Aubrey Organics • Blue Camomile Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.2(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 paperlilly on 6/10/2012 11:42:00 PM more reviews by paperlilly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was disappointed with this shampoo and had to return it. It doesn't have sulfates, but the cleansing ingredients that they use instead seem to be very harsh. As another reviewer mentioned, this shampoo overcleans and leaves the hair looking thick, flat and very dull. Will not repurchase, obviously.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tks243 on 2/2/2012 5:35:00 PM more reviews by tks243

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this without reading reviews first so was unsure. I picked it solely on its ingedients. It took me awhile to figure out the best way to use this stuff as it is kind of strange. It is green slightly thick and has an ok smell but it does not lather easily unless your hair is absolutely soaked. I have to stand under the shower while the water hits my hair then quickly throw the shampoo on my head and scrub. It is sometimes hard to fully rinse out so you need rinse well. I find that I have to use large amounts to cover my whole scalp so I go through a bottle about once a month to month and a half, my hair is long though almost halfway down my back. I found that my hair does curl quite a bit better since switching to this shampoo and barely get split ends anymore. It is fairly expensive, I paid $14 for it. I would buy this again because I use nothing but natural products and it does its job. I will probably try a different shampoo from aubrey next time though just to compare.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FlaneuseDC on 4/16/2011 9:06:00 PM more reviews by FlaneuseDC

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this shampoo! Yes, it is a little more viscous than many other brands, so you need a little extra water to spread it around. It lathers up nicely, but not too much. It feels cool and minty on my scalp, and it's very gentle on my hair -- and gentleness is one of the qualities I seek most in a shampoo.
My hair is not particularly dry, but it is thick and I have grey coming in. I have purchased this shampoo several times (along with Nature's Gate chamomile shampoo, which I also like, but I prefer Aubrey's).
(I didn't know how to answer the question about "packaging quality"...).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 babalou on 3/16/2011 8:12:00 AM more reviews by babalou

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A product I wanted to love...& I did like it at first. I was using it alternately (with A'kin unscented) before switching to using it exclusively. After a couple of months using, I have suspicions about this shampoo and think my hair looks worse for it.

I liked it at first because my hair retained its wave, did not feel weighed down and I liked the intriguing, minty herbal smell. However my hair condition seems to have deteriorated and my hairdresser commented on my hair shaft looking rougher last visit.

It seems to over-clean and thicken my hair and big it up rather than smooth it. I do not consider it to be 'hydrating' - as another reviewer says, it is actually more clarifying than anything else - verging on harsh when 2 shampoos are done (even if I have applied a jojoba oil 'mask' first) after washing my hair looks and feels quite dry for a good couple of days.

I thought it might be because I was not using the matching conditioner, so I bought it recently when it finally became available to the UK. It's a nice conditioner (sweeter smell than the shampoo) but very light in action & the issues have remained so I am just not convinced by these products and now looking for something else.

I definitely agree with the reviewer who finds this requires effort to spread through hair. It is like a superconcentrated product - very thick and not easy to distribute without using too much... and using too much clarifies and overcleans. Humph. Disappointed - this is not moisturising or gentle enough for my tastes. My hair is normal to dry-ish, fine and coloured. I think this shampoo would better suit oily hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rossjen on 3/9/2011 12:42:00 AM more reviews by rossjen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is among several trial sizes of Aubrey shampoos I'm currently testing out. I was a bit apprehensive after reading reviews on Aubrey shampoos, but I've been pleasantly surprised after using this for a few weeks now. My hair is straight, very oily, and generally lifeless, so I was worried about the hydrating aspect of this. This shampoo lathers up really well for being sulfate-free, and I have no problems distributing it in my hair. The smell is really pleasant to me, a spicy chamomile scent (a bit difficult to describe). After my hair dries, it feels really soft, clean, and has a bit more body and life to it.
I'm loving this so far, and I'm looking forward to trying some more shampoos from the line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dragonballz on 8/1/2010 10:05:00 PM more reviews by dragonballz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this as an impulse buy at a health food store. I had a feeling I might regret it and I do. It's not awful or anything but I feel that it requires more effort on my part to distribute the product throught my hair and scalp than other shampoos. I also have to use a lot of product. It is very natural and Aubrey has a great reputation so I can't be too upset because it will run out soon enough. I've had good luck with their conditoners so I'll continue to try those out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Laski on 6/23/2010 10:04:00 AM more reviews by Laski

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I used samples of this shampoo together with the Blue Chamomile Conditioner. And I loved it even more than the GPB Line - after washing my hair with this, I was in love with the looks and feel of my often quite lifeless hair. It was incredibly soft, shiny, bouncy and had at the same time more volume. Great great great. Will definitely buy the full sizes of both the shampoo and the conditioner.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 melikai on 2/10/2010 6:43:00 PM more reviews by melikai

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not sure why this shampoo is getting such poor reviews, as I love it! I've tried 3 Aubrey Organics shampoos so far, and this is by far my favourite (although the regular Camomile shampoo is great too). I also find it the most gentle one of theirs that I've tried.

The scent is hard to describe, but smells very much like black tea with lemon in it. It's very subtle and does not stay in the hair after washing.

I like that this shampoo has fewer ingredients than most - even fewer than other AO 'poos.

For reference, my hair is fine, blonde and mostly natural (I'm growing out highlights), and waist-length. I only use this on my scalp area.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hairfitness on 1/6/2010 8:18:00 AM more reviews by hairfitness

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I like Aubrey Products very much (with the exception of the deoderants) . This product, though it says hydrating, I found it to be more clarifying than anything. So in that respect, it was a disappointment. I love the matching conditioner. I found the best way to use this, although this is an expensive product, is to condition my lengths first, scalp only wash with this shampoo, rinse, and then condition the whole thing. My hair just soaks it up. It looks healthy, shiny, and full of body. I would suggest this product to fine haired ladies. I have fine hair but I also have curly hair so I need a bit more moisture. I think much depends on your type and certainly your water. We have very hard water here. Anyhow, for moisture I suggest the rosa mosqueta shampoo. Not sure if there is a matching conditioner or not for that. But I did like the blue camo conditioner very much. It would probably be great for conditioner only gals, and the shampoo as a clarifier every so often. I won't repurchase because it's not what I need. But I will stick with AO. I love them!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 biscotte on 2/10/2009 2:26:00 PM more reviews by biscotte

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Hated this products. It was stinky and left my hair in a big tangled knot. I didn't find it cleaned the hair very well. The hair was dry and the roots felt oily.
I would never buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aubrey Organics products

More Shampoo products