Fresh Sake

3.4

85 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/12/2011 8:18:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this perfume. Some of my friends have tried my bottle, after commenting on loving my scent, and have practically sprinted to the bathroom to wash it off them. It's one of those hugely personal, chemistry-specific things I suppose. On me, it works very well. The harsh upper notes fade quickly, leaving behind a complex, warm citrus scent with no hint of sweetness or cleaning product. It's just a rich, warm, fresh scent. It lasts for about 4-5 hours, which for me is a very long time, and also smells amazing when I spritz my hair with it once in a while. You'll just have to try it and see if it works for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 8/7/2011 11:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Loved this when I got it 5 years ago. I'm so over it. I know tastes change....but some fragrances I started using 16 years ago I still love. Which says to me that there is something not very timeless or enduring about this scent.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Notes: ginger and grapefruit; lily-of-the-valley, white peach, lotus; musk, vanilla, osmanthus, white sandalwood.

This fragrance opens with a blast of fresh citrus and sweet ginger. A synthetic peach note joins the two top notes amplifying the sweetness of the composition. I cannot say if the strident metallic undertone of the accord is due to the addition of synthetic lotus or lily of-the-valley, or if the grapefruit brings out the worst in the synthetic peach note. The first two hours of this scent are unbearably sweet and artificial, reminding me toilet deodorant spray. Thankfully the notes burn out rather fast and after said two hours all I see is a diaphanous musk with a dash of ersatz-sandalwood. Lasts three hours on my skin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I try to keep as few fragrances as possible so as not to overwhelm myself, and this is one of the few that I keep going back to over and over again. My boyfriend is a huge fan of ginger scents on me and I'm big into Lily of the Valley. This just so happens to have both! It's a very sexy scent and I do believe that this is wearable for both sexes. I don't like strong scents (i.e. Clinique Elixir, Channel No. 5, Angel), but this is one that has staying power (at least on me) but doesn't smell like I've taken a bath in fragrance. It's very unique compared to the usual floral or citrus fragrances that seem to be falling out of the skies. I really like mixing this with some of my other Fresh fragrances like Strawberry Fields and Sugar Lechee. The peach, lily of the valley, and vanilla notes really come out when I'm wearing it, so it's never too much. I'm on my 3rd bottle and will still continue to buy it as long as they make it. I may even get the candle! It's even better now that they have a smaller size for travel. Don't forget, the caps screw off, so refilling is easy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2011 6:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Smelled great in the bottle when I tested it at the Fresh store.


Sampled some on my hand but it did smell harsh & strong like the previous review said before me. Later on it dried down to a more subtle scent & within 2-3 hrs it disappeared.


I went to Fresh to buy Sugar Lychee & while I was sampling, all the fragrances melded together, so if I really want to know whether Sake works w/my chemistry, I'd have to sample it again by itself. So far I care little its initial harshness...in the bottle it smelled rice-like (soft, creamy & warm) but sprayed on the skin it took on potent alcohol-like smell (just like sake wine). The drydown softened to something more pleasant but since the Sake was on my hand & I also had Sugar Lychee on my wrist, I can't really describe its true scent. I just know I didn't like the beginning notes at all.


The notes are:
Langsat fruit, grapefruit, ginger, white peach Absolut, lotus flower, lily of the valley, osmanthus, vanilla, musk.


I wonder why I smelled rice flower? Probably because the bottle was clustered with Rice dry oil & Rice Sake bath. Sake EDP could probably pass as a fairly unisex scent. It's not girly or feminine at all, but quite neutral.



on 12/9/2010 8:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This fragrance didn't work for me at all. It smelled chemical and weird, too potent, too harsh. I put it on and within 15 minutes I was washing my wrist trying to get it off. I got some on my jacket, smelled it again today, and still don't like it. It has such a strong chemical smell I can't get past that, don't get notes of anything I like or would want to wear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

When I tested this on a strip of paper, I thought the smell was very familiar. After wearing it for 30 minutes, I've come to realize that it smells identical to Bounce's original fresh outdoors scented laundry sheets.

Although this is not something I am looking for in a perfume, if you want a fragrance that makes you smell like clean laundry, this may be the one for you. Surprisingly, this scent lasts quite a while and is not overpowering.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

perfect blend of citrus and musk. my friend borrowed it because she smelled it on me and now i miss it. bring it back, bitch.


on 10/9/2010 2:32:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is by far the sexiest scent I have ever had. It is numerous things but above all it is unique and definitely sensual.

Each and every time I wear it I am asked what it is and how delicious it smells.

Sephora sells it only in the large sized bottle I am also a big fan of Fresh 's Sugar as well.

Simply elegant and chic
=^.^=

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/5/2010 5:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I am shocked that this doesn't have better reviews. This is one of the most unique, intoxicating fragrances I have ever owned, and it's now my favorite. The past few years I have had trouble finding fragrances that don't give me a horrible headache, and this one is just perfect for me. I was unsure at first because I am not a grapefruit fan, but this product completely won me over. It's soft, musky, floral, exotic and comforting, with just the right amount of citrus. I love it so much that I even wear it to bed, or spray a little bit on my pillow at night. I hope this fragrance will be around forever because I would be devastated otherwise!


Popular Fragrances


Angel
Angel
1829 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1886 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews
Back to Top