Avalon Organics Botanicals Glistening Ylang Ylang Conditioner

3.4

9 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS



on 8/7/2013 2:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Eh, it's alright. It's a bit overpriced. It feels lovely and thick and did make my hair super duper shiny and smelt fantastic, but if you have dyed or dried out hair it might not pack a punch.

I'd recommend it for normal hair with possibly dry ends.

One more con is the bottle design. It's very hard to get the last scraps out as it's such a thick consistency. The bottle looks very glam and vintage on the bathroom shelf but it would be much better suited to a tub with a screw top.



on 5/21/2013 10:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I found this conditioner pretty awful, perhaps the worst I've tried, which is a shame because I've liked all the products I've tried from this line so far. The first time I tried it I seemed to struggle to wash it out of my hair, it seems sticky and greasy, but I was at a friends house and didn't want to waste too much of their water so had to get out after a reasonable amount of time. But I was hoping it would be okay when my hair dried, but no it was this horrible dried out sticky mess. I tried it again last night thinking maybe I didn't wash it out well enough the first time, but no, the same thing happened, dried out, frizzy, sticky mess of hair, couldn't get a brush through without snapping hairs, very strange considering a lot of people seem to like this, guess it doesn't like my hair type.


on 3/7/2007 1:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I like the scent, it's a very mild ylang ylang, and if you use it with something else it doesn't overpower or linger. However, I find the conditioning benefits of this to be not quite strong enough...in fact, my hair is usually pretty shiny, and when I use this for a few days in a row my hair stops being shiny!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Yummy smell. Works wonders for my wavy & thick hair- leaves it shiny, smooth, and strong. Will repurchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/27/2005 12:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

The smell of the conditioner grows on you, it is not a deal breaker at any rate. The conditioner has little detangling properties for my thin fine-med textured hair. It needs to be left on for 2-3 min, which is usually possible to include in my routine. It doesn't weigh my hair down at all, in fact it feels as though it expands each shaft. Unfortunately it leaves my hair feeling coated, and even dry I can not easily get through without pulling, and when that happens, I get snapping breakage!!! It seems to steal elasticity from my hair. NO NO NO, Avalon!! Conditioner may be allowed to smell less than great, and even detangle less than well, but it must NEVER leave hair brittle!! It's only slightly cheaper than the average salon brand, to add insult to injury. Sorry to be the dissenter here, but it's just not working for me...


on 11/26/2005 12:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

What's not to love here? Almost identical ingredient wise to Pureology's overpriced line that I love, this conditioner is rich, thick, and you don't have to use a lot of it to get it to perform.

It undoes the damaged feeling from the shampoo of the same name (reviewed separately).

I will be repurchasing this conditioner and using it in my rotation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/7/2005 5:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Great conditioner, I use in conjunction with the matching shampoo. Lightly moisturizing but does not leave any deposits or flatten my layered locks. Great as a pre-conditioner detangler.


on 8/27/2005 1:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My Holy Grail Shampoo and conditioner when used together. Gives me volume, let's me curl my hair, no heavy weights, no silicones, no SLS. This is my when in doubt and I want a good hair day shampoo and conditioner it will never let me down.


on 3/20/2005 4:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this conditioner to go with the Ylang Ylang shampoo, and I have to say that it's much, much better than I was expecting (though yeah, the "glistening" claim is all hype, sadly). For those expecting a sweet floral scent (think Clairol Herbal Essences), you will be pretty disappointed. At first, it seems to smell kind of tart and herbal; then you realize that yes, this is actually what real flowers smell like! It does a great job of detangling my hair (which is pretty tough in general), and my hair is always soft, supple and hydrated after I use it :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top