New York Color Liquid Lip Shine in Pink Sand

3.0

22 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 2/16/2011 7:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a gorgeous color!!! Cheap!!! I will def repurchase!!!!


EDIT: It's starting to smell really rancid. I gave up not worth it and plus it's discontinued.



on 10/27/2010 6:59:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this lip gloss because I know this girl who wears it and it looks awesome on her and come to find it looks nice on my lips as well! I love this lip gloss because it has a really nice smell and the finish is nothing like other lip glosses I tried. I've never like frosty finishes but this one I like cause it's pretty sheer so it goes with any make up look. If you're expecting a lot from this then I suggest you not to buy it because I can tell you that it's not the best and most pigmented but I don't mind it because it's less hassle having to re-apply all the time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/7/2010 5:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this thinking it would be a nice pinky-peach gloss but it comes off on my lips as a strange frost. I don't see a true gloss finish, just frostiness....I also own the sungold pink, which I do like a lot...this one, not so much. It is sticky, but not as bad as some others. I had to look up the name, because on my tube it only has the sticker with the # on it...no big deal. It is very very cheap, but I don't think I will repurchase it. I'd like to try some of the other colors, though, just because of how cheap they are...and if I can find another one that I like as much as the sungold pink, then there is nothing to lose...so on that note, I don't feel like I am out anything from having purchased this particular one.... I still use it from time to time to just top off some lipsticks, but it certainly isn't one I grab for frequently.


on 5/19/2010 12:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

this is currently my favorite lipgloss! it's only $2 but it's just wonderful :) it has a delicious vanilla scent and a pretty golden-pink color. I use it almost every day!


on 3/16/2010 10:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Overall more like a ~3.5. I like this color because it is just your soft everyday pink with some gold shimmer in it. It comes out fairly sheer on the lips but provides a nice tint. I don't mind the smell at all, I like it! Smells like vanilla to me. It doesn't have that long of lasting power (I'd say 1-2 hours maybe) but for $1.99 I can afford to reapply. I also like that I am able to try a lot of colors this way.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

PROS: The looks of it (color, etc.) It's peachy, sandy, pinky, pretty frosty. Goes great on my N15 (leaning toward NC) skin. Very inexpensive! (LOVE DS lipglosses!)


CONS: Tiny bit goopy and quite sticky. Not terribly so for a DS (drug store) brand.


ALTERNATES: This is an okay good dupe for MAC's "Prr" but with more sparkle.


on 2/4/2010 10:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Picked this up at Rite Aid. Super cheap for a layering lipgloss, good for on top of a lipliner base. The frost shows up that way. Has a funny smell, but not horrible to where you can't use it in my opinion. Not sticky, works fine for a cheap gloss. : )


on 11/14/2009 12:47:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I like this color. I like that it isn't too sticky. It's golden pink and looks really great over nude or light pink lipstick. I got it to pair with Maybelline Moisture Extreme lipstick in Sugar Plum Ice. Really nice combo. Even though it's really inexpensive, I still think they should make the product slightly bigger. It's somewhere between a sample size and a regular gloss.
EDIT: I have to take a few lippies off for smell and taste. I have a few other NYC liquid lip shine glosses, Sungold Pink and a red one, that smell nice, but pink sand has a really plasticy taste and terrible scent. I even bought another tube just in case the one I had was a bad one, but the second tube was just the same. I hope they fix this as otherwise it's a good opaque light pink.


on 8/18/2009 4:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I got this because I wanted a nude-peachy lipgloss. When I first took the wrapping off, I was overwhelmed to find that my pretty little gloss smelled like WINDEX!!!!!! I was really scared to put it on, thinking that it might have been poisoned, but then I just convinced myself that I was just being paranoid and that I should just try it on. When I did, I loved the way that it looked on my lips. It stayed on really long. It didn't have a taste, so I can't say that it had a bad taste. I think that mine was just a dud because I have heard so many good things about this, and they never said anything about the smell, or maybe it's just e that's smelling it. I don't really know. I don't think I ever will know until I go back and buy another one. Overall, I do think that this is a very good product and that if you ignore the smell, you will absolutely love it!


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this after the reformulation and it rocks!!! It is a ballet slipper pink with gold shimmer...an almost exact replica of Chanel Pin-Up which is my HG lipgloss. It has a coconut/vanilla fragrance and isn't sticky at all....My new fave fo sho! Bought like 6 of them for $1.72!! The old formula in this shade is NOT good...stinks and is much more nude...this is a soft golden pink. Perfect!!!


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top