Neutrogena • MicroMist Tanning (Medium 2 shades darker) • Self Tanners

rated 3.1(185 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 7/6/2014 2:08:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I used this spray tanner for my wedding 5 years ago and it turned out beautifully. I am very pale normally but that day I had a natural-looking, even tan.

I decided to return to this for a trip to Vegas (usually I use one of the gradual self-tanners) and I'm not as enamored of it now. Many of the reviewers say this doesn't actually produce any color but that is not my contention. The day after the first application I could tell I was darker, and the second day/application I had a light tan. I understand that with this the color has to be built to the desired level and despite what the packaging says, it's not going to show up in 2-4 hours. Give it overnight and a few tries.

The color is fairly natural looking although you have to be careful not to over apply before you veer into orange territory. Like I mentioned, I'm very pale and about 4 applications with this is plenty. With good exfoliation and lots of lotion (I do lotion prior to, let it dry, and then apply this. With gloves!) this "tan" can last a good 4-6 days before you start to see the fading/patchiness that is the unfortunate trademark of all self-tanners.

My issues with this are the spray nozzle, which is so temperamental that at first I thought it was broken. It's actually difficult to get it to spray, especially at awkward angles or when using your non-dominant hand. While the mist may be micro, the nozzle can make it come out in blobs which can easily lead to spots and streaks if you're not quick and careful. Furthermore, the spray gets everywhere, and you have to be careful where you apply this.

I'm also noticing the smell a lot more this time. It's not as strong as the Jergens lotion but it does have a chemical scent that lingers for hours. Blessedly, this absorbs much quicker than the lotions. It dries within 10 minutes, doesn't transfer onto clothes, and doesn't feel tacky for hours after.

So I wouldn't buy it again over another product (especially a foam - I wish Neutrogena hadn't discontinued the foam version), but in a pinch, it would do.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LilyLil on 6/6/2014 10:16:00 PM more reviews by LilyLil

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Will not purchase again. There is no tint to show where you've applied as you go, so the first time I just did a light but even application, and got nothing. (I am very pale and usually most anything will show up.). Tried again with a more liberal application. Got a few uneven streaks but no tan. Also, the nozzle got more product on my fingers than on my legs. As instructed I used in a well-ventilated area but was still choking on the fumes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Misstori1995 on 1/18/2014 2:41:00 AM more reviews by Misstori1995

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this just to try it out and thought it might be something fun and easy. The nozzle on the can would barely spray without me putting a ton of pressure and even so wouldn't spray well. The nozzle may have been broken but this really was a negative for me. I will probably look for a different brand next time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TaylorHarpenau on 7/9/2013 6:43:00 PM more reviews by TaylorHarpenau

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this because I tan in a tanning bed but my face doesn't tan as well as the rest of my body and I would like to stop tanning my face to avoid getting wrinkles and all that avoidable stuff. I bought this about two weeks ago and that night I put a tanning sticker on my stomach and sprayed pretty heavily and did two coats to test out the color to make sure I wasn't going to spray my face totally orange. The color barely changed on my stomach, there was a very very slight "tan" line where the sticker had been but there was no orange at all. So then I sprayed my face, ears, neck, and chest and when the color developed it matched my bodys tan perfectly. I can't say much for the lasting power or fading of this product because I spray my face every day or every other day since I wash and exfoliate my face every day. The smell isn't bad at all, when you spray it on it smells kind of like sunscreen or a bug spray but once it dries there isn't much of a smell unless I sweat then it smells kind of self tanner ish. The only thing I'm not crazy about is the price, for a Wal-Mart spray tan $10 seems kinda high but I'm only using it on my face so my bottle should last quit awhile.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 duramore69 on 7/7/2013 1:36:00 AM more reviews by duramore69

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I applied this as directed after exfoliating and everything. There's no color guide so you have no way of seeing where you've sprayed or missed. The color turned out streaky. I am a very pale medium tone and tried the 3 shades darker and even that was a barely noticeable difference. The color was on the orange side rather than brown. After showering twice it came off completely. Does not go on evenly, orange color that thankfully doesn't last more than 2 days. Next on my list of self tanners to try is the Nature's Gate glow lotion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Meganmalone11 on 6/7/2013 11:49:00 AM more reviews by Meganmalone11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I gave this product a 4 because it did not streak or leave colored spots on me, which is something most tanning lotions, foams and sprays have done to me in the past. I'm not giving it a 5 because the bottle says that I will see results in 2-4 hours. I barley noticed anything. I didn't see any real differance till the next day, and i didn't even turn out dark. It did give me a nice glow, but I would have liked to have faster results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 gabrielachristina on 5/26/2013 1:58:00 PM more reviews by gabrielachristina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have fair skin that freckles in the sun and barely gets any color. This product was really disappointing. I showered, shaved, and exfoliated before applying it and put moisturizer on dry spots (knees, ankles, etc.). Since it was my first time using it, I just tried it on my legs. The smell was horrible and lasted for several hours after application. Also, during application it was impossible to tell where I had already applied the tanner because there is no color guide (so you cant see it on your skin) and it dries fairly quickly (so you cant feel it on your skin). When the color developed about 2 hours later, it was extremely patchy and orange. i would not recommend this product because of how difficult it is to apply evenly and because of the terrible orange color and strong, gross smell.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Finchieface on 7/26/2012 1:30:00 PM more reviews by Finchieface

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

DO NOT BUY THIS SELF TAN! I am somewhat of a fake tan expert because I have been tanning for years, and tried EVERYTHING! Normally I only use St. Tropez mousse but I went on vacation and left it at home, so picked this up on a whim in CVS as it had been recommended in a magazine. I even got my best friends to spray me and I sprayed them, as directed. When we woke up in the morning, we could see hardly any color change and when we looked at our legs and wrists we had huge orange streaks all over us! We are fairly fair anyway, but it did nothing at all on our faces and the smell was AWFUL! We had to spend an hour talking to a lady in Sephora who have us loads of samples to try and fix our disaster.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 horsegirl318 on 7/15/2012 1:44:00 PM more reviews by horsegirl318

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

this product is awful! i tried it on a whim because it was on sale at target (that should have been my first indacator, because it was only on sale because nobody wanted to buy it!). Anyway i got home and instantly decide to try it,i was very exited might i add, and its not all bad the spray didnt smell to terrible but it did overpower my bathroom. so i applicated it all over myself and at first it looked nice once it dried. the next morning i woke up and i was orange! i had to go to school for 2weeks in the summer wearing long sleeves and jeans-mind you i live in the south it get quiet hot, like 95,100 degrees hot. neadless to say i was sweating like a pig. my buddy evn said i need to be miss florida because my skin was the color of the florida orange. dont ever purchase this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Luckyboy on 7/1/2012 6:57:00 PM more reviews by Luckyboy

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am very fair. I bought the medium shade and when I used it there was no change in my skin color at all. NONE! I won't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Self Tanners products