Serge Lutens • rahat loukoum • Fragrances

rated 3.7(173 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 tecumsum on 12/11/2013 10:36:00 PM more reviews by tecumsum

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Unfortunately, this one is a scrubber for me. Smells exactly like cherry cough syrup on me. Thankfully, it doesn't last long on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SmellyFaerie on 9/21/2012 12:31:00 PM more reviews by SmellyFaerie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I admit saying before that I usually donít like sweets or sweet fragrances, but there are a few exceptions and Serge Lutens Rahat Loukoum is one of them. It is known as the most obvious gourmand in the Serge Lutens range, but so nicely done by Christopher Sheldrake, that it makes it almost impossible to resist to in those (few) days in which I am craving a sweet scent.



Rahat Loukoum was inspired by the homonymous candy (in the US; known as Turkish Delight) and it is available among the Serge Lutens Exclusives (Bell Jars). The notes include: almond, cherry, hawthorn, rose, balsam, tonka bean, aldehydes, honey, musk and vanilla.



It opens with a blast of aldehydes, which makes my nose tingle for a while and a strong and boozy cherry note, like cherry brandy. The cherry, as the perfume starts to evaporate from the skin, gets syrupy and subsides during the early stages of the drydown. What follows it is a huge almond note, amplified by heliotrope, hawthorn and tonka bean. Up until this point, Rahat Loukoum is definitely gourmand.



Later in the drydown, after one hour or so, comes my favorite part: the cherry-almond combo gets softer and, as it calms down, I start detecting some roses and vanilla. The foody aspects slowly vanish to a honey musk powdery drydown. And this is how it remains until the end, which may take a while considering this is a Serge Lutens.



In comparison to other Turkish Delight inspired scents, it does share some similarities with another Serge Lutens: Louve, from the export line. I own and love both, but Louve has less cherry, more powder and a marzipan vibe. When compared to Keiko Mecheri Loukoum, the Serge Lutens rendition is definitely less cloying, (on my skin, the KM smells as if the said sweet spent an entire afternoon locked in a car, exposed to the sun). It is also not abstract as LíArtisan Parfumeur Traversee du Bosphore.



Rahat Loukoum is cuddly, comforting and more suitable for colder months. The lasting power is excellent and the silage is huge when spritzed (which can also irritate sensitive skins, if spritzed immediately after showering), but moderate when dabbed. Makes me wonder if these are the reasons why the Bell Jars are dabbers.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kerriki on 4/16/2012 7:14:00 AM more reviews by kerriki

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Stunning rich cherry rose and almond confection that must be the Big Daddy of all these frags...but unlike most it just stays in balance, even going a bit sourly sexy and dry and perfectly rosey-musky as it wears. So different, not counting the copycats, pure genius, you must have this in a serious collection...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheEmpress on 5/3/2011 2:24:00 AM more reviews by TheEmpress

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Much harder to get in the US. and not worth the chase unless you are a man. Although it's unisex, it does tend to lean towards the masculine end of the spectrum. On the other hand Serge Lutens Louve is Rahat's twin flame. She (Louve) has the same exact powdery and almondy notes,only she's a lot softer and a tad sweeter. Both are masterpieces.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WentworthRoth on 2/16/2011 5:27:00 AM more reviews by WentworthRoth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Notes: fresh white almond, crushed cherry pits, hawthorn, heliotrope, Turkish rose, balsam, tonka bean, aldehydes, white honey, musk and vanilla.

This fragrance opens with an almost edible cherry note that is framed by a sharp alcoholic note. Underneath of these two, I smell a third, softer, sweet and warm note. As the fragrance progresses the alcohol evaporates and the cherry note calms down considerably. From this point on, the fragrance smells more like bitter almonds than cherry on a bed of dry floral notes. The fragrance is still sweet, but less aggressive. My skin chemistry and some of the floral notes react weirdly to each other, because when I smell very closely, I smell something like swimming pool. Thankfully the other notes hide this effect and it is only transient. The main accord is a milky, sweet, clean almond composition. Aldehydes ensure the composition remains light and sparkly. A comparison to its sister scent Louve is inevitable and to me Rahat is the better fragrance. It is less soapy and synthetic smelling than Louve, the accords are more fleshed-out and the notes more vibrant. The dry down is characterised by honey and musk and fits the overall theme of the fragrance. Lasts for four hours on my skin.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 constantinova on 12/9/2010 3:43:00 PM more reviews by constantinova

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

actually when I first saw this I said myself what the f...k because of the name. I am turkish and the name is turkish. it means calming turkish delight. so as its name it smells like my favorite turkish delight. I dont like sweet fragnences but i would bu this one because it reminds me my friends, my family, my beloved istanbul, my turkish delights and my beloved country.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lavenderfleur on 8/2/2010 1:56:00 AM more reviews by lavenderfleur

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I really, really like this about 5-10 minutes after putting it on. The cherry has settled, and it blends well with the almond and honey. Unfortunately, I cannot get this scent to last more than an hour on me. I mean it's gone at that point. For the price, I expect more. If it lasted longer, I would probably shell out the money for a full bottle...I like it that much. Too bad. I'm off to try dupes to see if I can find something similar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bijouxqueen on 7/13/2010 11:01:00 PM more reviews by bijouxqueen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

GLORIOUS! Who would've thought that a sweet-o-phobe like me would LOVE this? Only wish it lasted longer...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* reikigoddess on 5/24/2010 8:53:00 PM more reviews by reikigoddess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this a couple of times before and didn't think much of it-thought it was too sweet actually. I'm so glad I gave it another go because I'm just loving it now. It's such a fun, youthful, whimsical scent and the sweetness really does pipe down after the first 10 or so minutes. After trying just about every SL scent (all the exports and most of the nons) I think I will finally have my own bell jar. I must say that the new non-ex. due out this fall sounds incredible also (another gourmand). Just for ref. I cannot stand KM's Louk. scent-just powdery and awful on me & I also tried SL's Louve. Louve is somewhat similar but not nearly as nice as this is.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 willowpost on 5/6/2010 8:30:00 PM more reviews by willowpost

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

okay I won't go into describing the notes..... done many times before.

So here's a practical comparison:
Sampling both Serge Lutens Rahat Loukoum and Keiko Mecheri's Loukhoum and I am trying to figure out which is either FB worthy or worth getting a larger decant of.

I've had both on for 2 hours and the main difference in the drydown seems to that Keiko Mecheri's Loukhoum is much stronger than SL and is way more powdery. No powder with the Rahat Loukoum in it's drydown.

Tough call.... I am preferring the SL but hey, at the price I want to be able to smell it at little more 2 hours later.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Serge Lutens products

More Fragrances products