Revlon Colorstay 12-Hour Eyeshadow Quad "In the Buff"

3.2

53 reviews

41% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/12/2013 9:10:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I don't love it nor do I hate it.
The pigmentation is not too bad. It is is a very neutral palette so I find I use it for no makeup makeup looks. It doesn't irritate my sensitive eyes.
I bought this on sale, but I wouldn't buy it at RRP in Australia for >$20.



on 10/19/2012 12:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like this set well enough despite Revlon not being my fav line for e/s. The quad I have does not seem as sparkly as the swatches here for some reason; there is some but seems more subtle, more satin-like. They are a bit dusty to use dry and you get more pigment and longer wear used wet; dry not so much but then again, the name IS "In the Buff" and it certainly is. I got this for 2.50 on clearance and I am pale, NC15-20, so these shades work well for me as an everyday easy eye to throw on for work, or for travel when I want a nude eye and don't want to bring my "good" palettes in case of breakage. For the price I paid it's not a huge loss if they aren't perfect and don't last as long as they claim they do (12 hrs not really, but if I can get 6 I'm happy). Needs a primer underneath for sure and I definitely would not buy these full price, so not a repurchase at this time but I did go back and purchase Sandstorm, which is full of great taupe and light bronzey shades that are more pigmented than this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2011 4:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I personally love this palette.

I understand the problems that some people have this palette, however it should be noted that this is a VERY neutral palette.

Being rather tanned(NC-42) whenever I find a tutorial on Youtube that I want to try(Pixiwoo and the like), they often begin their looks by dusting a "shade close to their skin tone" which is often MAC's Brule. I personally only ever use Brule as highlighter, never as an all over color. That's where the third shade down on the palette comes into play.

However I would definitely suggest pairing it with another palette or single e/s--as this is only good for adding a base color.

Having said that, I am now on my second palette. Will continue to purchase as it is quite handy to have different tones of highlighters(the top two are pink and yellow toned, respectively).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/20/2011 3:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

If your looking for pigmented shadows, skip these because they are sheer hence the name "In the Buff". However, I like this since it's quick and easy to apply without having to worry too much about blending. I use the two darker shades the most since they show up better on my skin-tone. The two lighter shades are good highlight colours especially for my brow-bone since they are fairly matte (maybe satin finishes?) which I prefer over frosty or shimmer shadows that many drugstore quads seem to carry. It's quick and easy for me in the morning and good if you like the "no makeup look". I took a lippy off since the lightest shade is a little chalky, but overall a good quad if you like basic neutral eyeshadows.


on 7/8/2011 9:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I hate this product. it's such a waste of money. its not at all pigmented. it does absolutely nothing for me. might as well not wear it. very disappointed.


on 6/4/2011 12:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

In the beginning I didn't really like this product, I felt they were too sheer. They are still sheer, but they have started to grow on me. If you really don't like sheer eye makeup, then don't get this one. If you do and like the soft eyes look, this is great. There is something about these colors that make your eyes look bigger and more awake. They give a soft glow to your face. I've found myself reaching for this more and more, I'm loving the soft eyes look. I'll be buying this again when I'm through. I want to get more colors as well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2011 7:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not bad quad. I used this for everyday for awhile but stopped because I was seeking eyeshadows with a bit more pigmentation. They are sheer, good neutral shades for work or for school in my opinion. Would be nice for those who want a 'no makeup, makeup look'. Won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/13/2011 11:57:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a good nude quad. Great colors and great staying power. I have found that alot of drug stores in my area have stopped carrying it regularly, which I am not happy about :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2011 10:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love the lighter colors in this palette to use as a base, reflects nicely with my light skintone. However the little applicator it comes with is the worst.


on 4/6/2011 10:19:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I got this after watching Lisa Eldridge to a tutorial with it. I've been using it on almost a daily basis ever since. It's perfect for the natural/naked eye. Pigmentation is great and it stays all day without fading or creasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top