Montale • Black Aoud • Fragrances

rated 4.0(48 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Aimbl on 10/21/2014 9:53:00 PM more reviews by Aimbl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Originally my first impression, from a generous sized decant, was an astringent, medicinal sharp citric rose oud opening that lasts on my particular skin chemistry for around 30 minutes. The second or third time I tried this I wondered if what some reviewers call medicinal could be interpreted by others as a thin sharp wine accord (young sharp new world white wine) combined with cedar (perhaps that is the oud iodine effect ?) with a subtle rose rising in the aftermath. The sharp quality and the late soft rose appearance calls FM Noir Epices, to mind (though they are otherwise not similar).

Anytime reviews of a fragrance mention either leather or citrus, I pay attention because I sometimes have issues with these notes on my skin (Piguets Bandit is too phenolic; terre de Hermes and eau de Hadrian too candied or functional cleaner). With Black Oud, perhaps, if I strain hard, I can detect a scent a bit of leather like new car smell (but only because I am looking for it and that might be the synthetic note some reviewers mention) No problem with citrus in Black Oud.

The main reason why I give Black oud three stars is that after a couple of hours, a spray of my decant (I am an under applier who generally prefers to dab), my DH or I can only detect a surprisingly faint skin scent (a very nice lemon rose wood scent a tad soapy). But, Black Oud is not the sugar free, non gourmand dark rose patchouli scent for which I have been searching. (I ruled out Kurdjians relatively sweet Lumiere Noire and lady Vengeance). I don't find POAL and some Amouage rose oud patchouli particularly evocative of dark rose, but I don't ascribe to the notion that a modern rose chypre or chypre oriental is dark simply because of non rose accords like incense Amouage Lyric man or woman, Tauer's Une Rose Chypre, Incense Rose, etc.; tobacco or animalics (Lutens Fumerie Turque, MKK).

So, IMO, if you are looking for a less controversial rose patchouli oud, it's easier, albeit more expensive, to wear POAL, which my nose interprets as rose plus cedar. (However the bargain Gres cabaret - which I like on its own merits- or Perles de Lalique could conceivably stand in). A dark Rose Patchouli is my older 50 Ml bottle of Voleurs de Rose, the least sweet, until of course you try something like vintage aromatics elixir, which is arguably more of a bitter herbal chypre with rose undertone. So, Voleurs de Roses gives similar satisfaction with a darker, rounder, fuller flavor from plum and nutty notes. An older, reformulated (post 2001) extrait of Caron femme can also sub in as an unsweetened fruity rose with amber, as could original ungaro diva or EL knowing vintage extrait. When I want a no brainer rose, that is more rose than patchouli or fruit, I would pick Une Rose (my reference rose that sparked my damascene conversion from several decades of hating all rose scents). A mossier rose is vintage l'arte di gucci; to a lesser extent Kurdjians Rose Barbare (for guerlain); modern Caron Or et Noir; or my grail, vintage original Caron 1950s extrait Or et Noir.

Since I have a sizable decant of Black Oud, I will continue to wear it on days I am working at home

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hisquiggle on 12/8/2012 6:38:00 AM more reviews by hisquiggle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight   Eyes: Black    

I've tried a number of Montale's aouds, and while they're each lovely in their own right, Black Aoud is by far my favorite and has worked its way into my everyday fragrances. On my skin, it's a simple yet intoxicating blend of aoud, smoky incense, and rose. Everytime I smell it, I feel like I'm on an exotic vacation. I don't find it too heavy or offensive to wear during the day or in the summertime, despite the strong sillage and heavy aoud. In fact, my husband described Black Aoud as "clean" when he smelled it on me, but my skin tends to take the skank out of most scents (for example, Serge Lutens' famous "ball sweat perfume" Muscs Koublai Khan smells tame on me). I actually find the aoud in Montale's other aoud fragrances like Red Aoud, Queen Roses or even Moon Aoud to be more medicinal and pungent. Black Aoud is a more rounded and rich fragrance that doesn't smell as sharp as the others . It's one of those fragrances that'll up your sex appeal whether you're male or female, young or old.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tntntn on 10/11/2011 7:27:00 AM more reviews by tntntn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely mental, but a classic. I wore this to a wedding once. That was probably a weird thing to do, but it was the sort of wedding where the bride wore a Vivienne Westwood black dress and Louboutins. The bride stopped me as soon as I arrived and said "OH MY GOD what is that perfume it's amazing". The other person who used to love it was my ex-boss who was actually, literally, a psychopath.

It's a completely impractical fragrance in so far as your boyfriend and most nice men will hate it, sexy Robert Downey Jr alcoholics will love it, you shouldn't really wear it to weddings or to work, and it costs 99,000. AMAZING.

