MAC • Veluxe - Sketch • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(310 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 11/19/2014 4:16:00 PM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought a 4 palette of shadows, as it turns out, a few days short of 4 years ago, which is just too long to keep eyeshadows. My selections were brule, grain, saddle and sketch. I regretted sketch almost as soon as I bought it. I was looking for a color like twinks, which I purchased sometime later and was much happier with, but got talked into sketch because I have green eyes. I tend not to like purples on me, and this was no exception. In addition, it was hard and applied kind of patchy/streaky.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kbam17 on 11/2/2014 1:30:00 AM more reviews by kbam17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

In the interest of full disclosure, Sketch was an impulse purchase that I likely shouldn't have made. The color is far too cool and dark of a purple to work with any other shadows I own, not to mention my tendency to lean heavily toward neutrals. That said, the shadow itself wasn't that bad, it just wasn't for me.

Pros:
* pigmented
* unique deep purple color
* long-lasting
* fits well in many palettes (I purchased the standalone pan)

Cons:
* somewhat dry
* can be harder to blend out/fix mistakes
* doesn't play well with neutrals alone (in my experience)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rayellaxo on 8/28/2014 5:07:00 AM more reviews by Rayellaxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing. Put it on in the morning and it was still on perfectly at night time when I took it off, with no primer

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 7/2/2014 1:38:00 PM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great Crease outer V shade to use instead of the normal black or brown to give a different twist on a smokey eye.

I read some negative comments about blending and the horrific dark color. I don't understand because in the pan, it's DARK pretty much what you see is what you get. If you are fair or very light skinned there are some some plum shades out there that will give you a similar effect but not as dark. One quick one that comes to mind is Plum from the Lorac 2 pallet. Also this is a shimmer it's got a bit of grit to the texture and is not a matte so it's not quite as smooth to blend. You're going to need to do what the You tube gurus do and blend blend blend to work it in. I use my E40 from Sigma and I can get it to blend just fine with a little work. The color on me is Burgundy if I don't really blend out. It will take on a more Greyish tone if I really work it in so this has the ability to change on how you apply as well as your skin tone color. I also do not use this one on my lower lash line for me it comes off just a bit too dark and goth and at my age I don't think looks pretty. Us mature gals can use this but watch the application so you don't look tired, droopy or on the loosing end of a cat fight. It's really a beautiful color that I think can work all seasons. Satin Taupe, soft brown, nylon, vapor are a few of my mac colors that work beautiful with this. But I'm going to see how this will work in with my Naked 3 since those shades are all in the pink tones. Maybe an update to come!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 khristy on 6/29/2014 8:22:00 PM more reviews by khristy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ok let me start by saying that I READ reviews of EVERY single products out there but, I do not WRITE any myself. However, that changed today when I got this eyeshadow at Mac after watching one of my favorite youtube guru Jaclin Hill use it alongside Satin Taupe. After swatching it at mav, I saw the microscopic glitters in it and I was "oh boy! I'm gonna hate this one on me". But guess what? I'm glad I resisted the urge to pass on it because I just applied it on and gosh, this color is GORGEOUS! I always do dark brown in my crease (Handwritten, Embark...do not care for black eyeshadows) and this one just got in to replace Embark that I find too stiff actually. Ask me about the glitters now, they totally disappeared into my skin. I am absolutely in love with this one and intend to use it with Sable, Satin Taupe, Homecoming by MUG and close to Twinks.
I hope my review helps anyone out there speculating on this eyeshadow.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maria80 on 3/29/2014 6:00:00 AM more reviews by maria80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Maybe the most often used eye shadow in may make-up stash. I can see how it may not work for some people with a cooler complexion, but on my warm skin it works miracles.Normally I do not use it on its own, but to warm up some shadows that are too cool for me, like shale or satin taupe. It also looks great as an eyeliner, making my hazel eyes stand out. Would definetely repurchase, although it seems to last for ages.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 agolden94 on 9/20/2013 10:48:00 PM more reviews by agolden94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Do I have the same eye shadow that everyone else is raving about? This was one of my first MAC purchases, and I must say it left much to be desired. I adore the color; I have blue/green eyes and I love the way burgundy shades make them pop. BUT, this formula is horrific. I can't even get it to swatch, let alone blend. It is so hard and dry! For the price, this was a major disappointment. I can get better color pay off from a Covergirl eye shadow than this. I'm going to try Deep Damson, and hopefully I'll have better luck. All I have left to say is buyer beware...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 7/14/2013 7:50:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Sketch is one of my favorites. Beautiful plummy burgundy shade with reddish shimmer. It's my most used eyeshadow as an everyday liner.
I have neutral to warm fair skin and light green eyes. I use it mostly with Shale on the lid, Quarry on the crease and Blanc Type under the brow bone for a daytime look.
Also looks great on the crease with Satin Taupe on the lid and black liner/mascara.
Or on its own with Yoghurt as a highlighter for a deep smokey eye.
The shimmer isn't too much and it blends beutifully. It's very pigmented and longlasting. Superb!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ivanamandias on 7/3/2013 10:09:00 AM more reviews by ivanamandias

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I recently found Sketch in my mum's make up collection, she doesn't use things like eyeshadow and bronzers anymore (just sticks to eyeliner, blush, foundation and of course, lipstick) so I picked it up to use. I like how it has a slight glimmer to it, and that it's a dark enough colour to deepen up and add dimension to the crease without having it be black. I wore it to prom alongside a frosty (sounds scary, but it was very pretty) taupe colour with a purple undertone. I got compliments on how colourful yet wearable the eye makeup was. It also is a great shade to blend on the entire lid, progressing from more concentrated colour on the lash line, to faded out (least concentrated colour) up to the crease. Again, dark and smouldering without being black. For application, I like using a fluffy, medium sized brush. It falls out the littlest bit, but I think all dark shadows do so. It's soft and easy to use, almost has a velvety smooth texture to it. Amongst the vast collection of MAC eyeshadows I own, this is one I would hate to run out of.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 megs85 on 6/20/2013 5:44:00 PM more reviews by megs85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this color! Took off one lippie cause while I like it, it doesn't blow my mind!
That being said Sketch is everything I wanted Shadowy Lady to be in terms of pigmentation and blendabliity. It looks great with Satin Taupe and with Sable...I've put Sketch in the crease when using both colors. It's a great purple :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products