Marcelle • Cleansing Milk for Normal to Dry Skin • Cleansers

rated 4.2(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.92%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 LindseyAnne on 8/4/2013 5:06:00 PM more reviews by LindseyAnne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this when it was on special in a 400ml bottle which has a pump, so I'm grateful for that since the regular size doesn't have one. I have sensitive, acne-prone skin which gets oily easily. But as long as skin is well mositurized, it won't produce excess oil which is why I just got this in the normal formula. It works fairly well to take off make up, however I would never use this on it's own. It does sting quite a bit when I get it near my eyes so I have to be careful. But overall it does the job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blackrose14 on 6/2/2013 3:52:00 PM more reviews by blackrose14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

It worked for a while then it started causing break outs and dry spots... Made me break out in a rash. I have oily dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* akneil on 5/15/2013 12:21:00 AM more reviews by akneil

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this for quite a while now. I really like it and I will stick with it unless I find an oil cleanser that I like.
If you do wear a lot of makeup, this won't get it all off in one go. I use a makeup wipe first, then rinse my face, then put this on, massage it in, take it off with a facecloth with warm water. After I use a toner and there is never makeup on the cotton pad. My face is soft, never dry. My skin was so dry and flaking before when using foaming cleansers, now it has completely changed. I really like this product and i'm happy i changed to a cleansing milk. It cleanses my skin without stripping the natural oils. I used to dehydrate my skin way too much, and that was causing acne.

Marcelle always has good price points for their skincare. You can find this at Shoppers, Walmart, Target - i think the cheapest is Walmart. Sometimes i've even seen it at winners!

Anyone who doesn't like cleansing milk because it doesn't foam up, take off your makeup, or it leaves a film on your skin: here are my tips 1) try makeup wipes prior to cleansing to remove your makeup, and 2) use a facecloth to remove the cleansing milk, it won't leave a film. I promise you'll like it better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NellKareena on 3/2/2013 8:41:00 PM more reviews by NellKareena

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product comes in a lovely pink bottle with a pump (newer version very convenient) I use this cleanser at night because it is very gentle and helps take away daily stress. I usually leave it on for 5 minutes and rinse. It leaves my skin feeling smooth and moisturised. I then follow with a cotton pad of Marcelle Cleansing Water ( also in a lovely bottle with pump).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jenyfyr on 11/7/2011 10:31:00 PM more reviews by Jenyfyr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I first tried this product about five years ago but I wasn't a fan of the old packaging (non-pump bottle) so I switched to other cleansers in the Marcelle line. I've been using their Hydra-C self foaming cleanser all summer and it was great, but now that we're getting into colder/drier temps, I was noticing more dry patches on my skin. I switched back to the cleansing milk two weeks ago, and between using this stuff with Pond's dry skin cream at night, my skin is totally soft and happy again! I don't love that it's not a lathery type cleanser (just because that's what I'm used to) but it does get the job done. I use Marcelle's eye makeup remover, then splash my face with water and apply the cleansing milk in a circular motion. After a minute or so I wipe it off and then give my face a quick swipe of a cotton ball with some witch hazel on it (I like Marcelle's toner, but I ran out and witch hazel works just as well!). There's never any makeup on the cotton ball so I'm a happy camper! I'm feeling confidant that between this cleanser + Marcelle hydra-C eye cream + my Pond's at night (I use Marcelle moisturizer & the hydra-C eye cream during the day as well) my skin will stay hydrated and healthy this winter...that'll be a nice change!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tinkerpuppet on 6/28/2011 1:01:00 AM more reviews by tinkerpuppet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have found my HG cleanser! I have very dry skin, and I'm lazy. So I tend not to stick to a regime often as cleansers dry out my skin and are usually time consuming and messy. This is perfect! I rub it onto my dry skin, massage in, and use a damp warm washcloth to wash it off (which also gently exfoliates at the same time). No splashing water all over the place and my skin actually feels moisturized afterwards. The difference has been amazing (its been over a month). I don't mind the packaging at all. I shake the bottle (it is a lotion and I think might separate a bit) and simply pour a little onto my fingers. My fingers never touch the mouth of the bottle. Totally hygienic and I know I can get all of it! I also love that its easily found in drugstores at a reasonable price. My search is over!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saraxiao on 11/7/2008 6:35:00 AM more reviews by saraxiao

