Aveda • Black Malva Shampoo and Conditioner • Shampoo

rated 4.1(117 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Frenchmix on 1/7/2014 7:23:00 PM more reviews by Frenchmix

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Love this! I use the conditioner only, really does what it claims.. I have areas of my hair that I have to dye black because of gray, I don't dye all of my hair. My natural hair color is black and some areas that I dye black keep fading to a red tone pretty fast.. I keep dying them over and over again and use perm color...hate. I tried some black tea to try to tone down the red naturally, but didn't work well. I decided to try this. I have only used this 4 times but the difference is already huge..looks like I dyed it.

I put this Black Malva (which is very black like dye in the tube) on the areas of my hair that are reddish while my hair is dry, to absorb the color deeper. Leave it on dry hair for 25 mins..wash/cond hair and it works really well this way. Will use probably 2 days a week to maintain. It does stain your fingers the way I use it but washes out in the bath. Will update as I continue to use..Love.


Update~ Been using this for almost a month now and love it. I use it daily..it really works!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amy0690 on 12/5/2013 12:23:00 AM more reviews by amy0690

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

The smell is sh*t but I liked it! Nothing to write home about but I loved how it has actual color in it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ToriTwinkle on 4/12/2013 3:26:00 PM more reviews by ToriTwinkle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Conditioner only:

If you want darker hair and to eliminate red tones, this product is top!

I love this product!!!!! Whether or not you will love this product all depends on what you're going for. I had STRUGGLED for years with brassy, copper tones in my hair. When I was a little girl I had beautiful shiny brown hair, with golden highlights. Over the years of dying my hair and it just aging in general, it had gone to this weird red-brown color that reminded me of a penny -- yuck! I have really supple healthy hair, too, that never holds onto dye for longer than two, maybe three weeks. Usually only between 1-2 weeks though, and that is even when using really nice dyes (redken, chi, matrix) as well as box dyes, semi, demi, permanent, you name it. I had tried it all. All different levels of developer, too. My mother and my roommate are both stylists, so it was not a problem with the dye, it was totally just my hair.

Also, I'm a bit of a purist, too, so the idea of dying my hair every few weeks just made me cringe at the thought of the toxic chemicals. Fortunately, I stumbled across Aveda's black malva conditioner and all of my problems were solved! Here's the thing, you can achieve a variety of looks with this depending on how you apply it. You can do all over and leave it on for a while, you can comb it through and rinse out soon after, you can apply it just to your roots, you can apply it mixed with a little water (for spreading purposes) and not rinse it out well at all .. and all of these measures will give you slightly different results. Also, I've found some luck with, after having sort of a build-up effect with it, only using it every 2 washes. It is, of course, strongest immediately after use. I strongly feel that with this product, the key to achieving the results you want is experimentation. Seeing how your hair takes it.

Downfalls -- people have commented that my hair looks green. Ya know what, after years of trying desperately to rid my hair of its warm red tones, these comments of ashy greenness are a-okay by me. And I know, oh, it's green today, that means skip using a few times and it will be perfectly brown after a wash. Usually, the comments of greenness are after a time of deciding not to fully rinse it out. And to me, it never actually looks green, just a twinge of it in certain lighting. It makes my hair really shiny and very soft. It is not, however, a rich, nourishing conditioner. It makes it heathery and soft, but not rich and lush.

Another downfall -- it stains your shower (but this comes out over time) and it stains your cuticles and hands, so wear gloves or get ready to scrub!

I give this product a 4 for cheapness, because while yes for the amount you get, it is pretty expensive .. you can easily make a tube last for 2+ months, and as opposed to the cost of having it dyed, it's not even a comparison. Not to mention the money you'll save in doctor bills from whatever complications could result from using harsh chemicals on your head.

Aveda black malva. It's botanically wonderful! Figure out the appropriate amount and method of use that best suits you and you will love this product!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Miltonh81 on 11/14/2012 1:26:00 AM more reviews by Miltonh81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love these products have been using the same bottle of shampoo since January (I have the litre size) and I use the conditioner once a week and that is just coming to the end I still have at least a quarter of shampoo left. I have naturally black hair with a few greys so I just dye it black every 6 weeks. This keeps those horrible reddish tones away and cleanses my hair without stripping any natural oils and you really only need a 10 pence piece amount the smell isn't amazing but it works all that matters to me also I made sure I bought a pump because having small hands makes it impossible to squeeze a huge bottle! The conditioner is fantastic yes again doesn't smell the best and you must use gloves to prevent staining your hands it really does revive my colour and conditions my hair deeply I leave it on for 20 mins once a week and use a tigi peace and the planet conditioner the rest of the week. I haven't felt like my hair has gotten used to using the same shampoo for 11 months and I find this very economical for 19.00 (15.00 for conditioner). If you want to keep your hair in great condition and the blackest black give these a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emily897 on 9/24/2012 1:38:00 PM more reviews by emily897

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This review is for the conditioner only.

