Clinique • Colour Surge Rum Spice • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(30 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misspris26 on 6/23/2012 8:35:00 PM more reviews by misspris26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a very nice shimmery wash for the lid. While I don't like it as well as the urban decay one I use for the same purpose, this is much less expensive and quite similar. I like the little pot it's in too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AriSatomi on 11/26/2011 10:36:00 PM more reviews by AriSatomi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

This is a very red dark brown on me, for reference I'm NC/NW23 (if they made that shade). If your eyes are the least bit red, this shadow will definitely accentuate that. I'm usually tired, because I'm exhausted if I don't get 11 hours of sleep everyday, so I know what tired looks like ;) the first time I saw this color, I just had to have it. Somehow, the store's lighting made the color look very neutral with a bit of bronze shimmer, and I thought I found a dupe for the dark shade in Nars' Cordura duo. No such luck! I brought it home and immediately tried it on. Imagine my surprise when I saw that this was in fact a burnt penny brown! The red tint of this shadow seems OTT for me, because I usually gravitate toward real browns and ones that leans on taupe. However, I found that the pigmentation, formulation and the staying power of this specific Clinique single amazing. It takes me two-three dabs with my brush to have enough color for my lid or my crease, and the amount of shadow that's given is phenomenal. I really have no complaints about it other than the plastic smell of the shadow when it's still new. I've had mine for around two months now and the smell is finally starting to fade. Someone compared this to Mulch from MAC earlier, and I have to disagree on that. I own Mulch, and in fact, I don't use it that much at all. Rum Spice is redder, has more depth, is more pigmented as well as being much more warm toned than Mulch. If Rum Spice was mixed with Amber Lights and Satin Taupe, that would result in something like Mulch. I absolutely love this when I want to use a shadow that is too cold toned, for example blueish grays, I can use a sheer wash of this shadow first to counteract the excessive cool tone. It does a great job of cancelling out the blue and gives more depth to the colors I put on top. I've been layering Blackground PP (as an eyeliner) under Rum Spice (to set the liner and blending it out) and it looks way more interesting that just plain black or brown liner! Overall I find this shadow very useful and I will be looking for other shades from this range.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lxb87 on 8/26/2010 7:51:00 PM more reviews by lxb87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Beautiful brown, especially when paired with Strike it Rich - however, I pair this with other colors all the time with great success. It's a true brown without red undertones, which is hard to find. Lovely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* toyarosie on 6/13/2010 9:10:00 PM more reviews by toyarosie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the best brown shadows I've ever used, and I have tried many working in the cosmetic industry! It isn't a grey-based brown, which washes my complexion out, but a warm bronzey-brown, so rich and beautiful. And not only does it look good on my caramel skin tone, but I've used it on my fairer friends, for weddings etc., and it looks absolutely stunning on them as well. Particularly on blue eyes it makes the color stand out so much!! Also, it has a very smooth application. I have worked for Clinique full-time and now on a very part-time basis, and while I'm not a big fan of their makeup, this has to be one of their best shades, one that beats out others too. I would definitely repurchase if needed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cherylf on 3/22/2010 2:38:00 PM more reviews by cherylf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a very shimmery, but beautiful, eye shadow. I wear it in the crease with Strike It Rich, and my blue eyes look amazing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nikkistephens on 10/6/2009 3:27:00 PM more reviews by nikkistephens

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful beautiful brown! Definitely for showing off your eyes! It has the right amount of sparkle and shimmer and it's absolutely dark and daring. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinksnowbunny on 3/12/2009 3:22:00 AM more reviews by pinksnowbunny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've been searching for the perfect brown e/s for a long time and this is a good one, I love wearing this in my crease, very pretty shimmery brown. minimal to no fallout depending on the brush. blends well. this is my second favorite brown e/s my first favorite being the brown side of the clinique strawberry fudge e/s duo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Noboho on 12/15/2008 2:04:00 PM more reviews by Noboho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I NEVER wore eyeshadow. . . . until I found this. I was looking for an eyeshadow that could enhance my brown eyes, without actually looking like I was wearing eyeshadow. This looks so natural on me and the color is to die for. It's a luxuriously rich brown with a super slight reddish undercurrent that gives it a gorgeous punch. I love the subtle luminosity it gives my eyes. A little bit goes a long way, so I imagine it will be quite a while before I repurchase. The packaging is really modern as well. To me, Rum Spice is simply perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MedeaSea on 11/26/2008 12:22:00 PM more reviews by MedeaSea

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I've finally found an everyday eyeshadow! This is a really pretty shimmery bronze color, which is exactly what I was looking for (the shimmer is not tacky at ALL). By the end of the day it does fade, but it lasts a fairly long time. It's very buildable---I just use it to line my lower lashline and the outside of my upper lashline, but I'm sure it would look gorgeous in a more dramatic look. It's expensive, but totally worth it, especially because you have to use only a very small amount and it will last a long time. I will continue to buy it for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jerseygirlLove on 6/25/2008 6:16:00 PM more reviews by jerseygirlLove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Violet    

very nice eyeshadow, just too dark for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Eye Shadow products