Jason Natural Cosmetics • Tea Tree Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.4(32 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgia21 on 10/7/2014 11:38:00 AM more reviews by georgia21

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My hair and scalp are dry. My hair is short, curly, color-treated and dry. This shampoo doesn't lather too well. I left it on my hair for 2 minutes, although the instructions just said to rinse out. My hair felt dry after rinsing so I used L'Oreal EverCreme Intense Nourishing Conditioner and left it on for 2 minutes. My hair came out shiny. My scalp had no irritation or itching. I needed to use a spray conditioner because my hair didn't feel sufficiently moisturized. The next time I used it, I mixed in a little L'Oreal Evercreme Intense Nourishing Shampoo and my hair felt more moisturized.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Redsilas77 on 4/24/2013 12:46:00 PM more reviews by Redsilas77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm torn on this. It's one of the FEW shampoo products out there that keep my scalp build-up at bay. I shampoo with this, scrub really hard to loosen the flakes, keep the shampoo in my hair, rinse, and shampoo again. It helps with my itchy scalp and with the flakes.

The downside - my hair feels awful. It's dry and needs a heavy moisturizing conditioner right after this product. I usually reserve using this shampoo on a Friday when I don't have to style my hair for work.

One a week is good enough for the itchy scalp care. Paul Mitchell tea tree shampoo is very good too, but I can't afford to buy it all the time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eeeee on 3/18/2013 3:32:00 PM more reviews by eeeee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love. My hair type: very curly, dry, fragile and fine with extremely oily roots plus horrible dandruff! I decided to write this review after having used it several times..


Quick take:
Works to normalize the scalp just as advertised. I no longer get horribly oily roots and find I don't need to wash my hair as often as I used to.
Took care of my horrible dandruff like Nizoral if not better.
The second application has just as much if not more sudsing action than regular shampoos, except it has a more thick foamy consistency.
Smells nice enough (like tea tree oil).


The background story: My main concern when looking for a shampoo was getting the dandruff under control. I had tried nearly everything under the sun from the drugstore brands to higher end stuff. I've used the salicylic acid, tar, head & shoulders, selsun blue, etc. with none to very little success. I finally found Nizoral which worked wonderfully but due to some shortage it had become impossible to find anywhere in NYC. I had to resort to buying it online and when the price just kept rising higher and higher, I decided I had had enough. I did a search online and kept coming up with Jason Natural Cosmetics, I came on here and while the reviews weren't great, I decided I would give it a try any way. I didn't have the patience to order online and wait for it so I journeyed to some beauty store since drugstores here don't seem to carry it. I was initially set on purchasing their Dandruff Relief shampoo but couldn't find it and settled on this. Since I knew tea tree oil is a good natural treatment for dandruff, I decided to purchase. That was a fantastic decision.


Why I love it: It does a similar if not better job than Nizoral did at controlling dandruff. Like Nizoral, it's just a bit drying but that's ok since that's my only con and a good conditioner takes care of that.. When I apply it the first time, there's very little sudsing, but I've experienced the same with regular shampoos. Once I rinse and shampoo again it does a grest job. I get plenty of suds, and it's only different from regular shampoos in that it's more foamy than bubbly. It tends to have more of a shaving cream foam consistency. It's also a lot more natural than Nizoral and much more affordable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blacksylver on 3/10/2013 4:24:00 PM more reviews by blacksylver

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

New formula: Fail - Original formula: Win
I bought this last summer because it was so hot I thought it might be refreshing and if it didn't work as a shampoo I could use it as a body wash. My hair is waist length baby fine hair which had gotten so dry that I was splitting on every end. This 'poo made my hair so hydrated that I stopped using conditioner all together. Day after day my hair became softer and silkier. My hair was swinging like in the comercials. no exageration.
So I went to buy literaly every bottle on the shelf. That day they only had 3. I was in luck. Jason changed the formula. I washed my hair that day and it felt funny like it wouldn't wash out. I washed a 2nd time and rinsed like crazy. results? I could not get my comb more than 2 inches through my hair! I had to rewash with adifferent 'poo just to be able to comb my hair. Used the rest to wash my lingerie. Jason plz go back to the original formula!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nosage on 2/19/2013 10:56:00 AM more reviews by Nosage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this and the matching conditioner to soothe my poor itchy scalp. It feels like it has gone through the wars lately (winter, central heating, seb derm and too rich food and drink over the Christmas season). I have a lot of time for tea tree oil, it's a wonderful miracle oil - don't even mind the strong medicinal scent. However, this shampoo did not soothe or reduce the itch and made my hair a lank greasy mess as well. Did not feel at all clean.My natural hair colour is blond - this made it look a lot darker. (So much so that my OH noticed). This has no nasties in it (SLS, parabens etc). I am used to SLS free shampoos and I know they do not lather up well, so that was not the problem. My hair did not look or feel clean. My OH likes tea tree shampoos so I gave it to him. He used it a couple of times and then threw it away. Said the same thing - his hair felt matted and dirty.Shame, because it was a hugh bottle. Would have kept him going all year! Conditioner was a non-event too. went the same way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bpjane on 1/4/2012 3:18:00 PM more reviews by bpjane

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love using this shampoo in the winter time as a scalp treatment. It eliminates the scalp zits I get, and the flakies. It works wonders on the scalp, but it's not a great shampoo for making your hair look and feel nice. So, I just shampoo my scalp with it, focusing only on the scalp, then rinse, then wash my hair with my normal shampoo. That way, I get the best of both worlds. I only use this shampoo whenever my scalp starts getting dry and itchy, or is breaking out, which is only once every few weeks. This shampoo lasts me ages because of this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 gaelicas on 11/8/2011 8:23:00 AM more reviews by gaelicas

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This didn't work for me at all. I bought it because I have oily and itchy scalp, and I was trying to find a good shampoo without SLS or cones in it. This was the first one in my "organic" search, but the results were very disappointing. It aggravated the itching of my scalp, and it left my hair very dry and frizzy. Finally, I had to stop using it as shampoo, but it did a good job as shower gel. I won't buy it again.

The price was good. I bought it on iHerb.com for 6.38$. If you use the code LOP266 at checkout, you can save 5$ on your first order.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 linthalaa on 11/1/2011 7:04:00 PM more reviews by linthalaa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this shampoo for almost two years and i love it.

I have psoriasis and i used to need a corticoid lotion and farmaceutical shampoos. It was expensive and insane but since i've using this shampoo i don't need the corticoids cause the itching and the ulcers are gone.

If you want to buy it on iherb.com you can have a 5$ discount in your first order if you use the code LOP784.



LOP784 code for a 5$ discount in your first order on www.iherb.com

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scarletfire on 7/28/2011 2:10:00 AM more reviews by scarletfire

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this shampoo! I don't use it every day but almost every day. It makes my scalp feel great! Yes it does clarify my scalp and hair but it feels great. and I always follow it with a super moisturizing conditioner! so I have bought it over and over again!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kelley76 on 3/16/2011 10:16:00 AM more reviews by kelley76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

OMG thank you Jason naturals!!!After looking high & low,and spending way too much money,I FINALLY found a shampoo that works for my 6 year olds hair!He has horrible dandruff that just cakes to his scalp.When you look at it you can actually see its an actual layer of dandruff on his little head.So we've tried EVERYTHING for him & then I stumbled upon this,we're a little over 1 week in & his dandruff has cleared up about 80% now,I feel confident that it will eventually be gone with continued use :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jason Natural Cosmetics products

More Shampoo products