Blistex • Medicated Lip Ointment • Lip Treatments

rated 4.3(236 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 cherries1 on 11/23/2014 1:29:00 PM more reviews by cherries1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Overall, the product gives good hydration. The white sheen it can sometimes create is pretty obnoxious. It's the first lip medication/balm I've ever used, so I've grown to love the little tingle it leaves on my lips upon first application. I'm giving it an overall 3 because although the hydration is decent, it doesn't do much long-term, and it doesn't last for more than an hour. I NEED good lip medications and balms in my life, and this is a lot better than most, but it's still not quite what I'm looking for. I would buy it again because it's so cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 babylima on 11/2/2014 10:49:00 AM more reviews by babylima

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

pro:quite minty.
con:not moisturizing enough, also leaves a white sheen so it must be applied carefully.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Janay on 10/12/2014 3:57:00 PM more reviews by Janay

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very good product and gets the job done. It's good for healing chapped lips overnight. But I'm not fond of the medicinal fragrance so it loses a lippie. I like some of the other Blistex products better and will buy them instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gabriellewhitehead on 8/26/2014 6:08:00 PM more reviews by gabriellewhitehead

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

During the summer, my lips got really dry and chapped and the skin between my nose and lip was extremely dry. After I used this 3 times a day for 2 days, my lips were back to normal and within 4 days they were better than they've ever been! I would defiantly recommend this product and I will defiantly buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 6/11/2014 11:47:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I tried to use this to heal my seriously chapped lips. Needless to say, it did not work. It had this sort of rebound effect that just made my lips worse. I had the same problem with Carmex. The more I used it the dryer my lips got and the more I needed to use it. Finally I gave it up. Now I use Nivea's A Kiss of Milk & Honey and lips have never looked or felt better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zee140 on 6/11/2014 7:01:00 AM more reviews by zee140

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this for years and it's perfect it makes my chapped lips go back to normal in almost one time after applying

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* larosedechanel on 6/6/2014 2:28:00 AM more reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I swear by Blistex as a brand in general & of course was not disappointed by their Medicated Lip Ointment. I get these for $3 at Walgreens. As advertised, it's the perfect product for cold sores & fever blisters. If you're like me & get fever blisters easily, you do need this in your lip treatment collection. Like all medicated Blistex, the medication in this is strong & soothes painful my lips if they're dry & injured. Like I do with Blistex's Medicated Lip Balm, what I do is apply some of this at the very first sign of a cold sore (when I feel the pain before I see the sore) & it prevents it from progressing. I like to double up & use this as a lipstick base, too. I put on just a little bit & let it sit for a few minutes to absorb, then apply my usual lip gloss or stick. I've used this product for years & it's a go-to, especially during the winter months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KimberlyM11 on 5/10/2014 12:43:00 PM more reviews by KimberlyM11

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use this before bed and in the morning. It works wonder but it doesnt give me the slippery lip moisturizer feeling, you probably know what Im talking about.
Whenever I want to use red lipstick, I put this on first, wait a few minutes for it to dry and than put lipstick on. It makes my lips look supersmooth even with lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BADKITTY13 on 4/10/2014 1:29:00 AM more reviews by BADKITTY13

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this stuff and I have tried every lip balm! Been using it for years! Love it under lipstick or gloss and before i go to bed! Have about 5 tubes laying around! Yup will keep buying!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brelig on 3/6/2014 7:18:00 AM more reviews by brelig

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product since I was a child, when I suffered from really large cold sores and it's what my mother gave me. Luckily, I rarely get cold sores anymore, but during the winter months, this magical product keeps my lips soft and hydrated. I apply this generously before I go to bed, and wake up with the softest lips and zero chapping or cracking. If I'm out in the wind for extended periods of time, I'll apply this to add a layer of protection, even under lipsticks. I'm not a fan of the medicated smell, or the mediciney taste. The applicator tip tends to get gunky. But the product inside the tube works wonders, making it easy to overlook those tiny issues. I've repurchased this innumerable times and will continue to do so for as long as they make it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Blistex products

More Lip Treatments products