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nickylily on 1/4/2011 11:55:00 PM more reviews by Nickylily

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is intense and purely sensual. If you wait about 30 minutes from the initial camphor blast opening, you suddenly get incense, spice, sweet yet dry wood and real, full bloom roses. Very strong at first, but then it calms down and lasts forever with a lot of woodsmoke in the dry down. Cleared my sinuses after i smelled it up close to early on before the dry down. My first sample I could not detect rose, even in the dry down. Then I tried it again and the roses were there. Black Aoud is still more incense and warm wood than Montale's queen roses and the sweeter/orangy Aoud Damascus, but I am not sure which is my fav. Black Aoud has more spicy warmth and incense. Queen and Damascus feel safer, but I don't always want safe. I highly recommend trying this as a sample if you like dark rose scents, woody, spicy, leather or attar scents.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SniffingAround on 11/15/2010 9:50:00 PM more reviews by SniffingAround

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Hold onto your hats, cause this one packs quite a wallop. Amazing, dirty, delicious aoud--but spray it on with a light hand because it has heavyweight sillage and lasting power. Get it on clothes and it's there for ages! There's a hint of rose and orange in there too, to give it a bit of sparkle. Technically designated as a men's fragrance, but women can definitely wear it (though I would absolutely follow any man wearing this home--really).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* whitecountess on 7/21/2010 7:46:00 PM more reviews by whitecountess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The Truth?
Wearing Montale Black Aoud is like having an impossibly gorgeous woman cross the room, softly kiss you, and then throw a drink in your face. It is hot and it is BOLD.

You will LOVE it, or HATE it, but if you are a true perfume enthusiast, you've gotta try it!
It has the rose note from Diptyque's 'L'Ombre dans L'Eau' and the leather note from Chanel's 'Cuir de Russie'. Then add wood and masses of sex appeal!

After you (sparingly!) spritz it, you will not even know what has happened to you for close to fifty minutes. It is just so strong. But then, the journey begins.......

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* suzi2qs on 6/7/2010 10:29:00 PM more reviews by suzi2qs

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Montale has created a beast and Black Aoud is thy name! Raw, unbridled sexuality in a little black bottle. This is as subtle as a catagory 5 hurricane with just about as much humanity. This fragrances rocks, like the bitch is back, strangle hold, rock you like a hurricane and the train kept a-rolling all night long.
The simple list of notes: Cambodian oud, Indonesian patchouli leaves over a combination of mandarine, musk and rose. But as they say in AA, simple is not always easy. Nope. This one blew out my senses at first try. Never thinking I could wear this, I sprayed on my pulse points, slipped my little sample into a box and walked around in a state of confusion for 12+ hours. No, I couldn't possibly do this one. By the end of the day, I had, to my dismay and confusion, collected 7 compliments and 2 inquiries as to what I was wearing and wear it could be purchased. A waiter at least half my age asked me if I was married. Is this weird? No, this is Black Aoud. It opens with a blast of "what the hell is this?" bursting through strong, healthy roses ready to cross pollenate to preserve their kind, and yes, nice earthy patchouli. Ok, the sample came back out of the box. I have worn this alone, I have layered it with simple rose fragrances (wow) and with skanky musk oils (I'm a freight train, feeling no pain). Yes, I bought a full bottle. This is not a fragrance for shrinking violets, girly girls or prissy socialites. Lets put it on exotic dancers, tugboat captains, beautiful and larger than life drag queens and serious fragrance junkies. This is Angeline Jolie, Steven Tyler, Gordon Gecko, Joan Crawford, Satan's unscrupulous lawyer and some ridiculously handsome, filthy rich Sultan sprawled out and spent after an opulent orgy. Damn. Glad I can wear this. Hope you can too. Test before you invest. The beast is not for everyone.

39 out of 39 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TheEmpress on 3/12/2010 7:33:00 PM more reviews by TheEmpress

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This fragrance screams Very Loud! Best for formal nights.Still to loud for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kishwer on 3/2/2010 3:34:00 PM more reviews by kishwer

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

As they say it really is something else! I am from the indian continent and have smelt spices, attars and others before. This stuff is very different it is strong!! You get black dark dying rose ( desperate to live another day it does its best to fight) sandalwood, aoud and mmm something i cant put my finger on. The scent plays with me sometimes it is musky dark rose other times i smell aoud and sandalwood. Definately one to try before you buy. Its like marmite. love it or hate it. I love it.
White aoud was a little softer and muskier ok but not all that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SmellieKat on 2/17/2010 8:14:00 PM more reviews by SmellieKat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Black Aoud is an adventure in a bottle. I love White Aoud as well, but it's a little too "vanilla" in the drydown, even though it is an interesting, weird-ish vanilla. When I first tried Black Aoud, I hated it, almost scrubbed it, thought it was Lysol/Pinesol/Pledge in a bottle. Put it away for months. Tried again later and found the soapy/incense/rose/aoud absolutely magical. A woman (or a man) must have a few miles on them to pull this off - it's not exactly mainstream, nor is it 20 years old. But it's hot as hell; masculine and ultra feminine at the same time. Surprising and adventurous. Like, "oh, my god, I could never wear this" kind of adventurous. But then you wear it and fall in love. Would I wear it to the office? Hell, yes, because I'm the boss. Would I wear it to a wine tasting? Probably not. Would I wear it on a romantic date with my husband? Of course. One "encounters" Black Aoud and must meet it with equal confidence to appreciate the experience.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Montale products

More Fragrances products