Philosophy • Amazing Grace cologne • Fragrances

rated 3.7(534 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 McSwimmer on 2/7/2014 11:52:00 PM more reviews by McSwimmer

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I cannot attest to how long this perfume lasts or how long it doesn't because I've never worn it. I was given a little vial sample of "Amazing Grace" after making a Sephora purchase. At first I thought it was going to be one of those uber clean and fresh smells. I am not familiar with this or any other Philosophy scent; so I'm trying to stay "neutral". Right away this smelled to me like suntan lotion/suntan oil. I can't quite place what brand of suntan lotion it smells like but immediately that's what I thought. It's not what I want to smell in a perfume. It smelled cheap. I threw my sample away and washed it off. I'm not impressed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SophMcD on 2/6/2014 7:26:00 PM more reviews by SophMcD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Not for me. I was hoping it would be a nice clean sent but smelled very perfumey on my skin chemistry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 diram on 12/24/2013 7:31:00 PM more reviews by diram

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

YUCK
I am so confused by the descriptions regarding this fragrance. *checks to make sure I have "Amazing" Grace. Yup, it is labled "Amazing". ???

On my skin, as well as just sprayed into the air (in a 6000 sq ft home), this is absolutely acrid.
____
ac·rid
/ˈakrid/
adjective
adjective: acrid1. having an irritatingly strong and unpleasant taste or smell.
"acrid fumes"
synonyms: pungent, bitter, sharp, sour, tart, caustic, harsh, irritating
___

I smell nothing remotely "light", "soft", "delicate", nor is this scent "fleeting". And there is nothing "clean" about this scent to my nose. With just 1 spritz into the air, this scent lingers for DAYS in my home.

I do hope to find a "clean" scent type fragrance, so I will try a different Grace next time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ikhd on 11/9/2013 12:14:00 PM more reviews by ikhd

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I will repurchase this, even though I believe it is too expensive for the quality of the product.

I use this because my husband has allergies, and cannot tolerate most perfumes--this one he can. The scent does not last a long time, definitely not throughout the whole day. I also work in a small office, where a stronger fragrance would be overpowering.

Until I can find something better, I am stuck with this...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ryanhill on 11/4/2013 2:56:00 PM more reviews by ryanhill

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I want to cry because Amazing Grace was truly amazing before Coty ruined it. It was a soft floral musk with a unique beauty. I wore it everyday. Body lotion cologne body wash You name it I wanted it. Whenever I met someone new IALWAYS GOT A COMPLIMENT on how pretty my scent was. Well the tables have turned not one compliment. Guess why. There is no fragrance after five minutes of applying. The bodywash has not a trace of smell and the lotion barely a trace of fragrance.. Also the fragrance is different off if you know what I mean. I question where is Cotys quality control. I will not purchase my lost love unless it returns to the way it was. SHAME ON YOU COTY FOR DESTROYING SOMETHING SO LOVELY

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sissy5890 on 6/27/2013 9:49:00 AM more reviews by Sissy5890

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't understand the hate some people give this fragrance. It is a beautiful fragrance and smells great on everyone. Maybe understated and classy just isn't for everyone...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Piper47 on 6/21/2013 6:57:00 PM more reviews by Piper47

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this cologne - fresh & clean but girly. Unfortunately it lasts for all of 45 minutes on my skin. Literally I doused my arm in it and couldn't even smell it an hour later. Total waste of money :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lattevaniglia on 4/13/2013 1:18:00 PM more reviews by lattevaniglia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't personally own this product, but my friend wears it. It's a very light smell -- not too powdery or florally, just fresh-out-of-the-shower-skin clean with a hint of musk. Nothing remarkable, but far from boring. To me it says "I'm a nice girl and I feel nice today". If it had a colour, it would be pale peach. It also smells exactly like my L'Oreal Color Radiance detangling spray ;)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sarah4250 on 2/24/2013 9:58:00 AM more reviews by sarah4250

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

General floral, very clean and unoffensive. Love the scent, but hate the staying power. I purchased the edp last year with my birthday money, thinking the scent would last longer, but I went through the bottle way too quickly. It just doesn't last and you need more than one spray. Plus, you'd have to reapply later in the day. If it wasn't for that problem, I'd repurchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cjxtypes on 1/15/2013 7:12:00 PM more reviews by cjxtypes

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been wearing this perfume for a decade. It's my signature scent and my number one go to when I don't want to smell all perfume-y. It's just clean. Period. Not overly sweet. My friend once described it as warm rain. It's kinda hard to describe, at least with my chemistry anyway. You can actually get away with even just wearing the lotion alone, the fragrance has that much staying power, long after you realize you're even wearing it anymore. I have never in my life have had as many compliments on a fragrance as I have had with AG. I get a least one compliment everytime I wear it out. Times that by 10 years. I've literally had a few people actually come up to me and THANK me for smelling do nice. Lol. Kid you not. I will ALWAYS have a bottle of this on my dresser for the rest of my life. As for only 4 stars; its just after 10 years I've been on a search (unsuccessfully btw) for something new and fresh to discover.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Fragrances products