Clinique Almost Lipstick - Black Honey

4.1

1172 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

castor seed oil, cetyl ricinoleate, glyceryl triacetyl ricinoleate, candelila wax, carnauba wax, polyethylene, tocopheryl acetate [ yellow 5 lake (ci 19140), red 33 lake (ci 17200), red 28 lake (ci 45410), red 6 lake (ci 15850), blue 1 (ci 42090), iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499), red 7 lake (ci 15850), mica, bismuth oxychloride (ci 77163), red 30 lake (ci 73360), carmine (ci 75470), manganese violet (ci 77742), red 22 lake (ci 45380), titanium dioxide (ci 77891), red 21 lake (ci 45380), yellow 6 lake (ci 15850), red 27 lake (ci 45410), orange 5 (ci 45370), red 36 (ci 12085)]


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I know everyone loves this but on me it was just blah. Ended up giving it away.



on 2/18/2015 9:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This one lived up to the buzz!
I love the color - it's a sheer rosy color that just looks so nice but very casual. Don't even need a mirror to apply it. Although this is not a long-lasting formula, it's very comfortable to wear and doesn't dry out my lips. Very sleek, practical packaging. Price wasn't even that bad, think I paid $14.50. I really liked how this natural lip color looked with Nars Orgasm blush - felt that I looked like me but better.
I'll probably pick up a few more of this so I can keep one at my desk at work and in my purse.


on 2/9/2015 6:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

The color of this is like a very sheer mix of brown, berry, and red with a soft shine. It's true that everyone can wear it, although somehow I don't like the color that much (probably because of the brown tones). The formula is unbelievably moisturizing, smooth, and creamy and is the ideal formula for people with extremely dry lips but want subtle color. It never emphasizes dry patches or flakes. The reason I took off two lippies is because the staying power is dismal. It lasts for about 1.5 hours on me and I'm someone where lipsticks last longer than usual on me. I think that it should at least last 3. At least. But yeah, because of the brown tones and the sad staying power I would never buy this again. But I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't mind reapplying and likes the color.


on 1/16/2015 4:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really, really love how this compliments every skin tone! The only thing is that it's hard to keep it on! I have used primer (which only helped a little), but it seems to rub off after an hour and a half. Do keep in mind that it is a balm/lipstick hybrid. It does keep my lips soft and pretty if I apply it once or twice a day. Again, worth it because the color is so lovely!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2014 11:19:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Beautiful lipstick for all skintones


on 12/8/2014 11:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I was scared of this for a long time because of the very dark, black color in the tube. I then moved to Switzerland where black honey doesn't exist, so it was out of my mind for a while. Then for a Christmas special there is a limited edition in a pack of the black honey almost lipstick, gloss, eyeliner and polish. What have I been waiting for?!?!

This is THE perfect berry color for me. A sheer, buildable, non matte, moisturizing, not too dark berry lipstick. One swipe gives me a nice deep cherry tint, more coats gives me naughty deep berry lips. I love the sleek, chic simple packing. I am nc40 at the moment, tan with yellow undertones, pigmented lips and this is gorgeous. My friend who is fair, pink undertones, and blonde tried this(had to pressure her she was also doubtful from the black color) and it looks amazing on her(she also ended up buying the same set as me). This really is the universal berry lipstick that looks on everybody! Would buy again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2014 4:37:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Over and over I purchase "cult" products simply because A. I want to see what the hype is all about or B. I just want to do what the cool kids are doing ;). So, Black Honey was in my stash throughout the '90's. I thought it was ok, but nothing fabulous. I kept buying it though because...well, everyone else was! Fast forward a few years when Clinique brought out several shade variations of Black Honey (which I preferred, actually), but then discontinued them rather quickly. A few weeks ago, I was watching TiffanyD on youtube and she used Black Honey to create a lovely deep burgundy lip. Ok, I hightailed it to my Clinique counter and bought another tube...thinking it must have been reformulated. Nope, nothing new here. I hate the thin, tube packaging. It always has to be swiveled down and invariably it will get stuck to the cap at some point. The color looks amazing, but on my lips (which aren't especially deeply pigmented), I get just the teeniest hint of color. If I swipe repeatedly (read, 10-12 swipes) I get no more color payoff, save for the outter rim of my lips (looks like I ate a chocolate bar...messily!) i don't find Black Honey to be moisturizing. Sure, it's better than having nothing on my lips (which I abhor...I ALWAYS have some kind of product on my lips), but in no way does this substitute for a lip balm, or even a hydrating gloss. So, once again, I realize that this is just not for me. For a woman who wears no makeup, this might be a way to add the tiniest bit of color. Otherwise, for women who like color on their face, this is just not enough color, enough moisture or really even fun enough to bother with.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2014 1:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wasn't impressed. :( It would come off after 1 hour, even with a lip primer. I think that everybody should give it a shot because some people are obsessed with this lipstick, but it wasn't for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2014 11:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I know this is a cult favorite and I'm kicking myself for just now trying this at the age of 28. Hands down, I believe this is my favorite lip color and I've tried many over the years! This is the perfect MLBB shade for me and I can deepen the intensity of the color just by applying a few more swipes. Black Honey is super moisturizing on my lips and for those complaining of the staying powder, what did you think you were getting with the name of the product being "Almost Lipstick"? Haters gonna hate, but I believe this color would look good on anyone! I will definitely repurchase this as long as Clinique continues to make it!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great color! I don't know why I took so long to buy it but its a great color for my IMAN sand, or MAC nc 40-42ish, Bobbi Brown warm natural skin tone. You can intensfiy the red in it by pairing it with a plum or red lip liner or sheer it out, its both a fancy or casual color and in the hosptial the color works great its polished but not gaudy or attention seeking, just polished and professional. I pair it with Clinque Plum Beige lipliner.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
173 Reviews
provocalips
33 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin

Back to Top