little breakouts I just really couldn't stop, no matter what I did!
-
I went into Lush to purchase some soap for a good friend's birthday. I bought her a soap I really liked (called Christmas Eve) and went back to get it for myself - only to find out it was gone! So I looked around (customer service was next to none, all of them were so nice!) and saw AOBS. I heard some reviews on this and thought, why not? So I asked for a sample and the very nice lady gave it to me. It was a generous sample, good enough for 5 uses if i used a big pea-sized amount.
-
I loved it so much, I went back on new year's day to get some more. I asked for a $5 amount and the guy sliced off $5.95 for me. I didn't mind. It is $12.95 CAD for 100g of this stuff.

I don't add too much water because I like my scrubs grainy and thicker. If it's too thin, I find it slides off before I get a good scrub going on. I wet my face, pinch off about the size of my ring finger nail and apply it to my face. This is after removing my makeup and washing it once or twice with Dove soap. I work it around my face for about a minute or two, concentrating on problem spots.
-
It smells calming, like herbs. It has grains of almond that are not harsh at all. There are also these odd lavender buds, but I really don't mind them. I often use this twice a day: once in the morning, once at night before I sleep.

I do believe that the point of this SCRUB (I emphasize scrub) is to calm your skin and to remove dead skin cells to improve it. I feel like it is like yoga - meant to calm down and soothe, not to intensely work out or do something heavy duty. Works for me!
-
I think a lot of users are finding this bad because they intend for it to be a makeup remover as well. It is not!! It's called Angels On *Bare Skin* for a reason! Make sure you clean off all your makeup beforehand because this won't and if you don't, you can be sure that it will stay on your skin and clog your pores.
-
Now, back to my point. When I first started using this, I had lots of little pimples forming and a cystic here and there. My skin is glowing and clear and SOFT now. I used to wear the whole deal: concealer + foundation + finishing powder on my entire face when I go out. Now it's just concealer under my eyes and maybe a little powder.
-
I'm not rich by any means but I believe in quality and paying for something that will give results. I am definitely going back to get more once I'm done. I don't need any face wash, toner, scrub, masks, what-have-you. I just need some eye-makeup remover, Dove soap and of course, Angels On Bare Skin. THANK YOU, LUSH!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fritillary on 6/30/2009 1:38:00 PM more reviews by fritillary

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is absolutely my HG cleanser. I have ruddy, temperamental, sensitive skin. I'm a rosacea sufferer, and I occasionally have break-outs. When I moved from the mountains of North Carolina up to Boston Mass, my skin absolutely FREAKED OUT. It took me months of tears, frustration, and a drain on my purse to find something, ANYTHING, that would help my skin out. Angels on Bare Skin was it.

Yes, the packaging sucks. Yes, the price is a bit high. Yes, it's a bit hard to use. But none of those things could keep me away from this product. It turned swollen, bumpy, inflamed skin into soft, smooth, even-textured skin. My cheeks are still red, as they will always be, but my rosacea no longer flares at ALL using AOBS. This was a godsend for me, and I can't imagine what I'd be doing now if I'd never found it. I would recommend this to anyone with sensitive skin, acne, or rosacea in a heartbeat!

I will say that I only wash my face about once every 16-24 hours. Whether that has to do with the Angels on Bare Skin or just my specific skin type, I do not know. If I wash any more or less than that, my cheeks dry out and break out.

If you're searching for something that will calm down your skin and give you some relief, please check it out! Lush is really good about giving free samples, just ask for one!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 orangeserendipity32 on 6/19/2008 12:45:00 PM more reviews by orangeserendipity32

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best exfoliator I have found for my face! It is gentle enough to use about twice a week on my sensitive ,and somewhat dry skin thru all the seasons, and even seems to moisturize it with its essential oils. My frend has oily skin and likes it equally as much as I do. This is my guaranteed radiant skin product. If I have a special occasion to go to, I always make sure I use this beforehand, and the result is-I have soft glowing skin that looks more even and toned to the point in which people will compliment how much my skin "glows."

