Revlon Super Lustrous Creme - Black Cherry 477

4.1

120 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/14/2015 1:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've never found the perfect product. This includes lipsticks. IMO there a great products though, and this has been one for me. The shade is versatile when it comes to skin tones, I was introduced to this by a friend who was about as cool/pale as you could be, where I have a more gold/olive and neutral tone. It worked for us both. It's also versatile in the way that it can be worn sheerly as a stain or fully for a total opaque look. Although the color is very different depending on how thickly it is applied.
The color lasts. In fact it stains the lips. One medium application lasts for me through eating and drinking and talking for about 3-4 hours. As a stain it lasts all day with maybe 1-2 reapplications.
I did not find that it dries my lips out at all. I got this for less than six dollars at Walmart, a great deal.
CONS: Unless you have a lot of time to spend being a perfectionist, a liner is probably a requirement. The product does not feather, per se, but it is such a drastic contrast between your skin and the shade that any places 'outside the lines' are very apparent.
I've also found that for me a lip brush is needed as it does a better job than direct from tube or finger application.
To me the product is far worth it for me and the cons are not a big deal.



on 5/6/2015 8:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

i love the color of this lipstick, but it is always so patchy. it takes forever to apply properly because it is both heavily pigmented and very dry. you might as well buy wet n wild "cherry bomb" instead because it is pretty much the same thing for half the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2015 1:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Everyone keeps saying how patchy this is and how quickly it fades. I agree that it doesn't apply too smoothly, but many lipsticks with this much pigment don't. What I always end up doing is blending it out with my fingers after one layer and then applying another and doing the same until it's as uniform as possible Then I'll blot it with tissue, which gives a a matte finish, and it lasts pretty well throughout the day and eating and it does not transfer. This does get drying after a couple hours though, but not nearly as bad as Ruby Woo is, so moisturize prior and after. I'm pretty sure any skintone can pull off this color and have it be flattering as it's not as dark as it apprears in the tube


on 3/22/2015 3:22:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Awesome color--if you love deep plums this is a definite. Wear it a ton, like the coverage and it's nice and creamy.

ETA: I've been wearing this a few days now, and if you like rich plum colors, this one is great. It doesn't dry my lips, it goes on opaque and smooth, it has a nice gloss to it, and it just straight up looks great. Color is probably my favorite of all the lipsticks I own right now.


on 3/21/2015 1:12:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

FAVORITE EVER! Don't know why people are saying it's patchy, mine is super smooth and opaque. It's really creamy so of course the staying power isn't revolutionary but I always use a good lip liner underneath whenever I wear lipstick anyways so it helps to maintain color and shape. Beautiful color, hate the packaging though, looks cheap and always looks like the lid is missing cause of the clear top.


on 3/18/2015 1:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Extremely patchy. I tried this over a freshly exfoliated and moisturized lip: that's when it was worst. Then I tried it over a fully covered with lipliner crayon lip that as much more of a hot pink/red: that was almost as bad. Then lastly I tried it over a fully covered lipliner pencil that was really dark and then it looked kind of passable. Honestly, I don't suggest this at all. Get a lipstick that will stay on your lips. You can't even press your lips together with this without completely smudging the lipstick and making it even more sheer. It's opague in spots and sheer in others. I have no idea what they did wrong with this.


on 3/17/2015 3:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't know if it was recently reformulated, but mine isn't patchy at all!! It goes on opaque and creamy and smooth. I like to use a clear lipliner, and apply with a lip brush to get the best lines with it. It stains my lips on contact, and lasts and lasts. I'm prone to rubbing my lips together often and that leads to this colour becoming un-even and kinda liney. But as long as I don't rub my lips it's perfect. It's a perfect dark purpley reddish colour on me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2015 10:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Patchy, sheer, and drying on me, regardless of whether or not I use a lipliner. Shades like this are a dime a dozen. Nearly every line of lipstick features a vampy burgundy named Black Cherry, and nearly any of those lipsticks will be better than this one. This is a rare dud for the Super Lustrous line.


on 1/16/2015 4:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Here's the thing. It is a gorgeous color. BUT it goes on clumpy and weird. You can't spread it evenly. You NEED lipliner all over the lips. I use Sally Hansen Invisible Lip Liner. It's perfect with the lipliner. I wore this to prom senior year. It really is beautiful. Without the lipliner, it sets into cracks on the lip and emphasizes dry skin. It is a regular to deep berry depending on how much you apply. It's not as dark as it is in the tube. Trust me on this, lipliner will bring this up to four stars.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE the colour of this lipstick. Never having worn lipstick much before, this shade stood out to me. I find it relatively long lasting - more so when applied with a brush - and although it can take a few touch-ups to get the colour even, it's definitely worth it. Beware staining - I find this shade tends to cling to any dry bits on the inside of my lips, and if you accidentally go over an edge you may be best using some concealer to cover any staining after wiping off.
The colour is equally appropriate for a day out, mildly applied for work or fully applied for a night out. A versatile, worthwhile purchase at a good price.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
195 Reviews
Provocalips
75 Reviews
Back to Top