MAC • Prep + Prime Skin • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.4(690 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 xholly on 6/9/2014 9:59:00 AM more reviews by xholly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I had primarily used mattifying primers previous to trying this product (mainly POREfessional) and I was really eager to switch to a more dewy look. I had read that a silicone-based primer was the way to go about this, so after some research (I'm a bit of a research fiend when it comes to beauty!) I decided that the MAC Prep and Prime Skin Base Visage was the one.

I tested it in the shop and was surprised to see flecks of sparkle in there and was initially concerned that this might transfer onto my face like glitter. I was wrong. It applied very smoothly to my skin and created a fantastic base for my foundation. I only use a small amount (one pump) as I find this usually provides me with enough product to cover the areas of my face that I wish to apply it.

As far as the dewy finish is concerned - I can confirm that it absolutely works and I love the end product once the rest of my make-up has been applied. I haven't suffered from any break-outs like I have read that some people have, but I am aware that this is quite common - so I'd definitely advise that you test this on your skin before making the splurge!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CatVid on 6/8/2014 4:37:00 AM more reviews by CatVid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This evens out your skintone and skin surface but it did break me out every time I use it- to be fair this is a problem a lot a people have with silicone based primers but for that price I think this product should have a higher skin tolerance.

Will not be repurchasing and the almost full container just sits around collecting dust. This was a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bobbi0908 on 6/4/2014 9:41:00 PM more reviews by bobbi0908

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product does prep the skin for application especially since I just use it with concealer and some studio fix foundation powder, so it definitely adds a few more hours of lasting power. Although I tend to rub my nose a lot so my make up on my nose tends to disappear a bit but its not that big of a deal I just dab it with some tissue. The cost is always more when it comes to MAC but a little goes a long way. I apply it with a concealer brush all over my face...as soon as I run out I'm off to MAC again :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Candace716 on 5/2/2014 8:21:00 PM more reviews by Candace716

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this product did well at helpin my makeup last all day. problem is...I have pretty good skin and everytime I use this stuff it causes me to break out. I wanted to like it...just isn't worth the breakouts

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 starletdust on 5/1/2014 8:06:00 PM more reviews by starletdust

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

It works and it does what it says on the tin, it also leaves a shimmer seen through your foundation which is nice for an evening look, I just think porefessional is that little bit better! Still great for keeping your foundation in place and smoothing out your skin, but the shimmer is a bit too much for a day time look and it doesn't really affect the appearance of pores like porefessional does, definitely still need a liquid cover if it's pores you are targetting.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andi2010 on 4/19/2014 9:59:00 PM more reviews by Andi2010

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm thinking this product may be more "prep" than "prime", It has a lovely silky,creamy gel like consistency with a slight shimmer - though the shimmer aspect does not seem to transfer to my skin. 1 - 2 pumps is more than enough coverage and glides on easily and feels so smooth.

It may help make-up to stay in place a little longer but I have not really been able to prove this even trying many various liquid foundations and BB cremes with P&P. It does not fill pores or appear to blur fine lines... However it does provide a very smooth base that liquid foundation feels as if it is just gliding on over top either with a brush or BB. 30mls of product that pumps out a conservative amount at a time is making this P&P last quite awhile. But as it has not wowed me I will not be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shenny241 on 4/15/2014 10:33:00 PM more reviews by shenny241

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This mac prep + prime skin was just not for me.I started using it and thought it was pretty good.Then throughout the days i started seeing an acne flare up.The only good thing this product does is probably smooth out the skin.The rest is just trash! Don't use this product if you are acne prone.Horrible experience!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 solidcake on 3/29/2014 12:19:00 AM more reviews by solidcake

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I had high hopes for this product when I bought it well over a year ago. It has a nice little pump, I'll give it that. I feel like I have to let it set in for a good five minutes before I can put my foundation on.. any less and it feels like it is streaking, which sucks for me because I'm always in a hurry. It does give a nice matte finish for a couple hours, after that, foundation is seeping into pores and I'm not looking so great. For the price, you can get way better at a drug store. Four hours into my shift, this isn't doing its job any more. Used it off and on just trying to get rid of it, finally out of it and not re-buying, and I am sometimes a Mac snob.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 willow1992 on 3/20/2014 5:18:00 AM more reviews by willow1992

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff was really average, I don't think it really did anything at all... except for maybe cause an acne flare up? I'm not sure, but I wouldn't really recommend this if you have pimples.. It make my skin feel smooth and my foundation did stay on all day but I don't know if that's because of this product or just because I use good foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nise0606 on 3/3/2014 12:50:00 PM more reviews by nise0606

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I will go as far as to say this is the worst product I've ever used on my face. MAC rep sold this to me saying it would be great with my studio fix foundation. Not so! My face looked cakey in some places and like an orange peel in others. I've tried this 5 times hoping it was just me but nope. Horrible stuff

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Primer/ Corrector products