I find that application is a breeze-I pinch off about a pea size about, and add a lil water and mash it up w/ my finger (while it is in my palm to make a paste). I then apply it to my damp face and massage it in circular motions for about a minute. I always use it in the shower so that I don't have to deal with any mess that it might cause. I feel like it is fun to use actually, like I am giving myself a mini spa treatment. I love the aromatherapy qualities of this herbal blend of fresh lavendar and other oils. I still feel like I need to use a cleanser before this if I have any makeup on, as this doesn't seem like it would do the job on its own.

Some complaints-I liked the sample of this product better, as it had more oils in it (since it is handmade, batches vary), and I hate the cheap plastic container it comes in. I wish it were a more substantial one like the other black screw top lid containers LUSH uses for most their products. Please note that you have to make sure this pop off lid is closed very securely so the product doesn't dry out too much or go bad.

For 3.5 oz it is about $10, and well worth it. I have been using mine for about 7 months and have barely made a dent. Ingredients: Ground Almonds (Prunus dulcis), Glycerine, Kaolin, Water (Aqua), Lavender Oil (Lavandula hybrida), Rose Absolute (Rosa centifolia), Lavender Flowers (Lavendula hybrida), *Limonene, *Linalool, Perfume.
*Naturally occurs in essential oils

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bublebulle on 2/2/2014 5:05:00 AM more reviews by bublebulle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Angels On Bare Skin is part of a skincare routine that has worked amazingly on me for several months now. What I'm sharing with you in this review is only my personal experience and of course, what works for me doesn't necessarily works for you - and the other way around - but I wanted to tell about it anyway. Sorry if it overlaps the review I did on Lush Ultrabland, but they both are part of what really works for me, so it couldn't be omitted IMO.

I have a dehydrated, acne-prone, combination skin - with very dry cheeks and a very oily T-zone - so it's pretty much a nightmare for me to keep it looking good especially when I'm in PMS. My southern-east Asian origins also gave me patches and uneven skin to deal with. Now you get a rough idea of what I'm looking for to counteract all these.

This is what has worked on me for months now...
=> Morning routine: I use Lush Angels On Bare Skin or Lush Let The Good Times Roll. They both gently exfoliate, leaving my skin clean but not tight with the bonus of a wonderful scent to begin a new day. I then pat dry my face before spraying my face with Sanoflore floral water followed by an eye cream and a moisturizer.
=> Night routine: I double cleanse. I begin by removing my makeup with a mineral oil-free cleansing oil (my favorites are DHC Deep Cleansing Oil and MAC Cleanse Off Oil), pat my skin dry and follow with the Lush Ultrabland which I gently massage over my face and neck for 2 to 3 minutes to break down what may be left of makeup and SPF. The face massage also helps relaxing and puts the stress of the day away. I then soak a clean washcloth with warm water, wring it out and put it on my face for like 30 seconds for further relaxation. It breaks the oils down so won't be leaving this greasy film that would eventually clog my pores. Again, I soak with warm water and wring the washcloth out for then gently remove the product. Pat my face dry once more. My skin feels really clean and calm at this stage, so I continue with one of Sanoflore floral waters suited for my skin type and finish with my eyes and face moisturizers.

I really love how Angels On Bare Skin feels on my face and here is how I use it. I begin with taking a big pea size amount of product WITH DRY HANDS (or it will spoil the product in 2 days!!). On the palm of my hand, I add a little bit of water, mix product and water together with my finger until it turns into a milky, manageable paste. Then I distribute this between my hands before putting it on my dry face. If I feel the paste is too dry during the application of the product, I add a very little amount of water at a time to keep it milky but not overly wet. I then rinse the product away and proceed to my usual face routine. My face looks clean and soothed - redness on my cheeks is toned down, unlike it used to be with foamy cleansers, and my skin doesn't feel tight. But I wanted to point it out : don't use it to remove makeup! It's not meant to be used this way and you would be pretty disappointed if you do. This is why I only use it in the morning or at night if I wasn't wearing any makeup or SPF.

