MAC • Satin - Mylar • Eye Shadow

rated 3.6(58 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 babbyblueyes99 on 12/28/2013 4:34:00 PM more reviews by babbyblueyes99

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Having very fair skin with cool/neutral undertones, this eyeshadow is perfect. I use it exclusively on the browbone, and being a Satin, it creates a beautiful sheen to the skin. MAC describes it as a "creamy-white with shimmer", and although I think the colour description is perfect, you have to build it up quite a bit to see any shimmer. That being said, I never use an eyeshadow primer with my eyeshadows, as I don't have oily or transferring lids, so if you do, you might see more shimmer in the colour. For the browbone, though, I actually prefer a pretty sheen rather than a shimmer fest. This particular eyeshadow isn't chalky at all, and if you run your finger over it once on your lid, it feels like it's gliding over silk. Pigmentation is as amazing as a creamy colour can be, if you know what I mean, as obviously it won't be as stark as a matte white, such as MAC Gesso.
Honestly, although I adore this shadow, it might only be suitable for girls with fair skin, which it looks beautiful on. I would recommend, especially if you have fair skin, everyone to check this shadow out, as I feel it is rarely mentioned in the beauty industry and is definitely an unsung hero. I could go on about it all day. I'm not an expert in this, but I think this colour is neutral, so not only does it suit any makeup look, but your undertone will be irreverent, too, but that doesn't mean it won't make you look your absolute best, because it will. Seriously.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katey1980 on 11/23/2013 7:06:00 PM more reviews by katey1980

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A great shade to highlight the brow bone or to add some light into the corner of the eye.

I also sometimes use this all over the lid and tightline my eyes for a clean 'no make-up' look. As always with any eyeshadow, I use UDPP under it as I have oily lids. I've deducted a lippy as it does create slightly when I use it this way even with primer.

No sparkle on my skin, but luminates beautifully - a must have for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rebeccaa242 on 10/28/2013 9:26:00 AM more reviews by Rebeccaa242

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Slightly chalky, not bad colour payoff. Great brow bone highlight for fair-medium skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* baby_grazi_x05 on 10/11/2013 8:39:00 PM more reviews by baby_grazi_x05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I got this while searching for a pale, semi-matte shade for my browbone as I've started getting away from shimmery highlights. I'm trying to keep my browbone shades close to my skintone while still being an actual highlight. This certainly fits the bill! It highlights without being too shimmery or ashy. Blends well into my skin and helps to blend my crease shade as well. Love this shade!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Phyrne on 6/29/2013 4:22:00 AM more reviews by Phyrne

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The perfect highlighter shade for pale girls wanting to achieve a classical, polished but not overdone look. It`s sheer and transparent, not providing definite pink or golden hues like so many cheap highlighters. Just a fresh brightening gleam. Perfect in combination with nudes like naked lunch or era. Love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angekronaus on 4/9/2013 10:38:00 AM more reviews by angekronaus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Disappointed by this colour..
MAC were out of my usual Brule so I took this thinking it would be a great alternative.
I was wrong. Does not work like Brule FOR ME.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FallinginLove on 12/18/2012 8:16:00 AM more reviews by FallinginLove

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Mylar. Satin pale highlighter. No beige or anything warm in it. Pale white.
I really like this one. It can be very subtle for a day at work or more dramatic for a night out - it all depends on how much you put on. It's buildable. I actually put it sometimes on my lid (one third of a lid, two other thirds- copperplate) and it's a very nice greyish look. Got many compliments.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahmarie86 on 11/15/2012 7:51:00 PM more reviews by sarahmarie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

On my NC20-25 skin Mylar makes for a very natural highlight... it's great for a "no makeup, makeup". It is very neutral meaning it doesn't lean pink or yellow, which many highlighters can do. It has a very subtle sheen to it, although this isn't readily seen once applied to the eye. Overal I really like Mylar, but I'm not sure that I will need to repurchase anytime soon, because 90% of the time I use Vanilla.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 StupidUserNames on 10/23/2012 12:32:00 AM more reviews by StupidUserNames

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When I first tried this shadow I was upset because the color payoff sucked so I didn't bother using it anymore. Then one day for my birthday I did a neutral eye shadow look. With a little bit of brown shading in the crease and mylar in the brow bone and all over the lid. When it was time for pictures I did not think anything would be wrong. Boy was I wrong the camera flashed picked up Mylar so good that it looked like I had two white circles on my eyes it was so embarrassing to have looked like that. Anyway will not repurchase again and two points for being well pigmented and captured on camera because in regular lighting it's no good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KatieFMakeup on 12/29/2011 4:24:00 PM more reviews by KatieFMakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I genuinely hate this eyeshadow, for me personally it was a waste of 9.50! after watching afew videos on youtube i thought this would be a lovely addition to my "neutrals" palette and i was really upset to find i was wrong! As i swatched the shadow there was nothing to be seen and when i tested it on my eyes, again nothing to be seen! Really disapointed :( x

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products