Hermes Un Jardin sur le Nil

4.1

166 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/1/2015 10:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've always been one to collect perfume and although I have a few tried and true favorites, I love discovering new ones.

My mom bought me this one as a gift and it was definitely love at first scent.

It is light, breezy and fruity. A summery, beachy smell that makes me happy. It's isn't cloyingly sweet, lasts long subtle and pretty. I will be buying it again when I run out and I love that it isn't a scent that many have discovered.



on 7/14/2014 3:45:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The top notes are a gorgeous mango enriched with bright citrus and soft lotus floral in the background. The drydown is honeyed, balmy, a little waxy. The whole thing is dreamy, beautifully done and I can tell its expensive, as its complex and well rounded. However, the drydown is a but is a bit to cloying/amberish for me - what a shame! Lasting power is average, around 4 - 5 hours on me. If you want a longer lasting one from the series try Un Jardin sur le Toit, that lasted me all day.


on 5/8/2014 12:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love this perfume. I do not have a sophisticated nose and I have no idea about the base notes but I love how it smells both in the air and on my skin. Minus one lippy because it doesn't last much more than half a day so I have used my bottle so quickly! Still worth it for me because I am very fussy with perfumes and absolutely hate anything vanilla or especially 'girly' smelling.


on 4/28/2014 3:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'll start off by saying, this perfume doesn't last long on my skin (maybe 3 hrs., tops) and it's extremely expensive, which is disappointing. It's very green, grassy and crisp. I didn't get the tanginess that's mentioned in the description, but that's ok. I also don't get a clean smell either. To me, clean means soapy. This is far from soapy. It's very fresh, like freshly cut grass. If you don't like sweet or floral perfumes, this would be perfect for you. I like them all.

Update 5/5/14: I had to take off another lippy. I'm just so frustrated this doesn't last longer. Also, since the temperature has gotten hotter outside, the dry down has become off-putting. I had my co-worker wear it for a day to see if it was just me, and the exact same thing happened to her...it dissipated so much, and the grassiness started to smell like bug spray. Grrrr...I'd really like to take it back to Sephora and get something else.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2013 11:16:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This perfume was really exciting for me because I was able to smell some of the wonderful notes that people here talked about (even better on the second application), and it was a scent that really did change and evolve over the course of the day. It was also very different from anything else I have tried at this time.
It had the pleasant green fruit, grapefruit, and mild citrus aroma right at the beginning, but that mostly faded with drydown. I was in the car for drydown the first time I wore it and while I was enjoying the smell, I kept noticing a different (but still very pleasant) perfume smell and wondering if I somehow smelled it from someone else in another car! Of course it was me. This scent morphs into a pleasant powder scent on me and remains there for most of the duration. This is probably the same as the clean, soapy, or fresh shower smell that others noticed. The other notes only peek out now and then after the drydown until it is almost gone, and then the powder scent becomes less noticeable. I'm not sharp enough or familiar enough with perfumes to describe the last faint scents it gives up. I wish it lasted a bit longer. I had two applications to get through the full day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2013 12:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a fragrance you have to really try on and wait for the dry down. If you just spritz on tester paper or just do an air spray and judge, you will have the impression that it is just very green and citrusy. Actually, this perfume was in the men's section of the Duty Free when I traveled to Europe, so you get the idea. I don't really smell the fruity bit like some mentioned, and I know some find this just citrusy and green. And that was the impression I got as well. But as I waited 3 hours in the airport for my next flight, when I smelled the drydown, my god, it was sexy. I don't know how to describe it. It doesn't smell fruity on me, but a fresh woodsy, sexy scent - a more masculine version of Victoria's Secret Romance, which I loved, without too much spice, but feminine softness. Agad. It smells so good on me. I would maybe try the tester bit before purchase cause it is expensive- I think 81 euro for the 100 ml (at the duty free). Unfortunately, the scent doesn't last very long. Maybe 2 -3 hours. And the spray cap leaks a bit when sprayed. Really annoying.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2013 1:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Got this as a free sample with an order i purchased online. Its a fresh, zingy citrus sort of smell, sits nicely on my skin. I only wish the smell would last longer!


on 5/1/2013 5:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

As with other Jean-Claude Ellena scents so far, this grows on me with each wearing. This one has the good aspects of fruit notes--fresh, juicy, tasty, summery--without the bad ones (cloying, over-ripe). And a definite thumbs-up for the spicy wood/frankincense base. I'm considering getting more.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2013 12:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Very fresh and clean. The drydown is nice, and I prefer it to the top notes. I am enjoying my sample but this is not full bottle worthy to me.


on 2/2/2013 2:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

So far I’ve tried two fragrances from the Hermes jardin line: un jardin sur le nil and un jardin en mediterranee. Both fragrances open with a blast of bright, clean citrus and immediately one can understand that these are sibling composition. The perfumer, Jean-Claude Ellena, has cleverly crafted beautiful outdoor scenery full of depth and hidden treasures.

Un jardin sur le nil begins by presenting a beautiful green mango (with grapefruit) that dominates the composition. After 5-30 minutes on the skin, other aspects of the garden politely appear; most notably a holographic carrot flickers in and out. As the plants in the garden start to fade out, the base of musky-incense takes over and the floral aspect gains power.

Un jardin en mediterranee opens with citrus and beautiful, sweet evergreen. The fig is noticeable, but not remarkable. What is remarkable is the ghost of a salty sundrenched tomato permeating the entire garden. Although it takes longer for this composition to fade down (almost 2 hours), the remaining base notes are very similar those of a jardin sur le nil.

There is no denying Ellena’s genius; I can close my eyes and feel the sun and the gentle breeze in the salty air. My main issue with both jardins is how the fragrance develops over time on the skin. In both cases, the garden falls apart in an hour or two and all we are left with is a generic musky-perfume base. The garden is in perfect harmony when tested on paper ($) and this is usually a good sign that development on the skin will be either linear or result in disjointed decomposition. Both fragrances display characteristics of the latter, making the experience a little disappointing. I prefer un jardin en mediterranee because I love evergreen notes and I wonder if the addition of the woody basenotes of cedar could extend the dry down.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
No.5
No.5
944 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
139 Reviews
Si
Si
44 Reviews


Back to Top