By Terry Baume de Rose

4.0

98 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate (7.5%), Avobenzone (3%) Inactive Ingredients: castor seed oil, synthetic wax, diisostearyl malate tridecyl trimellitate, methyl hydrogenated rosinate, hydrogenated polyisobutene, polyethylene, C10-30 cholesterol/lanesterol esters, petrolatum, shea butter extract, stearalkonium hectorite, C20-40 acid, caprilic/capric triglyceride, fragrance, tocopherol, rosa centifolia flower wax, rosa damascena flower wax, propylene carbonate, pentaerythrityl tetraisostearate, lanolin, sodium pca, water, polysorbate 85, trihydroxypalmitamidohydroxypropyl myristyl ether, alumina, polyhydroxystearic acid, silica, methylparaben, silica dimethyl silylate, hydrolyzed wheat protein, butylene glycol, mica, titanium dioxide, carmine, phenoxyethanol, propylparaben, butylparaben, ethylparaben, isobutylparaben


on 4/4/2015 11:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I enjoy using this Baume de Rose (the fragrance is lovely), but, honestly, it doesn't perform any better than Aquaphor. A nice splurge product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/4/2015 11:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I think this is one of the many cult beauty products that is overhyped. I had high expectations for this, but I felt like it did nothing extraordinary for my lips. I would recommend trying to get a sample of this before shelling out $60 for the full size. I'm glad I didn't spend $60US for this, because I would have been really upset.

I have to admit the rose scent is beautiful, but I felt like the product just slipped off my lips and provided minimal moisture. There are other (cheaper) lip balms out there that are MUCH better. I would recommend the Nuxe Reve de Miel lip balm over this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2015 7:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Literally the best lip balm I have ever used. Nothing compares. Nothing even comes close.

It hydrates like no other, isn't sticky and is beautifully scented (who doesn't love the smell of roses?). Consistency is just gorgeous, so smooth and velvety. A little goes a long way which is good because it is pricey and I now refuse to go without it. Packaging is also very luxe - love the glass jar and the beautiful silver lid.

Honestly, it just keeps my dry lips in such good condition! Highly recommend if you feel like treating yourself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2015 12:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

As soon as I first used it, I knew it would be my HG lip balm/treatment. I love everything about this lip balm, the texture, the rose fragrance and how well it moisturizes my lips.
I absolutely LOVE the rose scent. It's so beautiful, and calming.

If you want to splurge in beauty treatment for your lips, I would go for this as it feels like a relaxing spa for your lips. This makes my lips looks so luscious and plush like a soft pillow. I also like the Nutri-colour version for a tinted look.


on 1/15/2015 10:43:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Nothing treats my lips better than this does... It is a wonderful product. I can wear it one night and not have to apply again for a few nights. It is a great lip treatment... Couldn't live without it! No matter WHAT the cost! :-)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2014 10:23:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

Like many others, I heard amazing things about this product. I fell in love with the beautiful jar and found the rose smell a bit old fashioned, but not cloying to the point of dislike. There is a charming old world quality to it. First few times I used this product the results were lovely, especially how the faintest rose tint made my lips look both demure and modern at the same time. I even bought a jar for my sister-in-law as a gift.

Problems started however about a week into using it all the time. My lips started to feel painfully dry, much worse than when I first used the product. Actually before this product, I never felt my lips felt "old" but after a short period of use I did. Perhaps it works differently on some people than on me. Overall I would not recommend it except very occasional use. For my lips it did not work at all.

There is a much better lip treatment out there by Amore Pacific that I will start using instead.

Bottom line a very expensive product that worked against its intended purpose.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 11/2/2014 12:13:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I received a sample of this from beauty.com. I was excited to try it after reading of its cult-like following. It doesn't feel very moisturizing to me. It is not very pleasant to use IMO. It doesn't glide on easily. I do not find it soothing. It smells an awful lot like the decorative soaps my mom had (& made me dust because they were just for looks) when I was a child. This is not a good thing for me. I just think "dusty soap" every time I put it on.

I do keep it on my vanity and sometimes put it on top of lipsticks for extra shine. It's handy when I can't find one of the dozen other lip balms I have at any given time.

But I would not buy it. It's ridiculously expensive and not my cup of tea.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/30/2014 7:57:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got a generous sample size pot of this, so thank goodness I didn't spend $60 on it, because I almost did, and definitely would have returned it. First, it smells horrible. I'm not sure what I expected, but it also makes my coffee or food taste awful. It is also alarmingly drying. My lips feel fine while it is on, but over the course of a few days, it made the area around my mouth peel.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Agree with those who find this overrated.

Purchased this in the anniversary packaging. There is no doubt it makes lips look lovely; the sheen is really something special, and the lips look full and young -- airbrushed, like you see in magazines.

The problem for me is the texture and the application, and the lack of benefits beyond how it looks while it's on. It's pretty dry overall and it takes work to get it onto the lips evenly. And, it doesn't leave lips feeling moisturized unless you use a lot and repeatedly throughout the day (and sometimes even then it doesn't leave my lips feeling moisturized). Overall, I feel duped by the hype on this one. It costs A LOT FOR A LIP BALM.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 6/9/2014 10:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I never thought I'd actually buy this.
My lips are usually very beaten and tattered but I have bigger things to worry about.
The closest I get to lip balms are Dior Lip Glow/Chanel Rouge Coco Shine.

I bought this because the anniversary packaging looked good and because of the rose smell. If I'm going to the trouble of using a balm I might as well use this. I didn't have high expectations and didn't really care if it worked magic.

So I started using it, loved the smell and the whole motion of going into this lovely pot.
But my lips peeled. It felt like it was sitting on top of my lips instead of absorbing. Even after applying it at night, the tiniest bit, it would still be sticky on my lips in the morning.

After a few days however, I have the most plumped up baby lips ever, like I've done a lip scrub and applied a plumping serum. I've only ever seen my lips look like this once when I had been drinking litres of water.
This is not a quick fix product. I wouldn't be surprised to find better balms. But this is the only balm I own and have bought in the past decade. I wont be looking for another one, this does the job for me and the packaging is lovely. A little goes a long way so it would potentially last forever, however it expires in 12months so use it up!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1494 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
175 Reviews
lip maximizer
98 Reviews


Back to Top