MAC Satin - Brule

4.5

288 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/24/2015 1:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Took a while to realize its true beauty but it's great for on the lid for a matte eyeshadow look or for a wash of neutral colour all over your lids above eye primer. Can also be used as a brow highlight as well as under eye setting powder.



on 4/15/2015 6:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I use this shadow every time I wear make up. Perfect base color for me.


on 4/10/2015 7:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I use this virtually every day for a neutral eye look as the base colour. It's perfect for neutralising my lid colour and works with pretty much every shade. I particularly like to pair it with one other shade like Haux, Copperplate, Kid, Satin Taupe or Quarry. It's a Satin formula but pretty much a matte finish with no chalkiness. I know it's a popular shade in many makeup artist's kits and I can see why as it's very versatile and a staple in my opinion. Definitely recommend :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have had great experiences with MAC shadows overall, but I find Brule to be underwhelming and lacking in pigmentation. Its possible I just got a "bad one," but I've found that this hardly shows up on my NC20 skin so I never use this as a brow bone highlight unless I want a very natural look. I've found use for it as a base for other colors to make them easier to blend.

I have had this shade in my collection for quite sometime and I don't find myself reaching for it ever. I MUCH prefer Blanc Type by MAC as my highlight shade. I find this shade to be easily dupable- in fact I feel like the shade Brulee by Wet n Wild is pretty much an exact dupe for only two bucks, but has more pigmentation. I recommend trying that shadow out first if you are interested in this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I use this on brow bone with Haux in the crease, and All That Glitters on lid. Warm Soul Mineralize Blush, and Viva Glam V on the lips. Stunning day look with my medium skin and silver hair. At 60, I'm still using M.A.C!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/19/2014 4:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought a 4 palette of shadows, as it turns out, a few days short of 4 years ago, which is just too long to keep eyeshadows. My selections were brule, grain, saddle and sketch. Brule is a color that I had purchased before, and was happy with, so it was an easy choice. I have since purchased blanc type, which I prefer. Although the colors are almost identical, I find blanc type to be a creamier shadow, both in texture and color.


on 10/23/2014 11:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use Brule every day all over my lid and on my brow bone. On my NW/NC 25 skintone it's a bit light but it's the perfect brow highlight for me. It's so silky and pigmented for a matte shade. Highly recommend!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/30/2014 1:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm going to keep this short and sweet, this is a staple in my collection, I use this almost daily along with MAC Vanilla, Espresso and Embark. Great browbone highlight and great for daytime.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2014 2:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I use this shadow almost every day as a lid to brow color. It's great quality and a really good starting color for so many looks. Always replacing this when I run out. Love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2014 10:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This used to be my go to highlight and lid color. looks great on my nc40 skin and does not crease or look chalky. the packaging is standard MAC black and i love it, the price isn't bad, its the same as usual but i have found an AMAZING dupe. For under a dollar i use Wet n Wild Creme Brle. it works exactly the same except i can afford to stock up on these. i always have backs up in my collection. a little on the powdery side so you'd have to use a stiff brush but for less than 1/10th of the price id say its a must try! But i do love the fact that it DOES NOT crease on me, i have the oiliest eyelids ever and Mac and wet and wild are the only two shadows that don't crease on me.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

94 reviews
Back to Top