Mario Badescu Azulene Calming Mask

4.3

35 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

PVP, Seamollient,Methylparaben,Protol, Castor Oil, Balsam Peru, Kaolin, Wheat Starch, Zinc Oxide,Quaternium-60, Titanium Dioxide, Talc,Boric Acid,Polysorbate-80,Propylene Glycol, Azulene


on 2/16/2015 9:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a great way to pamper yourself. I find this mask helps with redness and it's very relaxing to have it on. I use this and the whitening mask by MB and I feel it helps my fair skin very much.



on 4/2/2014 12:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have oily, acne-prone, eczema-ridden skin with bouts of rosacea. Needless to say, I often have a lot of redness and irritation that makes it impossible for me to skimp on the concealer. This product almost always helps my skin look more normal the morning after I use it, but I leave it on for about 30 minutes to an hour :).

[ PROS ]
- Noticeably decreases redness and irritation the morning after
- Easy to spread around the face
- Scent is very mild and pleasant even
- The jar lasts forever since only a little is needed each time
- Easy to wash off

[ CONS ]
- The jar is a little unsanitary

This is my go-to aid on a regular basis and I would definitely recommend it to people with similar skin issues as me!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/19/2013 5:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This was a nice mask, nothing super spesh though. I had plumper skin with less visible pores afterwards. I noticed no reduced redness and it didn't seem to draw out impurities. I'm not sure if they're still marketing it as a hydrating mask as someone else below mentioned but I would agree that it's not moisturising at all but it hasn't dried out my skin either which some kaolin masks tend to do. Overall good for a pre party pep up but I imagine there are more hard working masks out there around the same price point.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/24/2013 2:17:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

BellaMonkey, we get it. You had issues with their cream. No need to blow MUA up with every product ever made by them. Good grief! It took me 5 pages (at least) to get passed your griping. Once is quite enough. Just sayin'

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.


on 2/6/2013 8:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This was a gift from a wonderful MUA pal so I had to look up the pricing. Not bad at $18.00 US for 2 full ounces. The mask is aqua in color, thick smells fresh and clean. It applies very easily, a little goes a long way. It has been a God-send for my skin which in addition to being aging/acne prone is super sensitive and often for no reason at all becomes, itchy, dry, blotchy, can erupt in breakouts...crazy skin.

This really is calming and cool. I apply as directed to a clean face, wait 20 minutes while I go about getting ready and I rinse if off in the shower. it also hydrates which was a really nice surprise. It has carnation oil in it very close to the top of the list of ingredients. I looked up carnation oil and learned that it is very helpful in normalizing skin conditions ie skin rashes and eczema.

I use it every 3-4 days before my makeup and/or as needed.
List of ingredients:

NGREDIENTS: PVP, Seamollient,Methylparaben,Protol, Castor Oil, Balsam Peru, Kaolin, Wheat Starch, Zinc Oxide,Quaternium-60, Titanium Dioxide, Talc,Boric Acid,Polysorbate-80,Propylene Glycol, Azulene.

Website Link:
http://www.mariobadescu.com/Azulene-Calming-Mask

Pros list:

A little goes a long way
Not too expensive
Full 2 ounces of product
reputable manufacturer
calms the skin
conditions the skin
quality ingredients

Cons list:
No dispenser to eliminate or reduce germs
container gets messy because of the viscosity of the mask

Yes I will buy it again. Hopefully the packaging will be updated by that time.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2013 5:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this after I developed a rash on my face a couple of weeks back. After a week of pure misery with dry and irritated skin, I finally caved and ordered this mask as well as the Rose hips nourishing oil. Within a day I noticed a big improvement in my skin. After two days the rash was completely gone. I've been using the mask slightly more often than recommended though - like once a day for four days, just to make sure my skin really had a chance to recover before I eased off the mask a little.

But it really did lessen the redness in my face - both from the various pimple but also around my nose and chin. Weird really, because not even the healing cream worked as fast as this mask. It didn't completely remove the redness though, but with more regular use it probably will.

I'm totally gonna keep using this, especially over the winter months. It smells nice, is soothing to use and doesn't break me out.


on 10/18/2011 12:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Calming, moisturizing mask. It reduced redness a bit, and left my skin feeling softer and much less irritated. Pleasant light floral (chamomile) scent. The Calma mask is a nice, oil-free alternative with very similar results.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I got a small tub of this as a sample today and found it did leave my skin feeling softer. I like the colour, smell and texture of it, but overall I don't think it was that drastic of an effect.

It's nice, but I wouldn't be quick to run out and buy it.


on 7/12/2010 12:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

On my bad days I do pick my face and sometimes the pressure my fingers exert do leave marks behind. Sometimes during facials as well, I'll have to endure the painful extractions and come home with a red-ish face (sometimes the marks left behind by the metal extraction tool is still evident for hours after the facial) - so what I do is slap this mask on all the red/sensitive areas. No other masks can calm irritation AND soothe the skin in a mere 20 mins. Azulene is the main ingredient in this mask, and is just another name for chamomile fyi.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2010 8:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I think this product is amazing! I have very very sensitive skin and immediately after using this product my skin looks less irritated and it minimized the appearance of my pores. My skin also looked brighter and my mineral powder went on more smoothly after using. I will definitely buy this again!!


Back to Top