Etro Etra

3.2

27 reviews

40% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/29/2012 1:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Violet

A nice walk into a late september, late afternoon rosewood and sandalwood park, yellow leaves just beginning to fall against the fading orange light of a setting sun, still warm from summer memories. A warm spicy chai tea in my hand, rich with whiffs of vanilla and cardamom, with just a subtle paprika aftertaste to get me awake and curious, and happy, above all. In the background, roses and geraniums still remind me that the summer lazy jasmine-y days aren't really over, if I try. There's still no need for pashmina scarves around my shoulder, but maybe it's time to think about a new one and hey, what about a musky light brown wood?

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 2/18/2008 7:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The cardamom/vanilla notes come to the forefront for me and smell as comforting as sugar cookies on a crisp fall day.
This is one I keep coming back to. Lasts a good long time too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/22/2007 11:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm an Etro lover when it comes to clothes and fashion, so I would like to be able to appreciate Etro fragrances, too, but up to now I found only one fragrance worth its hipe, and that's Relent. About this one, I fell in love with it at first whiff, but then, as the weather got colder, I found it to be a little bit intoxicating and way too chemical to me. I'm still on the verge, I sometimes like it and sometimes get a headache from it, strange thing... Quite similar to SL Chergui, anyway


on 11/30/2006 11:20:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Pleasant, sweet but lively, smooth but spicy, versatile fragrance. Starts off citrusy, with lemonwood predominating. Spices increase, one of which is cardamom, a personal favorite. An interesting pimento note is listed, giving it a tangy zing. Beneath it all, creamy vanilla undertones pull the various notes together in a mild, base. Conventional enough to fit any occasion, and unconventional enough to interest me. Well-balanced, attractive, but soft.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2006 6:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm surprised with mostly negative reviews here. Etra is maybe the best Etro fragrance for me. I'm also surprised that so many reviewers described it as 'too strong'... Etra is cool, elegant, light, slightly green fragrance on me. Clean. Very chic. Sort of 'intellectual', distinctive scent as someone noticed. Top notes are the most beautiful, very fine, luminous, ethereal and transparent. Middle notes are more woodsy. The drydown is described as warmer and vanillish but I don't smell much of it. Fragrance is interesting, rather unique and really fine but it definitely lacks sillage. I'm giving 4 lippies here just for very nice top notes...

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2006 10:55:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The opening notes of Etra were really horrible on me - like a very harsh, astringent soap - and this phase lasted for a good half hour. After that it became more wearable, although I found the mix of cedar and spice to be too masculine for me. The drydown was much nicer, as the vanilla note sweetened up the scent, but I had to wait too long to get there! Not one for me!


on 1/12/2006 7:53:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Etro Etra is unusual, and I'm enjoying the samples I have, although I don't think I'll buy an entire bottle. I'm noticing lots of geranium and some ylang-ylang (although I didn't read ylang in the list of notes), with a woody and musky drydown. It's an androgynous scent, and I find it intriguing, but I don't think it's "me." Viccolo Fiori, on the other hand...


on 12/20/2005 9:23:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Etro Etra is my favorite of the Etro line. To me this scent evokes perfect calm and clean unfrazzled landscapes. I smell mainly the sandalwood and geranium on opening and later on pick up a bit of cozy vanilla and musk. This scent has nice sillage but is a gentle at the same time. Unfrilly, no noticeable florals or fruits to my nose, just a nice woody spicy lingering aroma, one that always put me in a peaceful happy mood.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm surprised by all the negative reviews. So many people seem to be smelling so many different things. Some get a dry cedar, others get a sweet scent like Hanae Mori, others get an overload of citrus and florals. But me - I love it!

A base of sandalwood and amber with some herbal notes like lavender and geranium. But while lavender is often a dealbreaker, this time it compliments the fragrance so nicely. The result is a somber skin scent, one I wear when I'm feeling introspective. Seems like an intellectual-type fragrance. But someone else here describes it as cheerful - So there's that for you. I definitely don't get sweetness, florals or an 80s vibe. It's actually very inoffensive.

Perfumeworld.net calls it a unisex oriental fragrance with this olfactory description: Pimento, Sensual, Coriander, Floral (Jasmine, Rose, Geranium), Cardamom, Cedarwood, Sandalwood, Rosewood, Vanillic, Musky

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

A sweet woody offering in the style of Calvin Klein's Eternity for Men, which has spawned hundreds if not thousands of copies. Based on a few commonly used aroma-chemicals. Unoriginal, undistinguished.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1352 Reviews
Light Blue
1406 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1875 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
335 Reviews
Back to Top