My hair is naturally an ashy level 6ish. Bleached it about a year ago and decided light hair wasn't for me, so I've been dying it to around a level 4 ash brown while I wait for it to grow out. The problem is, I have to dye my hair about once a month because the color would fade so quickly (due to the bleaching presumably). So I bought this conditioner from Aveda for under 20$. It's smaller sized bottle but I have been using it almost every day for over a month and I am not even half way through. Compared to the cost of dying my hair, using this conditioner is much cheaper.

As far as results go, this stuff is awesome. My hair still looks like I just dyed it, the bleached ends match my dark roots and have not faded AT ALL. I would definitely recommend this to anyone with bleached hair who has had problems maintaining a darker shade.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetfart on 8/30/2012 1:22:00 AM more reviews by sweetfart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have both the shampoo and conditioner. The shampoo is kind of useless, honestly. It's only intended to cleanse the hair, not to deposit any color. And I highly doubt the dark brown tint is helping to protect anything. It's very drying, as well.

The conditioner is what does all the work. It is more of a moisturizing semi-permanent dye. I only use this every two weeks to restore the cool, ashy medium brown highlights I had (they always go brassy and lighter when I wash). Beware that is WILL darken your hair if it's not already medium brown or darker. May also stain fabrics. Color lasts for about 6-8 washes.

Don't get the shampoo. Black Malva conditioner is ideal for those who want to keep their hair cool-toned and brown. If you are blonde, you can try Blue Malva. I tried that when I had blonde highlights, but I honestly didn't see any difference in treating the brassiness.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nickylily on 9/10/2011 3:08:00 AM more reviews by Nickylily

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This shampoo strips my hairs so much that I am returning it and going back to my beloved Abba Gentle Shampoo. I wanted to try Black Malva to help keep my hair from becoming brassy, but the ammonium lauryl sulfate in it is too drying. It left my hair dry, sticky and tangled. I cannot recommend this shampoo.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hwnpunch on 6/21/2011 4:10:00 PM more reviews by hwnpunch

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used a lot of fail products and quite frankly given this products stellar reviews I'm surprised that this one ranks so high in my fail column. In fact this one really P@#ed me off to be blunt considering how much it costs and how little you get. I'm reviewing the conditioner which I purchased to keep the red tones out of my dark brown hair and maybe prolong trips to my stylist. I bought this at an Aveda salon and was told that this was so strong I would only need to use this once per week for 3-5 minutes to keep my color fresh but that it probably would not color greys. No problem...I hadn't used this until after a trip to the keys and my color had took a bit of a beating & lightened in the sun no matter how much UV conditioner I coated my hair with. I expected no miracles but was hoping for a bit of a boost so that I could hold off a week or so from getting a color touch up. What I got instead was a total strip of color from any area that color was covering grays. I mean what was lightened from the sun went completely white in one conditioning treatment with this crap. I guess the sales associate forgot to mention that possibility? I have medium fine hair and went grey early so fighting that battle is frustrating enough. Perhaps this product works best on someone with a courser texture hair but for me this is not only was a wasted purchase but would have sent me to the hairdresser a lot sooner than necessary had I used it right after a color. I wouldn't even give this crap away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CJCJ on 5/1/2011 11:57:00 AM more reviews by CJCJ

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

have the shampoo in the liter size and the conditioner in the large tube. Of all the color deposit products I've used, this is the best. I have very dark brown hair with a lot of natural red in it... it will go brassy very quickly. I color it every 4 weeks as it's 100% white now (started at age 11 and was white by early 20's). I rotate it with another Aveda shampoo (the Colorsaver one, whatever it's called, lol). The conditioner, however, is where the true pigment comes from. Sadly, the conditioner is NOT hydrating enough for my thick, coarse, colored Irish hair. In order for me to make this combo work, I MUST combine the conditioner WITH the Dry Remedy TREATMENT MASK (which I also use as my daily conditioner).

Perfection!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rallu on 3/12/2011 1:12:00 AM more reviews by rallu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My hair is medium brown.I got this because I wanted to darken my hair and take out the brassiness. The first time I used it as a conditioner, left it on for about 5 minutes and didn't really change anything. Didn't stain my bathtub or nails either. The second time I used it as a hair color and left it on for almost an hour. It came out an uneven reddish dark brown and left my hair dull looking. This time stained my bathtub and nails. I give it 2 stars because it did darken my hair a little.I've return it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveda products

More Shampoo products