St. Ives Apricot Scrub Blemish and Blackhead Control

4.0

1572 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Salicylic Acid (2%). Inactive Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Juglans Regia (Walnut) Shell Powder, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Zea Mays (Corn) Kernel Meal, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Cetyl Alcohol, Triethanolamine, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Fruit Extract, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Extract, Primula Veris Extract, Sambucus Nigra Flower Extract, Acetylated Lanolin Alcohol, Carbomer, Ceteareth-20, Cetyl Acetate, Polysorbate 60, Sodium Chloride, Sorbitol Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Fragrance (Parfum), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).


on 3/27/2015 9:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is the best exfoliator I've tried so far.

PROS:
- makes your face feel super clean
- gentle

CONS:
- none so far



on 3/27/2015 5:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Other

Back when I had acne issues, this was the only thing that seemed to help even the slightest bit. My face has since stopped breaking out so much but this is still a staple in my face wash routine. The bottle lasts a great amount of time since you need such a small amount of the scrub. I don't find that it's the best at exfoliating but it does make my face feel really soft and doesn't dry it out at all; in fact I think it might actually moisturize a bit. I love this and wouldn't know what to do without it.


on 3/24/2015 7:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just bought the Apricot Scrub today, and was very excited to try it out. I've noticed with scrubs that it's much easier to apply and rinse off while in the shower. So come shower time, I was hyped to give it a try.
It cost me 5 US$ so I figured if it turned out to be horrible, no financial harm done. But I was very optimistic after reading reviews on MakeupAlley.
I would warn anyone using this scrub not to apply the scrub with too much pressure. The scrub seems to do its job, so all that is really needed is to apply it gently to the face. (No need for the actual scrubbing of the product onto your face, even if it is called a 'scrub'.) Using a lot of pressure to apply it would probably do more harm than good - as it would irritate the skin to an extent that is unnecessary.
The smell and feel of the scrub is fantastic. It left my skin feeling super smooth and not dry at all. I wouldn't recommend using it more than 3 or 4 times per week though. Simply because of how well it seems to work. I think using it on a daily basis would irritate and dry out the skin.
I've got dry/sensitive skin, especially around my cheek area. Thus, I didn't use the scrub there. I mainly focused on the 'T' zone (forehead, nose & chin).
After the scrub, I used 'Clarins Toning Lotion with Camomile'. My skin has never felt so great! Now I've just got to find an amazing moisturizer to complete my facial skincare routine.


on 3/21/2015 7:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love how this helped to improve my complexion.
It has brightened it and made it much more smooth.
This scrub has added a glow back to my skin that I was missing.
I am very happy with this product and whenever I am having a hormonal breakout it really helps before they get out of control. I apply and scub gently and leave on for a few minutes especially in blemish prone areas. After washing my face to remove makeup I use this 3-4 times a week since I have oily skin, which tends to be a bit thicker and cells stick together more. Also I only use this in the shower as it can be quite messy.
Out of the St. Ives scrubs this is my favorite with the original second. For some reason I feel like this one exfoliates my skin better.
This paired with Noxzema has made all the difference for my oily skin.
I am much MUCH more balanced for the first time in my life!!! Go figure two classics that have been around for ages are all my skin needed to look its best. Love them both.
The only complaint I have is that it can be hard to get the rest of the product out when your reaching the end even when there is plenty left.
I personally like the tubs but wish they had a flip top to make it easier to open and close instead of having to screw and unscrew a top in the shower.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/13/2015 2:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Grey, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a great exfoliating scrub, but it is NOT a facewash. You have to remove all your makeup with something else as this only exfoliates, but it does that well.


on 3/11/2015 1:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product has been one of my staples for about 6 years but they must have changed the formula. I looked up the ingredients and there were 10 comedogenic ingredients. 10! The worst ingredients were acetylated lanolin alcohol and sodium laureth sulfate, known comedogenic ingredients. I bought a new bottle in November 2014 and will not buy again ever.


on 2/28/2015 7:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this scrub, only concern is that it is quite strong would definitely not use every day maybe 2/3 times a week. I found that if I use it too much my skin breaks outs from over drying and can be quite painful. Love the smell, it's really good if you have oily skin but avoid if you have dry skin it will rip it apart! Will continue to use regularly.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

used to be my HG scrub, not anymore, my skin is too sensitive for it now.

made my skin dry and break out after I repurchased it a few weeks ago


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love St. Ives Blemish and Blackhead Control Scrub. I was previously using a gel based cleanser and kept suffering breakouts. Finally, figured out that the gel cleanser wasn't thoroughly cleansing my face well enough and getting all my makeup. So, the next time I was in Wal-mart I picked St. Ives for the 2% salicylic acid. The grains are super small, great at exfoliating, and has a fresh scent. What's not to love? P.S. the breakouts also stopped :)


on 2/11/2015 2:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has been a staple in my house growing up (my mom always had it on hand), and honestly I think it does everything that it promises. For the price, you can't beat it. Now, I am a makeup lover. I love the way makeup enhances my beauty, therefore resulting in more confidence even when I have problematic skin. However, if you do not have a great skincare routine tailored to your specific skin type/conditions, makeup can only do so much. That is where this product steps in. Having this part of my skincare routine has really helped my skin. It stops breakouts and provides a very gentle exfoliation, if used correctly and in small amounts. Plus I have sensitive skin and this does not break me out or cause an allergic reaction on my skin. It's gentle enough to use every other day and immediately after I wash it off, my skin instantly feels softer and cleaner.

Always remember, 'more expensive' and 'higher end' does not always equate to 'better', so keep that in mind if you're having a hard time finding products that work for you.


Back to Top