Tarte • Cheek Stain in Dollface • Blush

rated 3.8(109 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* judiness on 9/6/2013 10:09:00 AM more reviews by judiness

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product before sephora Canada discontinued the shade to replace it by loving.

I own bought the amazonian clay blush and the cheek stain. Both colors are very different. The powder blush is more of a muted almost dust pink and the stain is really a glowy light bubblegum pink.

I think that the reviews that says that the blush doesn't show up much are fair. If your have medium skin this would only give a glow. Any darker skin than that I would probably show up as an highlighter.

On me, fair skin with neutral undertone is shows beautifully. It just gives that light pink glow. It's great for work and it's incredibly subtle. I also like that I don't need to use cheek highlighter with this. On lazy day I wear tinted moisturizer, the cheek stain, a tinted lip balm and a bit of mascara.

It's the kind of product that would make people say you look great instead of your make up look great.

If your skin is not super fair I think you would be better off with the colour flush if you are looking for a cool tone blush.

For me I just can't use anything with too much red in it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MES on 4/2/2013 8:37:00 PM more reviews by MES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I never met a Tarte Cheek Stain I didn't like. Dollface is one of three shades I own, and is also the lightest. It's a very light pink shade. I'm pretty fair, and Dollface is almost too light for me. I never thought I would say that about blush, because most blushes are just too bright or too dark for my skin. I occasionally layer a powder blush over this, but I have never had any issue with it not wearing well either way. I have noticed on super humid days this can migrate. Pricey, but justified because one stick will last the rest of my life, and cheek stains are one of only two blushes that I can actually wear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carrotcake11 on 3/28/2013 9:26:00 PM more reviews by carrotcake11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I believe I've wanted this cheek stain for at least 10 years. But I'm very thrifty and I could never justify spending $30 on a blush! And then it happened...I stumbled on this for $14 at Sephora, and I just had to order it! I'm assuming they are discontinuing this shade or something. I've never been so excited to receive a piece of makeup in all my life! I just got it today and I'm completely in love. It glides on, leaving my cheeks soft, glowy, and perfectly pink. The color is sheer but layer-able, and the smell is light and slightly fruity. I'm hoping this won't break me out! Right now I'm 100% happy with this blush and I feel like my life is now complete lol :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jetaime on 1/13/2013 10:07:00 PM more reviews by Jetaime

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a big fan of Tarte's cheek stains and I think Dollface is my favorite shade. It is comes up as a dewy, pale pink with a hint of lavender on my skin. With my cool and fair skin tone, this shade is quite flattering and gives me enough color to look healthy and youthful. The finish is quite smooth and light. I apply straight from the tube and then use my fingers to blend. It is not a long lasting blush and I usually need a touch up mid day. Most blushes don't last all day on me so I wasn't too concerned about that. I would certainly buy again- the color and finish are too pretty not to!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sarahc93 on 8/7/2012 7:04:00 PM more reviews by sarahc93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have very fair, combination skin. A make-up artist at Sephora recommended this to me.
The color is pretty, but it doesn't hold well. Even with a primer, I found the stain wears off really quickly, and needs to be reapplied a few times a day. Luckily, its small enough to fit unobtrusively in my purse and doesn't require a blush brush, but still, when I'm busy during the day I like my make up to stay put. The color is very sheer, but adding a light powder blush on top makes my face look overdone.
Overall, I only kind of like it. I wouldn't buy it again. I'm disappointed in the strength of the pigment and the length of its wearability. For the price (~$60 CDN) I expected a little better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bamaRN37 on 4/4/2012 12:58:00 PM more reviews by bamaRN37

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this quite some time ago, and recently found it in my makeup cabinet. I have auburn hair with blonde highlights, brown eyes, and very fair skin. I started wearing this because my skin has become drier since I turned 35, so I wanted to find something with a bit of dewyness. This color reminds me of the same flush I get when I just finish working out and/or running. Its perfect. When I want a stronger cheek, I use this and then apply MAC Pink Swoon on top very lightly to make it stay put. It is buildable so you can have a natural, pink flush or go all out to straight up doll face if you wanted! I've tried applying it with a blush brush, fail. The bristles stick to this product. So I just dab it directly to my cheek. It smells kind of fruity to me. It does get beads of moisture on top if left for a while. The container is HUGEEEE and it will last forever, so kind of justifiable to pay $30.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* christi4200 on 3/7/2012 7:46:00 PM more reviews by christi4200