With this whole routine, my skin feels amazing and looks the best I've ever seen on myself. I still break out from time to time, but it is minimal and quickly fades away with the help of Vichy Normaderm Hyaluspot treatment. My skin is definitely more even, balanced (no super dry cheeks or over oily T-zone anymore) and people have been commenting on how good my skin looked although I wasn't wearing any makeup at all which is the first time in my life! I must say that it feels pretty amazing! ^^

Pros:
- The scent is wonderful. I love this earthy, relaxing perfume to begin the day with.
- The consistency of AOBS feels lovely on the skin IMO. It doesn't feel harsh but you really feel the cleanse.
- Leaves my skin clean but not tight. I now understand that a squeaky clean feeling after cleansing is no good.
- Made with all natural ingredients and no preservatives!! :-D
- Not very expensive in regards of the quality of the ingredients (10,45 euros for 100g)

Cons:
- Quite messy. Your sink will not thank you for how it looks afterwards.
- Short life span (due to all natural ingredients with no preservatives). You'll have to discard it only 3 months after it was made, so be careful to look at the sell-by date when you buy it. Also, don't waste your money; if you don't plan to use it on your body too, the 100g pot will be enough.
- Be careful not to put water into the pot or the product will spoil. Store it away from your shower to avoid any accident.

In short:
I love the idea of putting something natural on my face - apparently based on a medieval recipe, so fun! - which is also very effective and at a fair price. Since Lush is great at giving you samples, I encourage you to ask for ones of AOBS and Ultrabland to try out before splurging on the full-size pots - and see if this kind of routine works for you or not. I probably would have never bought Lush products on my own if my sister didn't gave me her samples to try and I honestly would have missed something HUGE for my skin. I hope you'll find your perfect routine too. xx

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anera on 12/25/2013 10:56:00 AM more reviews by Anera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I decided to invest more in my skincare routine and opted for natural ingredients. Although I would never shell so much for a skin cleanser, seeing everyone liking this cleanser, I decided to give it a try.

My skin is oily, but it is on the drier side in the beginning of the day. By two hours my skin gets oily (unlucky me). Since I have redness and blemishes, I thought this cleanser should do me good. My skin is also sensitive, gets easily red by just cleansing with any solution, ie. micellar solution, or by drying it in a towl.

Here are my thoughts:
1) it isn't a soapy cleanser so it is a little bit messy dispersing it with water on your face. I don't like this application method.
2) it doesn't clean at all, or at least good. So before you buy, note following. I decided to skip my milk for cleaning my foundation and went straight for washing my face. I applied AOBS and massaged it thoroughly in my skin. But, due to the buttery layer that is always left when cleansing with AOBS, it didn't remove anything from my face. While my skin was still wet, I took a cotton pad and started removing my makeup. Imagine how my cotton pad looked like... So, this cleanser should be your *final* step toward cleaning your face. I advise using a lotion afterwards to remove the left layer of this cleanser if you want to have a cleaner face.
3) the buttery layer that is left after cleansing your face with AOBS is a nice feature if your skin is very dry. It isn't too slippery, but I am afraid of getting clogged pores by it. Their ultrabalm gave me the most horrible breakout ever. Clogged pores, cystic acne.
4) I don't think the price justifies the quality of this cleanser. If you are willing to pay more, go more higher end, or go for NovExpert, Yves Rocher, The Body Shop, Himalaya, L'occitane or similar, who are on the white list, don't test on animals, and have natural active ingredients, AND some of them have eco-certificates!

After using a couple of Lush products, I am pretty disappointed with them. I like their concept, but I don't get how a) they so imperiously put high prices and b) how they got THIS popular. I really don't get it.

After I finish all my Lush products, I won't spend a dime on them. I feel like I've been robbed.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Cleansers products