Avon Candid eau de cologne spray

3.3

20 reviews

40% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Sd Alcohol 40-B , Water , Parfum/Fragrance , Ppg-14 Butyl Ether.


on 8/5/2013 12:27:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

A spict floral. Certainly a distinctive scent, and my husband loves it, which is a plus! I like it because it isn't another dime a dozen fruity floral. Way to go Avon!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/13/2013 12:16:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This was not so good.... My bottle also does not have the name of the fragrance printed on it, which is kind of strange. It is just a plain bottle and I ordered it directly from avon recently. I had high-ish hopes for this one. It smells like a kind of expensive spicy type soap you would find at TJ Maxx in a gift box. It's just a very soapy spicy smell that I don't really like. I had a friend smell it, too, when I was wearing it. Her initial review was that it was "not horrible" but not good, and when I had her smell it about an hour or two later she said it smelled "grosser". That might be a little harsh. I think it might smell a bit like Red Door by EA because when I smelled that lotion it reminded me of it, but I cannot be sure because I do not own Red Door. Definitely smells dated, and I don't get any tuberose from it, which some people had mentioned as a note.


on 7/25/2012 4:41:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

At first spray, I thought not too bad but nothing special. I thought perhaps it would be okay for around the house at least but then after just a short few minutes, I wanted to scrub it off! Thank goodness I only sprayed it on my hand and not all over me! I could still smell it even after washing my hand 3 times with soap and finally twice with salt! I still could smell it!!! I am not sure what is in this perfume but to me it reeks worse than Night Magic. Why oh why would Avon discontinue fragrances like Topaz, Persian Wood & Chrisma but keep such stinky scents such as the two I got??? I read someplace on the Avon site that these were considered old classics?????? By who?!


on 12/17/2011 7:52:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have a gazillion fragrances in every conceivable size and strength. I am an equal opportunity gal concerning fragrance- ie, I will wear Avon if I like it, and I own some very expensive stuff too. This is headache-inducing, which I have only experienced with 2 other fragrances-Angel and Giorgio. Yuck. not even as a bathroom spray.


on 9/4/2011 11:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought the skin softener for some odd reason. Honestly, I figured if these scents have been around for so long they must have some good qualities. After my bath the other evening, I slathered the lotion on and took a whiff and thought nothing special. It definitely has an old-fashioned scent at first. The dry-down isn't too bad though. And the funniest thing is that although I have a dresser-top full of expensive fragrances, this 1.99 skin softener won rave reviews from my husband. Go figure.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Candid always smelled odd to me. Like a sharp man's cologne packaged for a woman. It didn't smell terrible, just really odd. The new Candid Summer heat smells even odder. If Candid smells like the 1980's, Candid Summer Heat for 2011 smells like the 1970's, very dated, and that's not a good thing.


on 4/28/2011 4:37:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I simply do not have the money to spend on expensive perfume so I have always been on the lookout for affordable scents that are easy on the nose and pocketbook. This fits the bill! I have worn this off & on for many years (since the 80's!) and it still a staple on my counter. It is an Oriental floral and so distinctive. I tend to gravitate to the Orientals with Ciara having been my signature scent for many years. The best reason I have for continueing to wear Candid....when men hug me they often say, "You smell so good!". I wear my scent in my hair.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/28/2011 12:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

A powdery oriental you will never forget. Its just ok but a bit of a sharp powder scent

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/24/2011 11:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

A strong powdery scent, not my type of perfume. Gave me a headache.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2011 1:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Smells quite sharp upon first spray. Dries down to a very smooth finish, quite unique, a bit green and pleasant. The sandalwood is unusual to me in fragrances but even though it is reminiscent of incense it still stays fresh through out the day. It's got a satisfying depth to it that I like and while it appears to be overpowering at first, it seems to stay close enough to the skin for me to feel comfortable wearing it. And, boy, the price can't be beat!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1358 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
340 Reviews
Light Blue
1409 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
156 Reviews
Daisy
544 Reviews


Back to Top