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this product alot! Scents don't bother me at all, (unless it smells like crap) but if they bother you, this smells lemony, like some kind of natural kitchen cleaner. I know the packaging bothers some people, but I'm fine with it, I don't see how they could package a formula like this any differently. The product pushes up from the bottom, & is a it tacky for a few min until it dries. This retails for $30, which is a bit pricey, but it will seriously last forever, this thing is huge!


This is a very pretty natural light pink, and gives you the prettiest dewy flush. And not just this shade, Dollface, but all that I've tried are sheer and natural, but very, very buildable. There is no shimmer to this, which I love, because I prefer to add a separate highlighter to my cheekbones. It's not as long lasting (on me) as they claim, and I don't have oily skin at all. I usually layer powder blush over it, and it'll last about 5 hrs, which is still the longest any blush has ever lasted for me. If I don't layer powder blush over it, it lasts maybe 5 hrs. This is very travel friendly & quick & easy to blend, if you wanna take it in ur purse for touch-ups. For ref, I'm a warm toned, (Italian heritage) NC30-NC40 (depending on the season), and this shade def looks better on me when I'm at my palest in the winter. This shade is absolutely gorgeous on fair skins!

All in all, I do actually think this is worth the $30 price tag, because there isn't a cheaper drugstore dupe that performs even close to similarly to this product. And if u know a reputable seller on eBay, even better, as I've seen these on there sometimes for cheap. Highly recommend this as well as the other colors, especially Flush.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bluemoon1961 on 3/7/2012 7:19:00 PM more reviews by bluemoon1961

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I,m new to Tarte, but I fell in love their lip glosses a few weeks ago. Since I'm doing an "I'm now 50" makeover I needed a new blush. I was looking for natural, some that lasts and hopefully makes me look 10 years younger...lol. I hoped for a nice, fresh look and this stain is just so perfect and beautiful. I have auburn brown hair and medium beige skin. It shows up beautifully, but I have to dab it on twice. This stain gives a natural flush to my cheeks and lasts throughout the day...and it does make my face look brighter and younger.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jarona on 9/8/2011 3:43:00 PM more reviews by jarona

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Recently, I tried out NARS Multiple in Riviera. Riviera is a nice pinky-colored stick that really looked quite nice when I tried it on. It's been on my list of products to buy.
Fast forward to me getting ready for work the morning after I tried Riviera. I noticed that my daughter, who moved recently into NYC for her first real adult job, left some of her makeup at home. Among the makeup was this Tarte Cheekstain in "Dollface". "Hmmmmmm", I wondered.."Could I possibly use this instead of the Rivera that I covet"?
Yes. Yes I could. Here's what I did. I put my normal cheek color on, and with a brush, I tapped the top of the stain, then I stippled the cheekstain on the top of my cheeks and blended. Ohhhh..it looked so pretty and brightened up my face! It's a teensy-weensy lusterous so it really gives a nice finish. I'm definitely stealing this from my daughter!
FYI--Im very fair and cool-toned. Have freckles, but am not a "warm" so this color is very flattering. So happy that I saved money by "shopping" in my own home!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ahhhttack on 8/26/2011 8:54:00 PM more reviews by ahhhttack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love Tarte stains, but this is definitely one of the weaker ones. I'm NC15/20, and I am definitely on the upper end of where this blush will show up. It does show up on me, but I think anyone over NC25 will have a really difficult time with it. The color itself is nice enough, a very soft baby pink. It does have some subtle shimmer, but that doesn't really show up on the face. The formula is creamy, like the Tipsy stain (and not gel like Blushing Bride). The wear time is okay, decent but not nearly as long as the gel stains. If you are pale you should definitely consider this, and if you aren't pale you could still use it as a base for other pink blushes to enhance their lasting power. Since I'm pale and it shows up on me, I would buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Blush products