Etro • Etra • Fragrances

rated 3.2(27 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gother on 9/29/2012 1:22:00 PM more reviews by Gother

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Violet    

A nice walk into a late september, late afternoon rosewood and sandalwood park, yellow leaves just beginning to fall against the fading orange light of a setting sun, still warm from summer memories. A warm spicy chai tea in my hand, rich with whiffs of vanilla and cardamom, with just a subtle paprika aftertaste to get me awake and curious, and happy, above all. In the background, roses and geraniums still remind me that the summer lazy jasmine-y days aren't really over, if I try. There's still no need for pashmina scarves around my shoulder, but maybe it's time to think about a new one and hey, what about a musky light brown wood?

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goodtiger on 2/18/2008 7:03:00 PM more reviews by goodtiger

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The cardamom/vanilla notes come to the forefront for me and smell as comforting as sugar cookies on a crisp fall day.
This is one I keep coming back to. Lasts a good long time too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 52pigtails on 10/22/2007 11:38:00 AM more reviews by 52pigtails

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm an Etro lover when it comes to clothes and fashion, so I would like to be able to appreciate Etro fragrances, too, but up to now I found only one fragrance worth its hipe, and that's Relent. About this one, I fell in love with it at first whiff, but then, as the weather got colder, I found it to be a little bit intoxicating and way too chemical to me. I'm still on the verge, I sometimes like it and sometimes get a headache from it, strange thing... Quite similar to SL Chergui, anyway

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* purplebird on 11/30/2006 11:20:00 AM more reviews by purplebird

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Pleasant, sweet but lively, smooth but spicy, versatile fragrance. Starts off citrusy, with lemonwood predominating. Spices increase, one of which is cardamom, a personal favorite. An interesting pimento note is listed, giving it a tangy zing. Beneath it all, creamy vanilla undertones pull the various notes together in a mild, base. Conventional enough to fit any occasion, and unconventional enough to interest me. Well-balanced, attractive, but soft.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* doree_001 on 8/9/2006 6:39:00 PM more reviews by doree_001

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm surprised with mostly negative reviews here. Etra is maybe the best Etro fragrance for me. I'm also surprised that so many reviewers described it as 'too strong'... Etra is cool, elegant, light, slightly green fragrance on me. Clean. Very chic. Sort of 'intellectual', distinctive scent as someone noticed. Top notes are the most beautiful, very fine, luminous, ethereal and transparent. Middle notes are more woodsy. The drydown is described as warmer and vanillish but I don't smell much of it. Fragrance is interesting, rather unique and really fine but it definitely lacks sillage. I'm giving 4 lippies here just for very nice top notes...

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LipstickLil on 5/21/2006 10:55:00 AM more reviews by LipstickLil

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The opening notes of Etra were really horrible on me - like a very harsh, astringent soap - and this phase lasted for a good half hour. After that it became more wearable, although I found the mix of cedar and spice to be too masculine for me. The drydown was much nicer, as the vanilla note sweetened up the scent, but I had to wait too long to get there! Not one for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stanzi on 1/12/2006 7:53:00 PM more reviews by stanzi

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Etro Etra is unusual, and I'm enjoying the samples I have, although I don't think I'll buy an entire bottle. I'm noticing lots of geranium and some ylang-ylang (although I didn't read ylang in the list of notes), with a woody and musky drydown. It's an androgynous scent, and I find it intriguing, but I don't think it's "me." Viccolo Fiori, on the other hand...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dollface6 on 12/20/2005 9:23:00 AM more reviews by dollface6

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Etro Etra is my favorite of the Etro line. To me this scent evokes perfect calm and clean unfrazzled landscapes. I smell mainly the sandalwood and geranium on opening and later on pick up a bit of cozy vanilla and musk. This scent has nice sillage but is a gentle at the same time. Unfrilly, no noticeable florals or fruits to my nose, just a nice woody spicy lingering aroma, one that always put me in a peaceful happy mood.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vampsandtramps on 12/16/2005 2:21:00 PM more reviews by vampsandtramps

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised by all the negative reviews. So many people seem to be smelling so many different things. Some get a dry cedar, others get a sweet scent like Hanae Mori, others get an overload of citrus and florals. But me - I love it!

A base of sandalwood and amber with some herbal notes like lavender and geranium. But while lavender is often a dealbreaker, this time it compliments the fragrance so nicely. The result is a somber skin scent, one I wear when I'm feeling introspective. Seems like an intellectual-type fragrance. But someone else here describes it as cheerful - So there's that for you. I definitely don't get sweetness, florals or an 80s vibe. It's actually very inoffensive.

Perfumeworld.net calls it a unisex oriental fragrance with this olfactory description: Pimento, Sensual, Coriander, Floral (Jasmine, Rose, Geranium), Cardamom, Cedarwood, Sandalwood, Rosewood, Vanillic, Musky

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* King_of_England on 7/12/2005 3:58:00 PM more reviews by King_of_England

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

A sweet woody offering in the style of Calvin Klein's Eternity for Men, which has spawned hundreds if not thousands of copies. Based on a few commonly used aroma-chemicals. Unoriginal, undistinguished.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Etro products

More Fragrances products