Becca • Opal Shimmering Skin Perfector • Highlighters

rated 4.3(70 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Milena on 1/12/2015 5:10:00 PM more reviews by Milena

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is the product to use to achieve the Jennifer Lopez glow. I picked up the small tube of this in the checkout line at Sephora, since the large bottle is so much more product than I need. Opal is a peachy champagne liquid highlighter. The shimmer isn't glittery or over the top; it's very subtle and this can be built up to achieve the look you want. You can mix it into foundation, or dab some on the tops of cheekbones, brow bones, and above the cupid's bow. However you use it, the result is the same: a stunning angelic glow. I'm very tanned (Armani LSF in 8, around NW33-35) and this looks natural on me; lighter skin tones should try Moonstone or Pearl if this shows up too dark or peachy (anyone who isn't getting a highlight from this isn't using a light enough shade).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cath12 on 1/8/2015 5:24:00 AM more reviews by Cath12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love love LOVE this product. I have used several highlighters (What's UP!, Revlon, Smashbox just to name a few) and this gets me the closest to looking like I'm sitting by candlelight as I can possibly get.
If I REALLY want to amp it up, I apply Mary LouManizer on the bottom and dab Opal on top. It photographs sooo beautifully.
The only thing I'd change is the packaging as it's impossible to control how much comes out and you end up wasting too much product....you only need the tiniest amount.
For reference, I have Opal and Moonstone and I'm NC45. I can wear either but prefer Opal as it's warmer then Moonstone..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Wrosie on 1/4/2015 3:36:00 PM more reviews by Wrosie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased the Becca "Glow to Go" pack which comes with 3 mini liquid highlighters in Pearl, Opal & Champagne gold. I do love the colors but when I applied it to my skin I barely saw the highlighter, unless I build it on. My skin shade is Mac NC40 or NARS Barcelona and the highlighter barely showed, because the consistency is pretty watery and my skin just absorbed the product. Furthermore, when I apply my blush and then the highlighter on my cheek bones my blush seemed like it was fading away due to the watery based finish. Even when I apply the highlighter to my brow bone it was fading away my eyeshadow! I love the colors but overall I don't like the consistency and it is not as vibrant as I want it. I will still use the product maybe for a subtle less make up look with no blush & it would probably be great for summer. Overall I won't buy the shimmering skin finish, next time I will get the pressed powder in Moonshine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 itaJ on 12/22/2014 7:26:00 PM more reviews by itaJ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best highlighter I've tried thus far. It's beautiful, versatile, and lasts forever - a little goes a long way. I've been using a deluxe sample of it for over a year now (oops?) and it's still kicking. I typically pat it onto the tops of my cheekbones, nose, and cupids bow with my fingers, but it also looks great when mixed with moisturizer and worn under foundation. The resulting look is perfectly glowy in all the right places. Opal is a nice warm peachy-gold shade, though I'm thinking of trying one of the others once I/if I ever manage to finish my current sample. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 clarissa90 on 12/16/2014 11:52:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm in the minority, but this product did not work for me at all. It does not go on evenly on my dry skin and the shimmer is very obvious. Looks like I will stick with the Burberry Fresh Glow. I will not repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 12/16/2014 10:12:00 AM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this quite a while ago after seeing Lisa Eldridge use it. Even though I'm no Lisa Eldridge, I'm not terrible at applying my makeup, yet I have never liked the results when I've used this. When I use it as a highlighter, I feel like it just highlights my pores. When I mix it with foundation, or use it as a primer for foundation to get a dewy glow, I just look like my face is greasy in random places--no glow, no luminosity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amra1221 on 11/28/2014 6:57:00 PM more reviews by amra1221

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I've actually become super obsessed with this highlighter. It's really rare for me to use a product every single day for a whole month straight. I found that the best way to apply this is by adding some of the product on a flat brush and then blending it. It doesn't disturb my blush it bronzer when I use this method.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dibbun on 10/28/2014 8:32:00 PM more reviews by dibbun

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Cruely ironic: fifteen or so years ago my only goal in life was to have matte skin. Now, a little older and not any wiser, I've become obsessed with having dewy, glowy skin with rosy cheeks, starting with the Guerlain balls hype.

Becca: I swatched forever at the store and loved all the colors, but on my NC25ish, yellow undertoned skin Opal looked the most natural. Rose gold would be beautiful on the cheeks (IMO too pink to use it all over) - I may invest in that one day too. The pressed powder was soft and lovely, buildable, and if you had a good many of the colors and didn't mind looking super duper glowy, I could see contouring a little with them. Compared to the liquids, the compacts had slightly better pay off and wouldn't smear whatever you were dusting it over.

The price horrified me. For something that's a highlighter, this was super expensive, even if you get a ton. I agonized on getting the little sample size as I really had wanted a powder, but 12$ vs 38$ was so much more swallowable.

I really like the liquid; more than I thought I would. I mix it with my BB cream if going out in the pm for a very pretty glow, and dot it over my cheekbones everyday. I still use a little Benefit Highbeam - it is more silvery/white/pink and shimmery than Becca, which is a super subtle, sheer natural gold. Someday I may get the powder to see how they compare.

The gold glow is more intense of a pay off than Too Faced Candlelight, which I really like as a finishing powder all over. Together the effect is luminous and photographs really beautifully. (Overkill? Probably.)

Of note: Benefit has lasted forever, at something like 12mL for 30$, and the Becca small size is 15mL for 12$. Not bad!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashli185 on 10/12/2014 2:29:00 PM more reviews by ashli185

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought the travel sized version of this from Sephora after swatching while I waited in line. So gorgeous and the $12 tube will last for ages. I use a tiny amount mixed in with my tinted moisturizer and get tons of compliments on my "glow". Love :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Memz888 on 9/23/2014 7:31:00 PM more reviews by Memz888

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful highlighter for olive or darker skin tones. I love the natural glow it gives my cheeks and a little really goes a long way. I have given 2 for value as I think the packaging could be better for such an expensive product. Really enjoying using this though - I will repurchase when this runs out ( which I'm not expecting in the foreseeable future !!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Becca products

More Highlighters products