Avon • Candid eau de cologne spray • Fragrances

rated 3.3(20 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kellergirl on 8/5/2013 12:27:00 AM more reviews by Kellergirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A spict floral. Certainly a distinctive scent, and my husband loves it, which is a plus! I like it because it isn't another dime a dozen fruity floral. Way to go Avon!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karebear0099 on 6/13/2013 12:16:00 AM more reviews by karebear0099

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This was not so good.... My bottle also does not have the name of the fragrance printed on it, which is kind of strange. It is just a plain bottle and I ordered it directly from avon recently. I had high-ish hopes for this one. It smells like a kind of expensive spicy type soap you would find at TJ Maxx in a gift box. It's just a very soapy spicy smell that I don't really like. I had a friend smell it, too, when I was wearing it. Her initial review was that it was "not horrible" but not good, and when I had her smell it about an hour or two later she said it smelled "grosser". That might be a little harsh. I think it might smell a bit like Red Door by EA because when I smelled that lotion it reminded me of it, but I cannot be sure because I do not own Red Door. Definitely smells dated, and I don't get any tuberose from it, which some people had mentioned as a note.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Magixz on 7/25/2012 4:41:00 PM more reviews by Magixz

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

At first spray, I thought not too bad but nothing special. I thought perhaps it would be okay for around the house at least but then after just a short few minutes, I wanted to scrub it off! Thank goodness I only sprayed it on my hand and not all over me! I could still smell it even after washing my hand 3 times with soap and finally twice with salt! I still could smell it!!! I am not sure what is in this perfume but to me it reeks worse than Night Magic. Why oh why would Avon discontinue fragrances like Topaz, Persian Wood & Chrisma but keep such stinky scents such as the two I got??? I read someplace on the Avon site that these were considered old classics?????? By who?!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nastycat on 12/17/2011 7:52:00 AM more reviews by nastycat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have a gazillion fragrances in every conceivable size and strength. I am an equal opportunity gal concerning fragrance- ie, I will wear Avon if I like it, and I own some very expensive stuff too. This is headache-inducing, which I have only experienced with 2 other fragrances-Angel and Giorgio. Yuck. not even as a bathroom spray.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* taralynn36 on 9/4/2011 11:56:00 PM more reviews by taralynn36

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the skin softener for some odd reason. Honestly, I figured if these scents have been around for so long they must have some good qualities. After my bath the other evening, I slathered the lotion on and took a whiff and thought nothing special. It definitely has an old-fashioned scent at first. The dry-down isn't too bad though. And the funniest thing is that although I have a dresser-top full of expensive fragrances, this 1.99 skin softener won rave reviews from my husband. Go figure.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 EveninginLasVegas on 5/17/2011 6:20:00 PM more reviews by EveninginLasVegas

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

Candid always smelled odd to me. Like a sharp man's cologne packaged for a woman. It didn't smell terrible, just really odd. The new Candid Summer heat smells even odder. If Candid smells like the 1980's, Candid Summer Heat for 2011 smells like the 1970's, very dated, and that's not a good thing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Broomie4 on 4/28/2011 4:37:00 PM more reviews by Broomie4

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I simply do not have the money to spend on expensive perfume so I have always been on the lookout for affordable scents that are easy on the nose and pocketbook. This fits the bill! I have worn this off & on for many years (since the 80's!) and it still a staple on my counter. It is an Oriental floral and so distinctive. I tend to gravitate to the Orientals with Ciara having been my signature scent for many years. The best reason I have for continueing to wear Candid....when men hug me they often say, "You smell so good!". I wear my scent in my hair.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmarrs on 4/28/2011 12:24:00 PM more reviews by mmarrs

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

A powdery oriental you will never forget. Its just ok but a bit of a sharp powder scent

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennlw5 on 2/24/2011 11:42:00 PM more reviews by Jennlw5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A strong powdery scent, not my type of perfume. Gave me a headache.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OSusanna on 2/19/2011 1:10:00 PM more reviews by OSusanna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Smells quite sharp upon first spray. Dries down to a very smooth finish, quite unique, a bit green and pleasant. The sandalwood is unusual to me in fragrances but even though it is reminiscent of incense it still stays fresh through out the day. It's got a satisfying depth to it that I like and while it appears to be overpowering at first, it seems to stay close enough to the skin for me to feel comfortable wearing it. And, boy, the price can't be beat!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avon products

More Fragrances products