Becca Opal Shimmering Skin Perfector

4.3

72 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Homosalate, Glyceryl Stearate, Octyldodecanol, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane (Avobenzone), Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Trilaureth-4 Phosphate, Propylene Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Cetyl Alcohol, Hamamelis Virginiana Witch (Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Water), Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Ceteareth-12, Ceteareth-20, Phenoxyethanol, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, Paraffinum Liquidum/Mineral Oil/Huile minerale, Glucose, Fructose, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Alcohol Denat, Dextrin, Sucrose, Urea, Propylparaben, BHT, Hexyl Nicotinate, Glutamic Acide, Aspartic Acid, Alanine, Aloe Barbadensis Extract (Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract), Butylparaben, Parfum (Fragrance). May contain/peut contenir [+/-]: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77499), Tin Oxide, Mica.


on 2/24/2015 1:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

How did I live without this product before???

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector is the bomb and each time I wear it, I get compliments on it :) I have it in the color Opal.

What is it?

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector is a shimmering tinted moisturizer that gives radiance and glow.

How to use it?

You could technically use it all over your face or mixed in with your foundation. Yet being shimmery all over ain’t that much my thing. Much better to use it as an highlighter: on top of cheek bones & below brows. It really gives a healthy glow without making you look frosty. The texture is really light which makes it look natural while catching the light where it needs to.
I also loooooove it as a “lipstick”. That’s when I get the most comments actually, when I apply it on my lips. Only the tiniest amount is needed, one bottle goes a long way.

Hope this review was helpful :)
With style,

x M
www.marilicious.com

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 2/5/2015 9:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Absolutely gorgeous product! It doesn't have any glitter, it's a glowing peachy nude shade. It just makes me look so healthy and happy. It literally gives you that lit from within glow. I'm in love and will be repurchasing it


on 1/12/2015 5:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is the product to use to achieve the Jennifer Lopez glow. I picked up the small tube of this in the checkout line at Sephora, since the large bottle is so much more product than I need. Opal is a peachy champagne liquid highlighter. The shimmer isn't glittery or over the top; it's very subtle and this can be built up to achieve the look you want. You can mix it into foundation, or dab some on the tops of cheekbones, brow bones, and above the cupid's bow. However you use it, the result is the same: a stunning angelic glow. I'm very tanned (Armani LSF in 8, around NW33-35) and this looks natural on me; lighter skin tones should try Moonstone or Pearl if this shows up too dark or peachy (anyone who isn't getting a highlight from this isn't using a light enough shade).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2015 5:24:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love love LOVE this product. I have used several highlighters (What's UP!, Revlon, Smashbox just to name a few) and this gets me the closest to looking like I'm sitting by candlelight as I can possibly get.
If I REALLY want to amp it up, I apply Mary LouManizer on the bottom and dab Opal on top. It photographs sooo beautifully.
The only thing I'd change is the packaging as it's impossible to control how much comes out and you end up wasting too much product....you only need the tiniest amount.
For reference, I have Opal and Moonstone and I'm NC45. I can wear either but prefer Opal as it's warmer then Moonstone..


on 1/4/2015 3:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased the Becca "Glow to Go" pack which comes with 3 mini liquid highlighters in Pearl, Opal & Champagne gold. I do love the colors but when I applied it to my skin I barely saw the highlighter, unless I build it on. My skin shade is Mac NC40 or NARS Barcelona and the highlighter barely showed, because the consistency is pretty watery and my skin just absorbed the product. Furthermore, when I apply my blush and then the highlighter on my cheek bones my blush seemed like it was fading away due to the watery based finish. Even when I apply the highlighter to my brow bone it was fading away my eyeshadow! I love the colors but overall I don't like the consistency and it is not as vibrant as I want it. I will still use the product maybe for a subtle less make up look with no blush & it would probably be great for summer. Overall I won't buy the shimmering skin finish, next time I will get the pressed powder in Moonshine.


on 12/22/2014 7:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is the best highlighter I've tried thus far. It's beautiful, versatile, and lasts forever - a little goes a long way. I've been using a deluxe sample of it for over a year now (oops?) and it's still kicking. I typically pat it onto the tops of my cheekbones, nose, and cupids bow with my fingers, but it also looks great when mixed with moisturizer and worn under foundation. The resulting look is perfectly glowy in all the right places. Opal is a nice warm peachy-gold shade, though I'm thinking of trying one of the others once I/if I ever manage to finish my current sample. Highly recommended!


on 12/16/2014 11:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm in the minority, but this product did not work for me at all. It does not go on evenly on my dry skin and the shimmer is very obvious. Looks like I will stick with the Burberry Fresh Glow. I will not repurchase


on 12/16/2014 10:12:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this quite a while ago after seeing Lisa Eldridge use it. Even though I'm no Lisa Eldridge, I'm not terrible at applying my makeup, yet I have never liked the results when I've used this. When I use it as a highlighter, I feel like it just highlights my pores. When I mix it with foundation, or use it as a primer for foundation to get a dewy glow, I just look like my face is greasy in random places--no glow, no luminosity.


on 11/28/2014 6:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've actually become super obsessed with this highlighter. It's really rare for me to use a product every single day for a whole month straight. I found that the best way to apply this is by adding some of the product on a flat brush and then blending it. It doesn't disturb my blush it bronzer when I use this method.


on 10/28/2014 8:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

Cruely ironic: fifteen or so years ago my only goal in life was to have matte skin. Now, a little older and not any wiser, I've become obsessed with having dewy, glowy skin with rosy cheeks, starting with the Guerlain balls hype.

Becca: I swatched forever at the store and loved all the colors, but on my NC25ish, yellow undertoned skin Opal looked the most natural. Rose gold would be beautiful on the cheeks (IMO too pink to use it all over) - I may invest in that one day too. The pressed powder was soft and lovely, buildable, and if you had a good many of the colors and didn't mind looking super duper glowy, I could see contouring a little with them. Compared to the liquids, the compacts had slightly better pay off and wouldn't smear whatever you were dusting it over.

The price horrified me. For something that's a highlighter, this was super expensive, even if you get a ton. I agonized on getting the little sample size as I really had wanted a powder, but 12$ vs 38$ was so much more swallowable.

I really like the liquid; more than I thought I would. I mix it with my BB cream if going out in the pm for a very pretty glow, and dot it over my cheekbones everyday. I still use a little Benefit Highbeam - it is more silvery/white/pink and shimmery than Becca, which is a super subtle, sheer natural gold. Someday I may get the powder to see how they compare.

The gold glow is more intense of a pay off than Too Faced Candlelight, which I really like as a finishing powder all over. Together the effect is luminous and photographs really beautifully. (Overkill? Probably.)

Of note: Benefit has lasted forever, at something like 12mL for 30$, and the Becca small size is 15mL for 12$. Not bad!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top