Acca Kappa • White Moss EDT • Fragrances

rated 4.0(28 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Jowina on 12/12/2008 6:04:00 AM more reviews by Jowina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

One of my favorites. I wear this when I want to feel simple but beatiful. The scent is not cloying at all but stays in your skin. Not very long lasting though. Among all my scents, this is the one I spray most often. The bottle is very simple which just matches the simplicity of this scent. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Aquairidescence on 5/21/2008 3:34:00 AM more reviews by Aquairidescence

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My friend and I were browsing some stores a few weeks ago and came across an Acca Kappa. I tried on some of their perfumes and fell in love with this one. The salesgirl told us that the secret to the scent is whether or not it goes with your natural scent. It can either enhance or clash with your own scent so you can either love it or hate it on yourself. It just so happened to enhance my natural smell and it smells almost like a light floral soap on me. My significant other doesn't like strong scents on me so it was perfect. It lasts a few hours, which is just enough for an evening out on the town and I like that it's made from essential oils. Brilliant!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bradamant on 2/25/2008 2:06:00 AM more reviews by Bradamant

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is the one and only perfume I have ever truly fallen head-over-heels in love with. My boss came back from a trip to Vegas with his family. At the Venetian he bought a variety of Acca Kappa colognes for the women in the office. He presented me with Muschio Bianco saying since it was unisex, I might like it. How well he knows me! I don't like flowery, cloying scents and am, in fact, allergic to many of the noisome bucketfulls so many women (and now men) like to inflict on the general populace. I was shocked to later read - well after my love affair with the scent commenced - that it is based on lavendar as well as juniper. I have never liked lavendar in anything else but the balance of these ingedients is comforting, energizing and simply beautiful. I don't get the "musk" effect about which so many write, but I do experience the woodsy, rainforest-after-a-thunderstorm, very slightly peppery warmth. It seems to have staying power from the delighted hugs I've received hours after applying it even though I am no longer consciously aware of it myself. I've even had strangers who caught a slight whiff as I passed very close to them follow me to ask the name of the scent. I wear it year round, day and evening. I suppose it could work on a man, who knows with individual chemistry? However I feel very feminine when wearing it. Whether I am hiking in the Sigh Sierras or ballroom dancing it is a glorious scent. I do believe it would smell very differently on different people so would recommend a trial before buying. Also, be aware that the scent does change as it settles into the skin so give it a chance beyond the initial spritz. I've even gotten my mother hooked on it now as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lisaandtheword on 8/15/2007 3:01:00 PM more reviews by Lisaandtheword

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I smell like air! nice fresh air like when I'm hiking, novel to me but no reason for me to wear it. I like more scent to my scents! to each her own

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 5/20/2007 3:42:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think the reviewers below are correct; I thought "muschio" was "musk" as well, not "moss".



This is very much like rubbing alcohol upon initial application. That goes away after a few seconds and I get a really soapy (like professional laundry detergent, which has a sharp, unmistakable scent that is not too strong or unpleasant, actually) fragrance with something that's a little foresty--like an icy brook running over pine boughs, fresh mountain air, a touch of cool lavender.



Not really musk on me, despite the name--much, much lighter than Kiehl's Original Musk Oil (which was a little old lady to me), not as sweet and damp as Egyptian Musk and not as light + floral as Philosophy's Amazing Grace. It is closer in spirit to Pure Grace, but more complex and mature. Pure Grace is Ivory Soap and Muschio Bianco is an adult male, freshly showered and shaved, rolling up the sleeves of a crisply starched oxford shirt. So to me, this is a bit masculine, but it's not cologne-y. Instead, it's just the right combination of cleanly fresh soapiness and cool, herbal citrus with the faintest suggestion of powder (similar to Burt's Bees lettuce complexion soap for me). It also doesn't have that nauseating aquatic note that is so common in unisex/male fragrances. It's pure and subtle and not headache-inducing at all (well, at least if you dab it on--I have a decant in a rollerball vial).



I sniffed and sniffed my sample; I couldn't stop sniffing--it's lovely. I think if a man were wearing this, I would follow him off of a cliff.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joy2uandme on 3/27/2007 12:23:00 PM more reviews by joy2uandme

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't get folks' references to a "skin scent." To me this smells more aquatic than anything which is fine--I love good aquatic scents. The beginning is lovely and is definitely juniper, lavender and maybe a little sage--all good. Then it goes kind of in the same vein as Bath and Body works frag from a couple of years ago that was aqua and supposed to be energizing blah, blah(name escapes me). It was aquatic in nature and very summery. This is nearly the same. After this is on for awhile, I then get the faintest hint of musk which I guess is the skin scent folks are referring to but on me this is full blown for hours and it's pretty powerful. I find it's very long lasting. It's pretty but if you're expecting an Amazing Grace spin-off or Carriere you're going to be disappointed. But it's fine for what it is. If you're looking for more of an aquatic summer scent then go for it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SensualSusanna on 3/27/2007 11:08:00 AM more reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Let me preface this review with my sister wears White Moss and on her skin, it's pleasant and lovely. On me -- well -- it smells like Ogilvie home perm! If you are old enough to remember those home perm kits -- the instructions specifically prohibited washing your hair for 48 hours after perming. So you had to live with that wretched smell for days! I remember the stench on my sheets at night that prevented me from sleeping. I actually stayed home from high school for two days as to not scare away any perspective prom dates with my odiferous poodle doo! One spritz of White Moss on my skin produced a vile chemical inducing nightmare of a flashback smell that just made my head spin back to the late 70's; my gag reflex sputter and my eyes well up and tear; 'twas a bad trip of those home perming days! Alas, let me remind you -- on my sister it's lovely and soft. Just goes to show you -- it's chemistry, chemistry, chemistry. ALWAYS, try before you buy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shadow_Witch on 1/29/2007 7:07:00 PM more reviews by Shadow_Witch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It's light and airy juniper leaves and berries with a mossy drydown. It's lovely and unobtrusive and very refreshing during the dog days of summer. In response to a reviewer down the page, I am fluent in Italian and you are correct, muschio is musk. It is also the word for moss. I think the fragrance was in fact translated correctly because it is clearly not an animalic musk. There is also a musky-smelling moss called Muscari moschatum. Musky moss. :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dustyrox on 1/29/2007 3:26:00 PM more reviews by dustyrox

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this fragrance a lot especially when it's first sprayed. I only gave it 4 lippies because it doesn't have much staying power. I'm surprised to see this fragrance marketed a lot towards a man because I find it more on the feminine side. But it is not at all powdery like The Body Shop's White Musk which I can't stand. It's just simply very fresh and clean smelling, but as others mentioned, it does not smell like laundry detergent. Maybe it smells more like an herbal shampoo instead. Anyway, it's so unobtrusive that it's a great fragrance to wear at the office.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chattykathy on 1/28/2007 6:43:00 PM more reviews by chattykathy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a very pleasant clean soapy scent which could be worn by a man or a woman. While is is musky it's not musky in a bad way at all, it's light and refreshing. This is a perfect scent to wear in very hot weather. I can't imagine anyone really hating this. It may not be your style but in the realm of clean scents this is top notch.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Acca Kappa products

More Fragrances products