Suave • Biobasics Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.9(23 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* haleyhay on 12/12/2009 1:20:00 AM more reviews by haleyhay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This shampoo is nothing extraordinary but it is a good cheap shampoo that gets the job done. It cleans my hair well without making it dry and makes it nice and shiny too. It is also really cheap I got a 32 oz pump bottle for only $3.00, who knows how long that will last me. It smells nice but it is a very light scent, it smells very herbal. But, even if you don't like the scent it really doesn't matter because it doesn't linger. Overall a good cheap shampoo that I would definitely recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kisshippie13 on 5/3/2009 2:26:00 PM more reviews by kisshippie13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Well..I'm on my third day of usage..so far I really like it.
I have curly hair past shoulders and is medium thickness.
We will start with packaging..
Has the basic suave packaging..fits nice in hands..
The only thing I don't like is I could only find the 32oz bottles..
I usually get the 13oz bottle of shampoo and the 32oz for conditioner..because I use more conditioner than shampoo. It's not really a big deal though..I'll just buy more conditioner when I run out..and will still have plenty of shampoo.
The product smells really good! It smells like something a hairdresser would use..so that's good..it can be a little strong though..it kind of has a gingery coconut smell to it..it's very nice..
The shampoo and conditioner have a very nice consistency..the conditioner stays in your hand...actually the consistency is much like the garnier frutis products!

When you rinse the shampoo out it doesn't leave your hair feeling dried out and stickish..it leaves it soft..

The conditioner is great...you don't need a whole lot of it...it rinses nicely.

When my hair has dried..it doesn't feel weighed down or greasy..feels very clean,soft,and very shiny..
It doesn't make my hair frizzier than it already is..

Overall I really like the biobasics line..I really wish they made a frizz serum of the same line..

I would purchase and recommend again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 emilyxtine on 1/15/2009 12:13:00 AM more reviews by emilyxtine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This made my hair unmanageable, waxy, greasy, and all around disgusting. I've never had such a bad experience with shampoo. The smell is not pretty and although it's cheap, I will never buy this again, unless I WANT a bad hair day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sandrabati on 11/26/2008 2:01:00 AM more reviews by sandrabati

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

So sorry I bought this product along w/ another Suave conditioner (humectress knockoff). First, I thought the conditioner was the problem. However, since the conditioner ran out, I've been using the shampoo w/ another conditioner that's worked well for me in the past and the results are not good. My hair was breaking off and falling out all over the place. So sad and frustrating. Right after washing, I'd have a halo of frizz while my hair was still wet and it would just get so much worse and as my hair dried. I thought I was saving money w/ this and now I have to spend more to fix the damage. Rant over...(For what is helping, please see my reviews of Joico K-Pac)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 spluto on 10/22/2008 11:44:00 PM more reviews by spluto

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am SO surprised at all the raving reviews on this product! It made my hair fall out IN HANDFULS in the shower! Many tears were shed over this shampoo/conditioner duo.

I was very impressed by Suave's version of John Frieda's Brilliant Brunette, so I decided to try this one out too when I ran out of that. The first time I used it, I noticed my hair was a little bit tackier/waxier/unmanageable when wet then usual but did not think much of it. Since I wash my hair every other day, it look a week or so for me to realize I didn't like this shampoo/conditioner too much. I couldn't do anything about it because I am literally so busy I don't have a spare moment to go to the store to browse and get something else (or the disposable funds), so I continued using it for a couple weeks.

It was around the third or fourth time I used it that I noticed my hair beginning to fall out more than usual in the shower. Every time I washed it seemed to get worse (as did the condition of my wet hair when I got out of the shower). Somehow it took me until today to realize this was due to the shampoo... but the other night was the last straw, my hair was falling out in HANDFULS and I was reduced to tears of frustration and panic in the shower, as I have thin/fine hair and can't afford to lose any of it! It was just a very scary thing, to have a handful of hair come out in your palm every time I reach up to rinse/brush through your hair.

Luckily today after I realized my hair issues had started at the time I started using this product and progressed along with it, I dug around and found sample bottles of a Dove shampoo/conditioner duo that are completely DIVINE... my hair feels better already!! I think it will take a couple washes to get completely back to normal, but I had no excessive hair loss today when I used the Dove stuff instead, and I am glad I have finally found the problem because I was ready to go to the doctor for this issue.

Again, I can't believe this product has so many good reviews...! Guess I am just unlucky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anonymiss321321 on 8/31/2008 11:36:00 PM more reviews by anonymiss321321

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

awesome, lathers great, cleans my hair great without leaving it dry, and smells awesome. im definitly not buying expensive shampoos

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ksi218 on 4/5/2008 3:54:00 PM more reviews by ksi218

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I used biolage (sp?) for years and decided to give this a try after reading some of the reviews. I love it. It cleans my hair and leaves it just as soft as the name brand one did and for a lot less! I paid about $1.80 for a big bottle of it. The biggest difference that I did notice was that it wasn't as thick as the name brand, but it still worked just as well. I'll be saving my $$$ and stick with my Biobasic shampoo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jacnqt on 2/14/2008 12:37:00 PM more reviews by jacnqt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I have heard that the Suave knock-offs were good and after using Biolage on and off for years I thought I'd try this given the HUGE price difference. I have to say I really like it...I definitely won't be repurchasing the "real thing" anymore. I can't say really how well it "works" as I'm blessed with great Japanese hair so honestly I've really never met a shampoo/conditioner I didn't like. But this whole Suave knock off thing has really made me reconsider how much I've spent on "designer" shampoos.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kahaluumauka4 on 12/12/2007 2:21:00 AM more reviews by kahaluumauka4

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Im just almost out of this suave biobasics shampoo and its conditioner, this is great product, cheaper and works much better than the matrix brands, I dont like the matrix shampoos and conditioners, this copy cat of matrix in suave is highly better, makes my hair soft, easy to blow dry, and my scalp and hair felt totally clean!!! a definite repurchase!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ohana6 on 11/28/2007 8:58:00 PM more reviews by ohana6

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Straight hair, past bra strap length, all one length, with short straight bangs, no longer color treated (accepting the silvers). I really like it. It cleans my hair well, bangs are not greasy by days' end. Doesn't make my scalp itchy, or break me out. Smells fine, lathers fine. Can not beat the price. Will be buying the matching conditioner. My friend swears by the Suave Nexxus knock-off and she has great hair, glad I tried it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Suave products

More Shampoo products