Bobbi Brown • Pot Rouge for Lips and Cheeks - Calypso Coral • Blush

rated 4.4(95 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 rachael122 on 4/15/2014 11:17:00 AM more reviews by rachael122

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted a summery cream blush and decided to get this one after reading lots of reviews. When I went into Sephora to swatch it, I was extremely intimidated. In the pan, it looks very bright and pigmented. I wasn't sure how it would look on my fair skin, but I decided to get it anyways.
As a blush, I love this color! It sheers out a lot on the cheeks and leaves a really pretty coral color. It might be a little too sheer for people with darker skintones, but it works great for me. It stays put for several hours and I love how natural it looks. I also love the sleek packaging and I think the price is reasonable compared to similar cream blushes. I have sensitive skin and haven't noticed any breakouts or irritation from this product either.
That being said, I do like the color on my lips as well, but I don't like the texture much. It accentuates every dry spot and isn't super moisturizing. It could work well if you have very moisturized lips, but I think I'll stick to using it as a blush for now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Karlily on 12/7/2013 2:33:00 AM more reviews by Karlily

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

This is a light coral color that looks beautiful in the pan, I like a very natural look and find that a lot of powder blushes have a lot of glitter, so I was excited to try it out. While it doesn't have the glitter problem, it was just too sheer for my AA (NW45) skin to show up. It took a lot for me to even think I had a hint of color on, though it did look very natural (perhaps too natural). This will be going back to sephora.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mecepeda on 7/12/2013 6:14:00 PM more reviews by mecepeda

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I am presently kicking myself for not trying this fantastic blush earlier. Since my skin's on the oily side, I had been sticking to good powder blushes, thinking that something like pot rouge wouldn't work for my skin type (and a bad experience with Tarte gel blush didn't contribute to a change in mindset, either). I still wasn't really happy with the way that powder blush was laying on my foundation, though, especially when it's hot and humid - then it tends to look even worse, settling into my pores. So I had pretty much given up on blush, even though I love the fresh look of it. Enter Bobbi Brown pot rouge. As soon as I tried it, I knew that I had found the right product. It's a very pigmented rouge (but then again, Calypso Coral's the brightest color in the line) so a little bit rubbed on the apples of your cheeks with your fingertips is all that it takes. Wear time is excellent; it lasted several humid hours until I removed it, and the color stayed true. I would definitely recommend this shade to anyone with warm medium/tan skin (I am NC 35/40+, depending on the season). I'm also a big fan of NARS Amour, NARS Excite, and Illamasqua Hussy, to give you an idea of what color family Calypso Coral is in...I don't think I'll be going back to powder blush for the foreseeable future, though, because the natural flush of this pot rouge is the best blush I've tried, hands down. The sleek packaging is a plus, too. Obviously, I would repurchase and highly recommend.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 henrieka on 3/15/2013 3:38:00 PM more reviews by henrieka

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this blush! Perfect coral for my PPP skin. Stays put, and fades without looking patchy. I like the packaging, too - no extra space taken up by an applicator.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ahjinezz on 1/25/2013 9:34:00 PM more reviews by ahjinezz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I saw many good reviews here and I decided to purchase this product. At first i was a bit skeptical and worried because it seems not easy to blend and apply especially on my oily and combination skin. However it turned out to be My HG!

After applying it my colleagues notice my changes and said the color looks nice on my face! I decided to write a review so to share with everybody how great the product is... at least to me :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RunawayGirl on 12/17/2012 9:44:00 PM more reviews by RunawayGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really gorgeous color. The packaging has changed and so has the formulation. I love the texture, it's not sticky and doesn't make me look oily or caked. I like it on the lips as well which makes it a bonus for me because I didn't even know this was a multitasker before I bought it.
The rim/edge of the pan tends to collect dusts, also they put noticeably less product in the pan than they did in the pot, with same price. Last long on my cheeks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 christina001 on 9/15/2012 6:54:00 AM more reviews by christina001

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

If - like me - you are on the constant hunt for THE perfect coral for your lips - you may not need to look further and find it in this baby! My complexion is Natural in Bobbi's own line, NC30 in Mac. I have not found THE coral in any high or lower end lipstick. Quite a good match and much worn is Costa Chic, rubbed in or blotted (full on it's nice, but rather neon coral on me) and a LE, I believe, by Smashbox called Melondrama. All other raved corals look surprisingly pink or orange on me.

This Pot Rouge on the lips is the perfect matte coral shade for me. It's really nice as a blush, too, but I own coral blushes I love. The lippy was harder to find, and I found it in this unlikely cheek and lip product.

Great quality, too! Long lasting, feels nice on the skin. Will check out other colours.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariannepilgaard on 8/22/2012 8:17:00 AM more reviews by mariannepilgaard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this lively coral as a blush for summer. It looks very, very bright in the pan however with a light hand and stippling brush with further blending with fingers it brings instant life to my face (approx NC 30-35 during summertime). The formula is easy to work with (yes, you do need to blend this colour well) and the amount of product is huge. I have previously only used cream blushes from NARS and this formula is a bit drier. I like that there is no shimmer in this product as it makes it very office appropriate indeed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 thubbard on 11/12/2011 8:34:00 PM more reviews by thubbard

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this pot rouge quite a while ago. I do like the fact that a little goes a long way, however, like other reviewers have said, it is pretty hard to blend. If you get too much on your fingers/applicator/cheek, you are kind of screwed because it won't come off easily. What I've done is just use a tissue to kind of wipe it off if I got too much on, but i feel like that is irritating on my skin to be rubbing it so hard. So, this isn't really a product to be using when you have any blemishes or pimples in the cheek area, because you'll end up rubbing off your concealer when applying the blush.
Now, I don't completely hate it for that reason, you just have to learn how to apply it and be very conservative. The upside of this is that once it's on, it stays. Another downfall is that while the packaging looks nice, i always seem to get dirt/fuzzies from clothes in it. I've tried to wipe them out, but it's no use, it's like i just mush them into the blush more. This doesn't really interfere with using it, it just bothers me. a lot.
Also, this is a splurge for me, $24 for a blush, so that is something I don't like and would make me not repurchase (along with the blending issues). The next time I buy an expensive blush it will probably be Tarte Cheek Stain, also $24, because of the natural ingredients, better application, and more product for the price.

UPDATE: 3.27.2012
I recently tried the pot rouge at a Nordstrom, and it seems like they totally changed their formula because it was way creamier than mine ever was. I still probably would go for the Tarte Cheek Stain, but I think they improved this product a lot since when I bought it. And, it's in a compact style instead of a pot with a jar that comes all the way off, which is kind of nice for on the go application.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xtinahb on 10/28/2011 12:10:00 PM more reviews by xtinahb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A vibrant coral with strong pink tones on my NC30/C4 light tan Asian complexion. It has a dry powdery texture, same as the rest of Bobbi's Pot Rouges, which I apply with my MAC 130 or pat with my middle finger and blend with the ring finger. It finishes smooth with zero stickiness and lasts a solid 8 hours on top of my base. Not really a "natural" look, but a very cutesy bright coral cheek, nice for summer or just when I haven't slept enough, lol. I happen to like the dry touch of these pot rouges and when using the brush, blending is not an issue. More challenging with fingers, yes, but fingers absolutely works in a pinch. Love this range of cream cheek blushers!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Blush products