Ouidad • PlayCurl Volumizing Mousse • Styling Products

rated 2.5(13 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 wish71 on 11/19/2012 3:57:00 PM more reviews by wish71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product works well on my wavy, fine but thick hair when applied to damp hair. Good clumping. Good second-day results.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kinonyc on 6/10/2012 3:19:00 PM more reviews by kinonyc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My hair recently changed from being fine, curly and frizzy to being fine, wavy and sometimes frizzy. During this transition I switched from No Frizz to Ouidad, and have found I like it a lot, but it has taken a while to figure out what products to use, because it has continued changing. I keep going to Stephora and getting recommendations and returning things. I finally decided to try what the Ouidad website recommends, and I am finding it's working really well--quite to my amazement. It suggested Moisture Lock leave-in conditioner (I've finally realized I do need some sort of leave-in), followed by Playcurl Mousse and the Finishing Spray, and the combo seems to be working really nicely. Instead of straightening my hair, which gels suddenly seem to do these days, this mousse encouraged it to curl up right away. tt now has a nice Marcel wave-y look. I am very pleased. (The only problem is going to be finding a foaming pump for travel, since Ouidad doesn't make travel size.) Will repost if my feelings change.

Update 9/7/13: I'm not using it anymore. I forget why, but I've given up on Ouidad. It was leaving my hair way too sticky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shamuball on 4/17/2012 1:27:00 PM more reviews by shamuball

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not crazy about the smell, but I don't hate it; it's a floral scent that reminds me of hotel shampoo. I have chin length, wavy hair + I just want some definition. I apply a couple pumps to damp hair + it looks great as long as I don't touch it (if I do it frizzes up), but the effect only lasts 3-4 hours, so by midday, i'm looking fuzzy again. Way too expensive for this kind of result.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AsianDiva123 on 12/3/2011 3:23:00 PM more reviews by AsianDiva123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Seems like I am one of the very few that like this product. I use this on days that I don't wash my hair. I use dry shampoo or baby powder for my roots, then run this mousse all over my hair. It makes my hair soft, manageable and gives it a nice lift. And I always love ouidad's package designs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ColdFire on 11/13/2011 12:42:00 PM more reviews by ColdFire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Horrible product. I bought this because I wanted to try a new curling product and the volumizing aspect interested me. It didn't enhance my curls at all, nor did it impart any volume. I liked the foam texture but it didn't have any backbone and wasn't enough to do much of anything to my hair.
Overpriced waste of money, this is going back to the store immediately.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgia21 on 7/9/2011 12:29:00 PM more reviews by georgia21

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this mousse after using Ouidad's Playcurl Volumizing Conditioner. It did nothing for my hair, and I don't like the fragrance, which I found strong and unpleasant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* raenamercedi on 3/5/2011 9:08:00 AM more reviews by raenamercedi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

After realizing that I was ruining my hair from daily straightening and curling, I decided to take a break from heat tools during the week and use them only on the weekends or when I go out. I have naturally wavy hair. After shampooing and conditioning I towel dry my hair, and then I apply a handfull (about five to seven pumps) of this foam and scrunch my hair with my hands. Sometimes I will finish with the gel for added hold. The foam really does bring out the curl in my hair and does add volume. The foam leaves my hair feeling very soft, not "crunchy". I do not mind the smell, and the bottle lasts a very long time, even with almost daily use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bdurkey on 10/5/2010 4:08:00 PM more reviews by bdurkey

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I was looking forward to trying this line. However, this is the worst smelling hair product I have ever used. To me it smells like mothballs and cheap hairspray and was very strong and lasting. The smell was so bad I had to put my hair up to get it away from my nose.

On top of the bad smell this product didn't do much. It did add a small amount of volume to my very fine hair, and managed not to get crunchy, which is saying something for a mousse on my hair, but not much else. Like one of the other reviewers stated adding other products helped, but what a pain! I'll try something doesn't need so much help. This item smells so bad I doubt I'll try any other products by Ouidad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mkmonty on 9/1/2009 5:28:00 PM more reviews by mkmonty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After trying countless styling products for my thick but limp, curly hair, I was excited to give Ouidad PlayCurl foam a shot. After showering and squeezing out the excess water from my hair, I applied the foam as indicated on the bottle. The scent is an overwhelmingly strong cheap cologne smell that I attempted to wash off my hands three times before giving up and proceeding with the styling of my hair. I gently blew my hair dry using a diffuser and when I was finished my hair looked, in a word, horrible. Stringy, greasy yet frizzy (I didn't even know this was possible) and limp. I cannot wait to return this foam back to the store I purchased it from.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cillavanilla on 6/5/2007 6:27:00 PM more reviews by Cillavanilla

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i dont have much good to say about the shampoo, conditioner or that botanical spray, but i adore this mousse. it makes my hair have silky smooth curls, it feels like normal hair, not that crunchy mess that i get from most products. i love what it does to my long-thick-fine hair and its spiral curls! perfecto!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ouidad products

More Styling Products products