John Frieda • Sheer Blonde Crystal Clear Hairspray • Hair

rated 3.9(29 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thevnilly on 10/23/2014 11:55:00 PM more reviews by thevnilly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Has a lovely scent, but this spray makes my hair feel crunchy and look like a frizzy, clumpy mess. I've given it several tries and different styles to try to make it work, but I just can't. No matter how lightly I spray, it just doesn't look good. At least it wasn't pricey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mlutebay on 8/18/2014 2:48:00 PM more reviews by mlutebay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not a huge hairspray person to begin with. Having very fine hair it never seems to do much of anything besides make my hair look like crunchy plastic. I also have naturally blonde hair, and hairsprays can turn my hair a weird greenish-blonde color.

I love this hairspray because it does neither of the things I mentioned above! It gives movable, touchable, yet firm hold and it doesn't make my hair crispy at all! It is the softest, feather-light hairspray I've tried; definitely tailored beautifully for blondes!

Sometimes I shift and try a new hairspray but I always come back to John Frieda Sheer Blonde.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kayliexx on 2/25/2014 1:23:00 PM more reviews by kayliexx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've had a few cans of this spray, and I really enjoyed using them. I find heavier hairsprays such as tresemme can darken my white-blonde hair if used even the slightest bit too much (this may just be in my head...). The only thing is it is quite expensive and doesn't last me very long. I sometimes pick it up when it's on half price, but at regular price it just isn't worth it for me. The hold Is perfect when I'm curling my hair and want soft touchable curls that stay in, but it just doesn't hold down the fly always and baby hairs that stick out when I put my hair up. I've had similar luck with dove aerosol hair spray, which also comes in an unscented version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chrisie on 10/7/2012 3:48:00 PM more reviews by chrisie

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

On the fence with this product.I like the smell,the amount of spray it gives & the shine it gives my hair.On the other hand,even if I spray really far from my head,it makes my hair really sticky,crunchy & hard! Not a good feeling or look.My hair is very poress,which I guess it grabs to much of spray & hardens it.I'm glad it woks for others,though =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misspris26 on 7/12/2012 10:30:00 AM more reviews by misspris26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is amazing and I'm so excited that I discovered this spray! Smells incredibly clean anf fresh, not hairspray-ey at all (a big must for me). The scent also isn't strong and doesn't linger, interferring with your perfume, etc.

Very fine mist (ahhh!!!), fabulous hold without being hard or crunchy (unless you spray way too much), no flakes, it's weightless!

I bought this afte returning the reeking-like-80's-mall-hair-aquanet Loreal Elnett.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweet_like_honey on 7/31/2011 1:21:00 AM more reviews by sweet_like_honey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is the best finishing spray EVER! I have brown hair with blonde and caramel highlights and this spray makes my hair so shiny and smooth without weighing it down (and my hair is very heavy so almost every product makes it lay flat against my head, but not this!) It has just the right amount of hold- not so much that my hair is like a helmet buy enough to keep frizzies from popping up at my hairline. I also spray some into my hands and run them over my hair to pat down any frizzies or split ends. My hair looks great after using this! And it also makes the blonde highlights stand out more because it makes my hair look shiny and gives it definition. The smell is nice, too. I got this on sale at Rite Aid for $4.99- what a great deal for such an amazing product. I also love that it doesn't have oils or silicones like practically every other hair product on the market now. Highly recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anonymiss321321 on 4/16/2011 12:29:00 PM more reviews by anonymiss321321

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I am not a fan of hairspray or anything that would compromise the silkiness of my hair that I try so hard to get but this stuff rocks! It does exactly what it says, it adds shimmer, enhances my color, and tames flyaways. You have to play around with it to get the hold you want. I don't want much hold because I don't want my hair to feel tacky. So I spray it 12 inches away lightly everywhere. If I do this, my hair doesn't feel like it has hairspray in it. It does hold well throughout the day, but extreme humidity will undo it, but that's inevitable. About the smell, I don't understand why no one likes it. It's a very light hairspray smell that immediately disappears. All in all, I've finally found a good hairspray that makes my hair shimmery and shiny.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bstorm on 5/30/2009 11:57:00 PM more reviews by bstorm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not loving this. I have fine but thick highlighted blonde waves and this makes it stiff and dull. I also don't care for the smell. I'm looking for a lighter hold, so I'll have to continue my search!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LovelyThistle on 12/15/2008 4:13:00 PM more reviews by LovelyThistle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a great strong holding hairspray. I have highlighted blond hair and this adds shine as well as holding my fine curly hair in place. I have not noticed any extra dryness from this hairspray and I use it everyday. This is a strong hold hairspray so if you want something flexible then this is not the one to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BookishBlondesUnite on 10/7/2008 9:47:00 AM more reviews by BookishBlondesUnite

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is NOT for me. Cannot tolerate the smell, leaves hair crunchy/tacky if I use anything more than the slightest whisper of a mist, and makes my scalp itch. I did notice it gave my hair a little extra shine, but there are too many deal-breakers to consider that an adequate 'plus'.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair products