C.O. Bigelow • Rose Salve • Lip Treatments

rated 4.3(297 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 JoieDeLaMusique on 8/13/2014 6:43:00 PM more reviews by JoieDeLaMusique

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to lip care product. I even use it on my cuticles when the weather starts to get dry. Not wearing eyeshadow but need something to complete your natural makeup look? Just swipe a thin layer on your lids and it makes your face glow!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ljoseph29 on 7/30/2014 8:42:00 PM more reviews by ljoseph29

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I don't see why people complain about how hard it is to open the product. It opens up easily for me. Let me tell you how instantly this product works! I had a dry spell with my lips recently. They were chapped, dry and felt like sand paper. The minute I applied this at night, my lips were hydrated the next MORNING! I instantly replaced my HG lip balm (Nivea's Honey Milk Lip Balm) with this!! The smell is quite powdery and it doesn't have a rose scent at all. I honestly don't mind because it does its job. This is worth the $6 and I will stock up on this amazing product!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CynicalCind on 7/20/2014 11:04:00 PM more reviews by CynicalCind

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this! I use this every night to moisturize my lips and it lasts for at least a year. It is also great for any dry spots that you have on your body and does not break you out at all! I love that it's tinted and has a slight rose scent to it (smells much better than smith rosebud salve). My only complaints about this product is that it gets a little difficult to open sometimes (even though the tin is cute) and wish that they would make this in an even larger size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Phoebeeats on 6/3/2014 8:43:00 AM more reviews by Phoebeeats

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

A lifelong Vaseline user on my lips at night, I have switched to Rose Salve! Love the smell, the feel, and the teensy bit of color. It's just better.
Hate the tin, so I scooped out the Vaseline in the tiny jar and filled it with this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nekkun on 6/3/2014 1:25:00 AM more reviews by nekkun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is so lovely and makes me feel like a total lady, even when I'm dipping my fingers in the tin, ha! Has a subtle, sweet rose scent, which is nice but doesn't last. Moisturizes lips and gives them a nice sheen. Sure it's similar to vaseline (with lanolin added), but it's less occlusive and something you can apply often without looking like a grease ball. I actually use this every day and enjoy doing so. My lips thank me for it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 revathig21 on 5/20/2014 3:56:00 AM more reviews by revathig21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Getting some of the cult products in UAE can be quite tiresome, but I finally found this at Bath & Body Works yesterday. Though the price was exorbitant ( AED 35/tin), I couldn't contain my excitement of finally getting my hands on this. The product itself is excellent (though I have used this only once, I think I can lay this claim😊). I have used it on my lips, and they felt super soft in the morning. Very similar to Vaseline Rosy lips, which I absolutely adore too. Overall, a solid 9.5/10 from my side for this. 0.5 has been deducted due to the pricing here in UAE.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Andisophiaquinn on 5/4/2014 4:18:00 PM more reviews by Andisophiaquinn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Got this at Bath & Body Works for five bucks, and when I asked the gal at the store if she used it, she said yeah and it's amazing. She told me people come in there and buy like 5 or 10 pans of it at a time. I had some extra cash, so I decided to try it. I have very dry skin on my cheeks, and it said you can use it on skin, so I rubbed it in to my skin and dabbed the top layer of extra off with a kleenex before I went to bed, and the next morning...my skin wasn't flakey and dry like it always is. I also use it on my cuticles and nail beds, lips, and cracked heels on my feet. Works for EVERYTHING. And it smells like roses :) My dad used it once, and tried to steal it from me so he could use it at work. He's a firefighter and they get really dry hands in the winter while on calls, so he got his own tube to take to work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msh9899 on 3/1/2014 3:10:00 PM more reviews by msh9899

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Lip treatment junkie here... I recently "discovered" C.O. Bigelow's lip products (I get mine at Bath & Body Works) and have been enjoying testing out some of their more popular items. Just did a 3-4 week test run of their Rose Salve & thinks it's time that I reviewed.

I thought I'd start off my review by discussing the packaging of this product. C.O. Bigelow is the oldest apothecary/pharmacy in the US, founded in 1838 (thanks, Wikipedia!). They incorporate old-world charm into many of their products/packaging & C.O. Bigelow's Rose Salve is a prime example of this. It comes in a comparatively large (2 inches across & a little more than 3/4 inches deep) tin. Easy to open & close but a bit bulky especially if you plan to keep your lip treatment in your pocket. Very cute though and works well for me as I leave this product at home, on my vanity.

The salve itself is basically your traditional looking, solid type of ointment or salve. It's pinkish-rose and as per the packaging, it does contain .9% Rose Extract. On me, it does turn my lips a slight, pinkish color but I swatched it onto a piece of white paper and the color is nearly undetectable so may be it's my imagination! It has a distinctive smell which I assume is from the Rose Extract but the smell is in no way overwhelming. The smell is stronger in the tin than it is on your lips, right under your nose. I don't love or hate the smell but I could see it being an issue for some as it's an "older", flowery scent. Product applies like Vaseline, and is similar in consistency and finish but I think it's less dense and less sticky than Vaseline is. I also find that it does more for my lips than plain, old Vaseline. Seems to accomplish "something" as opposed to just sitting on my lips.

All in all, C.O. Bigelow's Rose Salve is a very nice lip treatment. It does good job of protecting my lips and keeping them moist. It is a tad greasy but that can be helpful, especially during drier, colder months of the year. I could see this type of product, especially in a metal tin like this, becoming a melted, greasy mess in warmer months, but I can't say for sure as my "test run" occurred during Winter. I would recommend it to those that enjoy similar types of lip treatments (on the greasy side, in a tin, etc.). I probably will not repurchase but only because I have fallen in love w/ another C.O. Bigelow product (Lemon Lip Cream) and would prefer to make that my one & only lip treatment.

Pros: protects lips, floral scent, cute packaging, emollient, affordable
Cons: size of tin & floral scent may be a deal-killer for some, harder to find product-may have to resort to buying online

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JennaLia on 1/22/2014 1:18:00 AM more reviews by JennaLia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Does nothing special for me. Lasts maybe an hour. Have seen no improvement on my skin and I feel as if it makes it drier.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Colour4me on 1/6/2014 12:32:00 AM more reviews by Colour4me

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Cannot live without this product. I travel for a living and am faced with daily climate changes which can take a toll on my skin, lips, nails, hair, etc. I apply this to my lips at night and wake up with well-conditioned, healthy-looking lips. My lipstick even glides on beautifully during application. Wish that more retailers would carry it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More C.O. Bigelow products

More Lip Treatments products