Clinique • Cream shaper for eyes starry plum • Eyeliner

rated 4.3(69 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 1/20/2012 8:49:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Seriously bummed by this as the first Cream Shaper that has smudged AND faded on me :( I have three others (Egyptian, Black Diamond, Chocolate Lustre) and none of them do this, not even a little bit, so I was expecting a lot more but by mid-day, half of this was gone and what I had left was smudged under my eyes - where I didn't apply it. I used a good primer AND wore over eyeshadow as well, a cream long-last one at that (Maybelline Color Tattoo) so it shouldn't have gone anywhere. I can wear the other shades for days, but this is a totally different animal in a bad way. As if this wasn't enough, I then discovered the shade is identical to NYC's Smoky Plum w/p pencil which doesn't fade or smudge so needless to say, this is a dud and I can't return it fast enough.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ingyfish on 7/7/2011 5:18:00 AM more reviews by ingyfish

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE! Finally a purple eyeliner that suits me! I got this in a Clinque set it is my new fav eyeliner! So pretty and goes with lots of different eyeshadow looks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 curLRocker on 3/26/2011 5:37:00 PM more reviews by curLRocker

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm very happy with this pencil. I was worried about how soft it seemed at first because of my oily skin, but it barely smudges all day. Its really easy to use, and the color is very rich and opaque with the subtlest amount of shimmer -- and I love how it brings out my eyes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Zandiland710 on 3/9/2011 1:08:00 PM more reviews by Zandiland710

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I wanted to like this based on the reviews, however the pencil is simply too soft to leave a smooth line. It's mostly smeared away by midday. I think $12 is expensive for an eyeliner anyway especially one that isn't user friendly. Prestige Total Intensity eyeliner for $4-5 is MUCH better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 phan22 on 3/4/2011 6:43:00 PM more reviews by phan22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeliner color! I have dark brown eyes and I like that this purple doesn't have any brown or red tones to it- it's a cool, blue-based, violet purple. But it's not too obvious or obnoxious- just subtle perfect purple. I didn't give it 5 lippies because it isn't as creamy/opaque for some reason as my other cream shaper. Nevertheless, it is still one of my favorites and I would purchase again unless I find a cheaper alternative for budget reasons. I use my NARS pencil sharpener and have no problems with breaking tips or anything. Lasting power is pretty good- I don't have oily eyelid/skin issues, and I don't line my waterline. I like that the cream shapers have a little bit of shimmer and if you want a more smudgey look, you can smudge these but you have to be quick and smudge before it sets. Once it sets it lasts except for sometimes at the end of the day, the inner corners of the upper lid line is smudged off because I touch my eyes a lot due to contacts/allergies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 starrynight8 on 2/21/2011 4:20:00 PM more reviews by starrynight8

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this eyeliner a lot, although I prefer the brush on cream liner in deep brown. This is a beautiful purple and it compliments my brown eyes nicely. Its lasting power is amazing;it can last on my waterline (with minimal smudging) and my eyelids. The price isn't bad, either, considering the quality of the eyeliner. I will repurchase and I already have :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thelegalbeagle on 12/26/2010 1:01:00 PM more reviews by thelegalbeagle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is one of the few eyeliners I have re-purchased time and again. Its a beautiful dark purple color with a hint of shimmer. I think its beautiful on brown eyes, and a change up from brown/black.

The consistency is very smooth and applies easily even for a m/u novice. It lasts all day and doesn't smudge. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Susee on 7/22/2010 8:48:00 PM more reviews by Susee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This eyeliner applies really smoothly and lasts all day on me. The color is beautiful; it's dark, cool toned plum that has no red or warm undertones. However, I won't repurchase simply because I need a non-oily and non-silicone makeup remover and it's too difficult to remove with the ones I can use.
Pros:
Applies very smoothly
Lasts all day
Color is very pretty with a hint of sparkle
Cons:
Needs to be sharpened often to keep the point, and wears down quickly
Difficult for me to remove with non-oily makeup remover
Edit: I now use Clinique take the day off remover, and it works perfectly on this liner. I love it and will rebuy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xmakemeoverx on 5/23/2010 11:45:00 AM more reviews by xmakemeoverx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a dark purple eyeliner and came across this one at Sephora. Let me start by saying it has great staying power and doesn't smudge and crease all over your eyes. It has good pigmentation and definitely shows up on any color or type of eyes. It defines but it doesn't overpower. Perfect for day and for night depending on how you apply it. The one downside is that when you have to sharpen it, it comes out very uneven and can feel rough on the eyelids. However if you're careful and don't press down too hard you can still get the effect you're looking for without the hassle of scratching out your eyelids. It's pretty reasonable price for a designer brand too if you're going to buy an eyeliner this one may be what you're looking for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DSWARD on 2/6/2010 12:51:00 AM more reviews by DSWARD

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as part of a clinique set. I normally only where brown e/l, but decided to give it a dry. The color is a pretty deep sparkly plum, purple. The formula is really soft, easy application. It has great staying power, especially given the ease of application.

This is the first clinique product I have tried, but I will definitely be getting another when it runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Eyeliner products