Hermes • Un Jardin sur le Nil • Fragrances

rated 4.1(165 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 7/14/2014 3:45:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The top notes are a gorgeous mango enriched with bright citrus and soft lotus floral in the background. The drydown is honeyed, balmy, a little waxy. The whole thing is dreamy, beautifully done and I can tell its expensive, as its complex and well rounded. However, the drydown is a but is a bit to cloying/amberish for me - what a shame! Lasting power is average, around 4 - 5 hours on me. If you want a longer lasting one from the series try Un Jardin sur le Toit, that lasted me all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alexplastic on 5/8/2014 12:44:00 AM more reviews by alexplastic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this perfume. I do not have a sophisticated nose and I have no idea about the base notes but I love how it smells both in the air and on my skin. Minus one lippy because it doesn't last much more than half a day so I have used my bottle so quickly! Still worth it for me because I am very fussy with perfumes and absolutely hate anything vanilla or especially 'girly' smelling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lybarra118 on 4/28/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by Lybarra118

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'll start off by saying, this perfume doesn't last long on my skin (maybe 3 hrs., tops) and it's extremely expensive, which is disappointing. It's very green, grassy and crisp. I didn't get the tanginess that's mentioned in the description, but that's ok. I also don't get a clean smell either. To me, clean means soapy. This is far from soapy. It's very fresh, like freshly cut grass. If you don't like sweet or floral perfumes, this would be perfect for you. I like them all.

Update 5/5/14: I had to take off another lippy. I'm just so frustrated this doesn't last longer. Also, since the temperature has gotten hotter outside, the dry down has become off-putting. I had my co-worker wear it for a day to see if it was just me, and the exact same thing happened to her...it dissipated so much, and the grassiness started to smell like bug spray. Grrrr...I'd really like to take it back to Sephora and get something else.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lystessa on 9/24/2013 11:16:00 AM more reviews by Lystessa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This perfume was really exciting for me because I was able to smell some of the wonderful notes that people here talked about (even better on the second application), and it was a scent that really did change and evolve over the course of the day. It was also very different from anything else I have tried at this time.
It had the pleasant green fruit, grapefruit, and mild citrus aroma right at the beginning, but that mostly faded with drydown. I was in the car for drydown the first time I wore it and while I was enjoying the smell, I kept noticing a different (but still very pleasant) perfume smell and wondering if I somehow smelled it from someone else in another car! Of course it was me. This scent morphs into a pleasant powder scent on me and remains there for most of the duration. This is probably the same as the clean, soapy, or fresh shower smell that others noticed. The other notes only peek out now and then after the drydown until it is almost gone, and then the powder scent becomes less noticeable. I'm not sharp enough or familiar enough with perfumes to describe the last faint scents it gives up. I wish it lasted a bit longer. I had two applications to get through the full day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MUBeauty on 7/31/2013 12:36:00 AM more reviews by MUBeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a fragrance you have to really try on and wait for the dry down. If you just spritz on tester paper or just do an air spray and judge, you will have the impression that it is just very green and citrusy. Actually, this perfume was in the men's section of the Duty Free when I traveled to Europe, so you get the idea. I don't really smell the fruity bit like some mentioned, and I know some find this just citrusy and green. And that was the impression I got as well. But as I waited 3 hours in the airport for my next flight, when I smelled the drydown, my god, it was sexy. I don't know how to describe it. It doesn't smell fruity on me, but a fresh woodsy, sexy scent - a more masculine version of Victoria's Secret Romance, which I loved, without too much spice, but feminine softness. Agad. It smells so good on me. I would maybe try the tester bit before purchase cause it is expensive- I think 81 euro for the 100 ml (at the duty free). Unfortunately, the scent doesn't last very long. Maybe 2 -3 hours. And the spray cap leaks a bit when sprayed. Really annoying.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vw1983 on 5/3/2013 1:59:00 PM more reviews by vw1983

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Got this as a free sample with an order i purchased online. Its a fresh, zingy citrus sort of smell, sits nicely on my skin. I only wish the smell would last longer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lemonlye on 5/1/2013 5:06:00 PM more reviews by lemonlye

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

As with other Jean-Claude Ellena scents so far, this grows on me with each wearing. This one has the good aspects of fruit notes--fresh, juicy, tasty, summery--without the bad ones (cloying, over-ripe). And a definite thumbs-up for the spicy wood/frankincense base. I'm considering getting more.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sarah4250 on 3/22/2013 12:23:00 PM more reviews by sarah4250

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Very fresh and clean. The drydown is nice, and I prefer it to the top notes. I am enjoying my sample but this is not full bottle worthy to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gmstrack on 2/2/2013 2:44:00 PM more reviews by gmstrack

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So far Iíve tried two fragrances from the Hermes jardin line: un jardin sur le nil and un jardin en mediterranee. Both fragrances open with a blast of bright, clean citrus and immediately one can understand that these are sibling composition. The perfumer, Jean-Claude Ellena, has cleverly crafted beautiful outdoor scenery full of depth and hidden treasures.

Un jardin sur le nil begins by presenting a beautiful green mango (with grapefruit) that dominates the composition. After 5-30 minutes on the skin, other aspects of the garden politely appear; most notably a holographic carrot flickers in and out. As the plants in the garden start to fade out, the base of musky-incense takes over and the floral aspect gains power.

Un jardin en mediterranee opens with citrus and beautiful, sweet evergreen. The fig is noticeable, but not remarkable. What is remarkable is the ghost of a salty sundrenched tomato permeating the entire garden. Although it takes longer for this composition to fade down (almost 2 hours), the remaining base notes are very similar those of a jardin sur le nil.

There is no denying Ellenaís genius; I can close my eyes and feel the sun and the gentle breeze in the salty air. My main issue with both jardins is how the fragrance develops over time on the skin. In both cases, the garden falls apart in an hour or two and all we are left with is a generic musky-perfume base. The garden is in perfect harmony when tested on paper ($) and this is usually a good sign that development on the skin will be either linear or result in disjointed decomposition. Both fragrances display characteristics of the latter, making the experience a little disappointing. I prefer un jardin en mediterranee because I love evergreen notes and I wonder if the addition of the woody basenotes of cedar could extend the dry down.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shanx on 1/31/2013 9:00:00 PM more reviews by shanx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My search for a citrus scent has come to an end. I am in love.
I found that many of the citrus frags I tested reacted weirdly with my skin and the drydown was unpleasant. This is just divine from the opening to the end. My only small gripe would be the lack of longevity. Oh well good thing I just ordered a purse sized bottle to top up during the day;-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hermes products

More Fragrances products