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I think this cleasing milk is the best one you could find in drug store. It's great since it easily takes the makeup off and you don't feel greasy but clean

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 keg6 on 10/7/2008 10:45:00 AM more reviews by keg6

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really like this product but only gave it a 3 out of 5 because of the packaging. I don't like having to dip my finger into the round opening and pulling product out. A pump would have been better. In addition, I prefer to wash my face with cleansing cloths.

That said, it works great. There is very little fragrance (to me, I can't smell any fragrance) and it leaves the skin nice and soft and clean and comfortable.

I will buy this again, as I use it every so often when my face feel irritated or dry. A few weeks ago, for some reason, it felt like a rash (?!) was coming up on my jawline... for some unknown reason, it was all itchy and uncomfortable. But I used this cleanser ONCE and the problem disappeared and my face felt fine again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LilMiss84 on 9/15/2008 1:45:00 PM more reviews by LilMiss84

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this product about a week ago and I can already tell you I love it! In the fall/winter my face gets VERY dry. I also have sensative skin that does not react well to cleansers that have a lot of chemicals in them.

I used this product with a moisturizer (also by marcelle) and my face feels AMAZING. This product is odd at first because it doesn't really lather or anything, but even as you are rinsing your face off you can already feel its softer.

My only complaint is the packaging. I prefer pump bottles or something you can squeeze. I can see it being hard to get some out when the product is only empty. But that is just personal preference.

Its gentle and didn't make me break out at all! I would recommend this to anyone with dry skin and I will definately buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NaturalMystic on 5/15/2008 11:50:00 AM more reviews by NaturalMystic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I went in search of a new cleanser to replace Dove Beauty Moisture Cream Cleanser after it became ineffective, and after some misses came upon this hit. I have normal to dry skin and I decided to try this Marcelle cleanser after using other cleansers marketed for normal/dry skin that ended up drying me out. I've been using this product for about 2wks and I LOVE IT! I continue to marvel at how it gets my skin clean without any tightness or dryness at all. I paid about $15 CAD for it including taxes at Shopper's Drug Mart.


At first I was hesitant to believe that it really was cleaning my face properly b/c it seemed so light. But, test after test (with cotton pads after cleansing) showed me that it indeed WAS cleaning my skin and doing a great job of it! I don't wear make-up so I can't comment on how effective it would be at removing that type of residue, but this cleanser works very well with my regimen and needs.


Since my skin type is normal to dry and not dry or very dry, I don't typically have issues with a lot of dry patches (occasionally around the nose and mouth, but never the cheeks). However, my face (cheeks especially) was left VERY dry from the other cleansers and was having a difficult time recovering. Within 2 days of starting with this cleanser, my dry patches were gone. I was afraid it would break me out because it was not cleansing enough, but my skin feels soft and moisturized, and looks smooth and clear.


The only complaint I have about this product is the packaging. It comes in a cylindrical bottle with a twist off lid and a round opening. I would have preferred a pump package because it's easier to handle since the product is a milk and has a lotion consistency. Also, some of the lettering on the bottle (i.e. The Marcelle brand name) rubs off easily the first one or two times you hold the bottle to twist the lid and open it. This isn't really that big a deal to me now, but it did get on my nerves a little at first b/c I had to check my fingers to make sure there weren't particles there (and I'm anal so I like the look of a pristine product lol :D).


However, NONE of the above would EVER be a good enough reason for me to stop using this cleanser. My main concern with any product is always the effectiveness of what's IN the bottle, not what's on the outside, because at the end of the day that's what keeps my skin looking great. What's inside this bottle gets no complaints from me.

Note: I recently began using Marcelle Multi-Defence Cream SPF 15 as a moisturizer and the cleanser works very well with this product to keep my skin moisturized.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Marcelle products

More Cleansers products