Shu Uemura • Liquid Eye Liner - Black • Eyeliner

rated 3.8(40 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 stace06 on 6/22/2014 7:12:00 AM more reviews by stace06

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was given this as a present and it's been sitting in the back of my drawer. My usual Maybelline gel eyeliner ran out and decided to give it a try and I was not disappointed. Once I got over the initial setting up of the pen (same concept as a fountain pen with disposable/replaceable ink cartridges) I loved how versatile this liner is. The tip reminds me of a Chinese calligraphy paint brush. The tip is designed so you have complete control over how thick / thin you want 2 draw.

And as a 30+ woman with drooping eyelids, this pen did wonders for drawing winged eyes. This is definitely a new favourite for me and I am just praying that it won't start streaking or drying out like some of the other reviewers have mentioned.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mooo00 on 6/2/2014 4:27:00 PM more reviews by Mooo00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Excellent quality pen packaging however , for me, this eyeliner just didn't work well, I'm normally a long term fan of Shu's products but this pen just dried up quickly and didn't draw a clean line for me. I think you have to store it ink facing down so when you come to press the button to release the ink it will flow out quickly but I kept it in my makeup bag and when I had to use it it was always dry and I had to wait until it flows downwards. Stopped using this product but the packaging it fancy. thought it was rather expensive altogether.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LJBNY on 11/4/2013 9:29:00 PM more reviews by LJBNY

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is an easy, but sad review to write. Despite its elegant packaging and eco-friendly refills, this product does NOT work and has been designed & built by people making a dreadful mistake. You can't even apply the liner because it's so poorly made, so what else is there?
(Go find a LancĂ´me or Stila liquid liner, but don't buy this.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 klovesmakeup on 12/16/2012 5:56:00 AM more reviews by klovesmakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

When I first bought this eyeliner, I loved it. Used it everyday, no dramas. Then after a couple of months, the eyeliner started to streak/run out. I used the product often and I thought I must've used it up so I went to the Shu Uemura counter to buy a refill. The guy told me that I still had heaps left and all I needed to do was wash the inside as it's apparently become congested. I did what he told me and the brush tip took days to fully dry. Then finally after clicking a thousand times, some eyeliner came out but it was still streaky. I stopped using it and waited a couple of days.. Then when I opened it again, I found that it had started leaking. I have no idea if it's me or the eyeliner or the advice from the SA but I am not happy with this product and do not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lovemygold2 on 6/29/2012 10:08:00 AM more reviews by Lovemygold2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this. It is not often I can say that I would go back to using something. Based on my indesicive, elcetic personality. I get bored quick. I have had this eyeliner pen for over a year. I bought another refill for this last week. I love the fact that I do not have to keep buying the pen over and over. So in a way this has some eco credentials, over my using a wooden pencil eyeliner. The brush is a perfect point, soft paintbrush type applicator. It is slim and lightweight and the black shiny logo tube is very classic. The liquid glides on nicely and it does have staying power. Just don't wipe your eyes whilst wearing. I wish Shu would make this in waterproof though.

UPDATED 4.4.14

Sadly this product is no longer what it used to be. There must have been a change to the formula because now it just seems to be watery in consistency and not the bold black it once was when I first started to purchase it. I don't know if I got a dud refill but I know I don't want to waste money finding out...now I have to hunt for a new FAVE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mwtai on 6/27/2012 6:34:00 PM more reviews by mwtai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have been using this eyeliner for a month now and am finally accepting that it does not and will not work for me. I'll briefly summarise my experience:

Pros:
(1) Beautiful packaging - sleek black pen with a screw top cap to ensure no leakage
(2) Enviro (and future spending) friendly with the reusable pen only needing replacement catridges
(3) Nice brush tip which is solid enough not to flick everywhere but soft enough for the sensitive eyelid skin
(4) If you get it on, it does last the whole day (10 hours for me)

Cons: - Only one but its a BIG FAIL as an eyeliner
It doesn't go on smoothly!! This is my key frustration with this eyeliner. It streaks and you have to go over the line several times - which you can't really do either because each time you go over it, you wipe off what's already there! Its beyond frustrating. On top of that the little streaks that remain when dry, flake off and stick to the pen. I honestly spend more than 10 minutes every time I attempt to use this eyeliner which is too much time in the mornings before work.

I have honestly tried everything from washing my face with a cleanser before application (remove oil from my lids) to storing the pen upside down to warming the pen (better liquid flow?), to pumping like a maniac before use etc but nothing really gets it to work perfectly. At best it goes on quite alright on one eye but then returns to misbehaving with the other eye.

For such an expensive pen from a well reputed company I had expected a lot more. Makeup / Skin care doesn't always work for everyone so perhaps I might have just been unlucky.

On a side note, I have oily lids which get pretty oily throughout the day but so far the two eyeliners which have worked best for me are:
(1) Chanel Stylo Yeux Waterproof - waterproof, long lasting, easy to apply but not the best for fine lines
(2) Koji Dolly Wink (deep black) - capable of the finest lines, long lasting and absolutely no smudging, no streaking, no flaking and provides the smoothest application!! My only gripe is that it isn't waterproof for me so I'm still on the hunt for a HG eyeliner.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 momohachi on 4/27/2011 5:06:00 AM more reviews by momohachi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG eyeliner. Very easy to use and the brush gives you exact lines. I use this often so basically I have to buy the refill after 5months or so. Be very careful with the first pump when you put your refill in, I accidentally let out so much!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Applebonbon on 1/27/2011 3:44:00 PM more reviews by Applebonbon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice liner, but you need to make sure that the nib is drenched and that you work fast to avoid clumping and drying on your eyelids. If the paint dries on your eyelid and the nib isn't moist enough you'll drag all the psint you've already drawn off your lid.

If you have eyeshadow on it is woth having a tissue nearby to clean the nib while going from one eye to the other.

It's really easy to draw straight lines with this liner and the lines are nice and clean. The cartriges are good too so you dont have to keep buying the pens.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kbel on 8/19/2010 5:33:00 AM more reviews by kbel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this eyeliner. I have been so afraid of liquid eyeliners as I am not so great with the brush but this has renewed my confidence. The brush glides on beautifully and the flow of colour is consistent. I love that it is refillable and I find it lasts all day. This is a winner for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Femf8al on 7/2/2010 5:44:00 PM more reviews by Femf8al

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My HG was the shiseido liner, but it has been difficult to find the Black 001 refills for it so i tried this. Compared to the Shiseido the Shu is a bit thicker and a bit more matte, however i believe it is water resistant unlike the shiseido, thats a plus. What i don't like is the brush, it is harder to draw thinner lines and doesn't keep its shape as well and the Shiseido. I did some experimenting and discovered the the brush part of the Shiseido fits into the Shu pen and so do the Shu refills :) Now i just hope the pump reaches the refill beacuse the shiseido brush part is slightly shorter. I store the pen upside down so i never have to pump it, but i imagine it might be a problem when i get a new refill. I shall update.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shu Uemura products

More Eyeliner products