Aqua Dessa • Honey Buff • Scrubs

rated 3.6(13 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 makeupwitch on 4/21/2008 12:37:00 PM more reviews by makeupwitch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

love it. does wonders for my crazy skin. leaves it smooth!! recommended for all skin types

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andromeda on 1/21/2003 5:14:00 AM more reviews by andromeda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This exfoliator looks more like a pudding! I see millions of jojoba beads floating in honey concoction, that's what it is. The notion of "pure, natural and gentle" is written allover this product with the main ingredients being pure honey and jojoba beads only. My skin is oily and acne prone, and I think this scrub is too gentle, it does nothing for my face! Well, maybe the pure honey has antiseptic quality, but seriously, I would not spend $30 for a face scrub that does nothing. Smells good enough to eat ( and I think you slather the honey on your bread if you strain out all the jojoba beads first LOL ). However, there are lots of people out there with sensitive and dry skins who swears by it. As for me, nah, I'd go find something else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mayra on 1/5/2002 11:28:00 PM more reviews by Mayra

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

GREAT idea. Simple. Honey and Jojoba Esters. works liek a dream. However, its too pricey.

You can make this at home for less than $10.

Save your $.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Callie on 8/4/2001 11:43:00 AM more reviews by Callie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product as a once or twice-weekly gentle exfoliator for my sensitive skin. Reading the previous reviews (and complaints), here are my observations:
----- If the tub were larger (taller, maybe), it would be easier to mix the mask before use without getting the stuff everywhere. However, use this in the bathtub only, mix it with your hand in its container, and you don't have to worry about excess and getting it all over. It's not ideal for everyone, but for those of us that lounge in the bathtub and use skincare there it's great.
----- The beads float, and separate from the honey. It's physics, so if you don't like mixing it before use you won't be happy with it.
----- It is expensive, considering the ingredients (literally honey & jojoba beads) and packaging. I will buy this again if I don't get around to ordering jojoba beads and making my own, but we always pay a price for convenience.
----- I have super-sensitive, very light skin that stings and gets red with the use of certain products. However, by using a gentle rubbing motion while using this product I have not had irritation or redness, and my face feel so smooth after using it. It may not be great for everyone but I honestly think that it's better for you than any other manual scrub out there.
----- The smell is strange. I have a love/hate relationship with the smell and would prefer something less strange, but don't mind it considering what it does (and the fact that I use it in the bath helps by diluting the smell with others).
----- If you have sensitive skin and are looking for a manual scrub that won't make you get irritated, and you've read the caveats above, I *highly* recommend the Honey Buff! Please write if you have any questions. [I'm not affiliated with them, by the way, but I just love this product.]

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DianaS on 6/28/2001 8:16:00 AM more reviews by DianaS

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love the gentleness of this product, but can't justify paying this much for jojoba beads and honey. I may try making my own with smaller beads. (I also found that the beads are so large, they don't exfoliate as much as I'd prefer.) I'm also trying to work out better packaging. The tub this comes in is problematic because the beads and honey separate and you have to stick your finger in to mix each time. Doesn't feel sanitary to me. I guess I love this product in theory, but not in practice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* D-Girl on 6/27/2001 10:20:00 AM more reviews by D-Girl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this product, unfortunately, that was not the case. It was a goopy, overpriced mess. The beads float to the top which means you have to either stick your finger in and mix it or use something else which then gets honey all over it. Yuck! Also, the beads are too big to effectively exfoliate my skin. Not to mention the fact that when I tried to rinse off my face, I couldn't get the beads off for the life of me. They just kept rolling all over my face, but they refused to come off! I had to jump in the shower and let the pounding water spray them off. Definitely wouldn't buy this again. Tip: For a great exfoliater, try MAC Scrub Mask.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RobinW on 6/20/2001 8:41:00 AM more reviews by RobinW

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this scrub. It's basically honey and jojoba beads. You could probably make your own, but I'm way too lazy ;-) It comes in a circular plastic container, which is handy. However, I think it would be cool if it came in a quirt bottle or something, so you could shake it up (don't know if that would work) because the beads float to the top. You have to stick your finger or some type of utensil in the jar to mix it up before applying. I apply it to a damp face to ease the spreading. Then I hop in the shower, gentle massage the mixture and rinse off. It leaves my face so soft and smooth. I have repurchased this twice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Alexis on 6/17/2001 12:51:00 PM more reviews by Alexis

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was so disappointed that this product didn't seem to work for me. The jojoba beads were rather large and therefore didn't do a great job of exfoliating. The honey base was nice and non-irritating but it is annoying to have to restir the product to distribute the jojoba beads properly. This might be nice if you have sensitive skin and don't need heavy-duty exfoliation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Elyse on 6/6/2001 12:28:00 PM more reviews by Elyse

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

nice...its only honey and wax beads so you dont need to worry about chemical sensitivity..works well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laurenp on 6/5/2001 7:52:00 PM more reviews by laurenp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

a very gentle exfoliator--great for senstive skin! i wish it was packaged in a tube or pump though--the plastic jar is kind of messy. its expensive, but the huge jar seems to last forever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aqua Dessa products

More Scrubs products