Montale • Black Aoud • Fragrances

rated 4.1(47 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hisquiggle on 12/8/2012 6:38:00 AM more reviews by hisquiggle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight   Eyes: Black    

I've tried a number of Montale's aouds, and while they're each lovely in their own right, Black Aoud is by far my favorite and has worked its way into my everyday fragrances. On my skin, it's a simple yet intoxicating blend of aoud, smoky incense, and rose. Everytime I smell it, I feel like I'm on an exotic vacation. I don't find it too heavy or offensive to wear during the day or in the summertime, despite the strong sillage and heavy aoud. In fact, my husband described Black Aoud as "clean" when he smelled it on me, but my skin tends to take the skank out of most scents (for example, Serge Lutens' famous "ball sweat perfume" Muscs Koublai Khan smells tame on me). I actually find the aoud in Montale's other aoud fragrances like Red Aoud, Queen Roses or even Moon Aoud to be more medicinal and pungent. Black Aoud is a more rounded and rich fragrance that doesn't smell as sharp as the others . It's one of those fragrances that'll up your sex appeal whether you're male or female, young or old.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tntntn on 10/11/2011 7:27:00 AM more reviews by tntntn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely mental, but a classic. I wore this to a wedding once. That was probably a weird thing to do, but it was the sort of wedding where the bride wore a Vivienne Westwood black dress and Louboutins. The bride stopped me as soon as I arrived and said "OH MY GOD what is that perfume it's amazing". The other person who used to love it was my ex-boss who was actually, literally, a psychopath.

It's a completely impractical fragrance in so far as your boyfriend and most nice men will hate it, sexy Robert Downey Jr alcoholics will love it, you shouldn't really wear it to weddings or to work, and it costs 99,000. AMAZING.

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nickylily on 1/4/2011 11:55:00 PM more reviews by Nickylily

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is intense and purely sensual. If you wait about 30 minutes from the initial camphor blast opening, you suddenly get incense, spice, sweet yet dry wood and real, full bloom roses. Very strong at first, but then it calms down and lasts forever with a lot of woodsmoke in the dry down. Cleared my sinuses after i smelled it up close to early on before the dry down. My first sample I could not detect rose, even in the dry down. Then I tried it again and the roses were there. Black Aoud is still more incense and warm wood than Montale's queen roses and the sweeter/orangy Aoud Damascus, but I am not sure which is my fav. Black Aoud has more spicy warmth and incense. Queen and Damascus feel safer, but I don't always want safe. I highly recommend trying this as a sample if you like dark rose scents, woody, spicy, leather or attar scents.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SniffingAround on 11/15/2010 9:50:00 PM more reviews by SniffingAround

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Hold onto your hats, cause this one packs quite a wallop. Amazing, dirty, delicious aoud--but spray it on with a light hand because it has heavyweight sillage and lasting power. Get it on clothes and it's there for ages! There's a hint of rose and orange in there too, to give it a bit of sparkle. Technically designated as a men's fragrance, but women can definitely wear it (though I would absolutely follow any man wearing this home--really).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 whitecountess on 7/21/2010 7:46:00 PM more reviews by whitecountess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The Truth?
Wearing Montale Black Aoud is like having an impossibly gorgeous woman cross the room, softly kiss you, and then throw a drink in your face. It is hot and it is BOLD.

You will LOVE it, or HATE it, but if you are a true perfume enthusiast, you've gotta try it!
It has the rose note from Diptyque's 'L'Ombre dans L'Eau' and the leather note from Chanel's 'Cuir de Russie'. Then add wood and masses of sex appeal!

After you (sparingly!) spritz it, you will not even know what has happened to you for close to fifty minutes. It is just so strong. But then, the journey begins.......

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* suzi2qs on 6/7/2010 10:29:00 PM more reviews by suzi2qs

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Montale has created a beast and Black Aoud is thy name! Raw, unbridled sexuality in a little black bottle. This is as subtle as a catagory 5 hurricane with just about as much humanity. This fragrances rocks, like the bitch is back, strangle hold, rock you like a hurricane and the train kept a-rolling all night long.
The simple list of notes: Cambodian oud, Indonesian patchouli leaves over a combination of mandarine, musk and rose. But as they say in AA, simple is not always easy. Nope. This one blew out my senses at first try. Never thinking I could wear this, I sprayed on my pulse points, slipped my little sample into a box and walked around in a state of confusion for 12+ hours. No, I couldn't possibly do this one. By the end of the day, I had, to my dismay and confusion, collected 7 compliments and 2 inquiries as to what I was wearing and wear it could be purchased. A waiter at least half my age asked me if I was married. Is this weird? No, this is Black Aoud. It opens with a blast of "what the hell is this?" bursting through strong, healthy roses ready to cross pollenate to preserve their kind, and yes, nice earthy patchouli. Ok, the sample came back out of the box. I have worn this alone, I have layered it with simple rose fragrances (wow) and with skanky musk oils (I'm a freight train, feeling no pain). Yes, I bought a full bottle. This is not a fragrance for shrinking violets, girly girls or prissy socialites. Lets put it on exotic dancers, tugboat captains, beautiful and larger than life drag queens and serious fragrance junkies. This is Angeline Jolie, Steven Tyler, Gordon Gecko, Joan Crawford, Satan's unscrupulous lawyer and some ridiculously handsome, filthy rich Sultan sprawled out and spent after an opulent orgy. Damn. Glad I can wear this. Hope you can too. Test before you invest. The beast is not for everyone.

37 out of 37 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TheEmpress on 3/12/2010 7:33:00 PM more reviews by TheEmpress

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This fragrance screams Very Loud! Best for formal nights.Still to loud for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kishwer on 3/2/2010 3:34:00 PM more reviews by kishwer

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

As they say it really is something else! I am from the indian continent and have smelt spices, attars and others before. This stuff is very different it is strong!! You get black dark dying rose ( desperate to live another day it does its best to fight) sandalwood, aoud and mmm something i cant put my finger on. The scent plays with me sometimes it is musky dark rose other times i smell aoud and sandalwood. Definately one to try before you buy. Its like marmite. love it or hate it. I love it.
White aoud was a little softer and muskier ok but not all that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SmellieKat on 2/17/2010 8:14:00 PM more reviews by SmellieKat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Black Aoud is an adventure in a bottle. I love White Aoud as well, but it's a little too "vanilla" in the drydown, even though it is an interesting, weird-ish vanilla. When I first tried Black Aoud, I hated it, almost scrubbed it, thought it was Lysol/Pinesol/Pledge in a bottle. Put it away for months. Tried again later and found the soapy/incense/rose/aoud absolutely magical. A woman (or a man) must have a few miles on them to pull this off - it's not exactly mainstream, nor is it 20 years old. But it's hot as hell; masculine and ultra feminine at the same time. Surprising and adventurous. Like, "oh, my god, I could never wear this" kind of adventurous. But then you wear it and fall in love. Would I wear it to the office? Hell, yes, because I'm the boss. Would I wear it to a wine tasting? Probably not. Would I wear it on a romantic date with my husband? Of course. One "encounters" Black Aoud and must meet it with equal confidence to appreciate the experience.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ellizam on 9/18/2009 4:20:00 PM more reviews by ellizam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I realize that, per se, this costs the earth. However I ticked the price at less than the earth because, as with many Montales (and none more than this), a little goes way way way way far.


I am stunned that I didn't review this earlier -- I was one of the first on the Black Aoud train and honestly, I'm not sure how much I can add to the discussion. Yes, this is very strong, yes, a light hand is all. Yes, this is another of the drydown fragrances -- you MUST let it dry down for at least 15 minutes before you wear it around any human without anosmia.


I can see how people parse leather out of this, though I always smelled it as bitter, dry, rich oud with a labdanum shift. I didn't take it in as rose, I think because the aoud shifts the rose so much. But now I parse for rose specifically, yes, this is the rose of the really good essential oil rose. Not the cheap fragrance oil rose knock off, or the inexpensive essential oil rose (you know that one, pretty but much sweeter, more like tea rose at times). This is the dark, almost dry one. And wierdly, once I read it in the notes and look for it, there IS mandarine orange and it's beautiful -- it's what makes the rose work, I think. The sour/aromatic quality of the mandarine orange pulls together the sour/aromatic qualities of the aoud and the rose.


So what can I say about Black Aoud that's new? I got this in Paris. I had gotten samps of Black Aoud before and thought "feh," and didn't like them. Then in the Paris store, I bought something else and they gave me a couple of huge samples of this, among other things. They are canny people, those Paris Montalians, because I took this home, actually put it on my skin, said to myself "oh yeah, didn't like," left it alone, and fifteen minutes later was looking up when the Montale Boutique opened so I could go in and buy the biggest bottle they had.


It's the drydown -- warm, almost laundry-ish in its snuggliness, but with a rich, smoky, edginess. Strong, familiar (rose) yet strange (aoud), seemingly simple (few ingrediants) but the ingrediants themselves are complex and shifting. This also layers exquisitely. It's strong enough to rescue you from any awful thing you may have sprayed on and can't get off, and yet layers in exquisite, fun ways with soft notes. Lemon, lily, gardenia, more labdanum, vanilla, amber, La Myrrhe, #5, vetiver, pretty much everything I've layered this with has moved beautifully with it.


I will say that I would never wear this in a professional situation, or not unless it had had several hours to dry down after a VERY light spray. This is a Perfume Statement, money in a bottle, attention getting and very opinionated, and in today's scent-neutral workplace this would be a very bad plan.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Montale products

More Fragrances products