Sage regular strength facial shampoo

4.2

93 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aloe Barbadenesis Leaf Extract, Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate, Cocomidopropyl Betaine, Triethanolamine, Polysorbate-20, Citrus Tangerina (Tangerine) Oil, Carbomer, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Red 40, Yellow 5


on 4/12/2015 12:16:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This was not good for me at all. For starters, I woke up with bright red eyelids. I don't usually use cleaners over my eye area but I read reviews that it was gentle to remove all makeup. 1) It didn't remove my makeup at all, and I don't even wear waterproof makeup. 2) ALS is a harsh surfactant IMO, despite people saying its mild. In my experience of course, I can't tolerate ALS in shampoos (prefer SLES), and I guess the same goes for my skin. I believe I also was reacting to the tangerine oil, an essential oil that is problematic and irritating for sensitive skin. I looked at my skin in natural light and was shocked after two days of use my skin was just parched! I spent over $20 on a tiny bottle and unfortunately I can't use it again. I guess it was my fault for not patch testing first!



on 2/24/2015 3:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have used Sage off and on for about 15 years. My favorite products have been the Facial Shampoo and Corrective Beads (formerly known and Corrective Grains). I recently had a bad acne outbreak at 45 years old...go figure. I was desperate and recalled that the combination of these two products worked well for me when I was younger. The Facial Shampoo is effective yet gentle. I don't feel overly dried out, but my skin feels really clean. I use it alone at night and it removes nearly all makeup. I don't find that is removed waterproof mascara that well although it claims to. I LOVE the scent - lightly scented mandarin orange. I find it refreshing. In the morning, I use the extra strength corrective beads followed by facial shampoo. Corrective Beads have benzoyl peroxide and are very scrubby. The facial shampoo used afterwards feels so nice and smooth. I love the product. The packaging is nothing special. Standard stuff you could use if you created your own line and used an online company to create your packaging. My least favorite thing about these products is the wording on the back of the bottle. It seems very unprofessional and not very exact. Her choice of words is...odd. BUT the product is awesome, so I just won't read the back :-). It is expensive. $36 for an 8 ounce bottle. But it lasts a VERY long time.


on 1/15/2013 8:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I can't say enough about this product. Not sure why I didn't review it when I first joined this board.. been using it since 2001. It really cleans my face yet doesnt completely dry it out and only contains a few ingredients. You can feel good about putting this on your skin but the best thing is it does not cause sensitive skin to break out. Ive tried the sensitive skin facial shampoo before and it just doesn't clean as well as the regular strength for me. Its a pain to order it sometimes having to wait by mail but I just buy a good amount at once and then only have to purchase maybe two or three times a year. I get the big pump. I like being able to clean my face in 1 step. The corrective grains are ok too but for budgeting you could go with only the facial shampoo. I only use the facial shampoo and the spf 40. The spf 40 is very moisturizing. I use another facial cream in the morning then slather on the spf 40 and then my makeup ( my skin is pretty dry) and my face feels so good! I can do without the other products but have to have the facial shampoo. I wish there was a buying option at a store and that it didn't have to be online but once you try it you are hooked and you don't want anything on the store shelf!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/6/2012 8:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm really pleased with this cleanser, it's gentle yet very effectively removes makeup. Zero irritation or breakouts. A little goes a long away. Will definitely repurchase.


on 12/3/2011 12:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this after hearing about it on the skincare board. Gel like texture that lathers nicely and removes makeup very well. Pleasant smelling (citrusy) and gentler being that it is SLS/SLES free. That being said this is a very basic wash, and since I have stopped wearing makeup I no longer need a cleanser this strong. It is effective for the purpose of removing grime and all forms of makeup, even eye but may be too much for someone just doing a once a day face wash with nothing to "remove".

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/9/2011 2:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this shampoo after hearing great things about it on the board- Thanks, Barbih! I love the ingredients and that it's aloe-vera based instead of water. It removes all my makeup and sunscreen which is a plus. I don't have to use a separate cleansing oil. I think my skin looks super clear since using it and it has even cleared up some blackheads around and on my nose. I have combo-sometimes dry skin and I am very happy that I came by this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2011 10:31:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

3rd UPDATE (12/05/11) This still cleanses beautifully without drying. My concern from last week was premature. I admit that I tend to freakout when there's been a change to a HG, even it if's ever so slight. 2ND UPDATE (11/30/11): So I just got another large bottle with a slightly different ingredient listing on the label....plus the pale pink color is now darker, which was my clue that something's different. Not sure what I think or if my skin will like it? Here's the original ingredient listing:
INGREDIENTS: Stabilized Aloe Vera Gel, Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Carbomer 940, Polysorbate 20, TEA 99%, DMDM Hydantoin, FD&C Yellow #5, FD&C Red #4....(May also contain: Hydrolyzed Sunflower and/or Safflower Oil, Bee Propylis Gel, Allantoin, Tangerine Oil or Lemon Mint). UPDATE (04/01/11): How much do I love this cleanser? Let me count the ways. It's effective without stripping the skin. It's foams up without drying. The scent is very pleasant so it's enjoyable to use. And best of all, it's NO-TEARS. I just recently tried using it on my eyes with just my fingers, gently massaging clockwise, then counter-clockwise, then rinsing. And voila! No more mascara stains on my white washcloths. I also appreciate the discounts that Barbara at Sage is now offering from time to time on Facebook. 20% off makes this cleanser certainly more affordable. I buy the big kahuna pump size these days. Love it!

ORIGINAL REVIEW (3/25/09): Minimalistic formulation that is glycerin-free as well as SLS/SLES-free (yay! for dermatitis-prones).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2009 6:03:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using Sage off & on for over ten years. After finishing my Skinceuticals Exfoliating Cream Cleanser, I thought I'd give the Sage cleanser a try again. First I had to get over the sticker shock - for that price you can buy pretty much any brand but get beautiful sterile packaging. In any event, I bought the big bottle. This cleanser isn't as good as it was five years ago, Doesn't take off makeup that well and needs a lot of rinsing. The customer service at Sage is the reason I stopped using their products a few years back along with my sisters and Mother. Well if it's at all possible, they seem to have gotten even worse. Bad attitude and lack of communication. Yep, with all the good choices available, I'll spend my money with good companies and great products.

Back to Skinceuticals for me during the day. At night I found a nice combo with removing makeup with jojoba oil and then Cetaphil Cleanser. That leaves my skin clean and dewy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/15/2008 6:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG cleanser. I have been using this basic cleanser for about 6 years now. It is nice to use something that you know will never cause breakouts! This is not a fancy cleanser. It is a basic cleanser that removes all my makeup and mascara without over-drying my skin. I can open my eyes while I use this and it never stings. Sometimes I get tempted my the claims of another brand, but I always come back to Sage. It is expensive, but a bottle lasts me forever as it doesn't take much to clean your face. You can also have the formula customized if you like.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/16/2007 12:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I used this product for many years. It is a gentle cleanser, and like an idiot, I saw the "may contain safflower" oil on it and assumed that it was removing my LRP waterproof sunscreen. I noticed recently that the "may contain safflower oil" notice is gone from the bottle. I emailed Sage and they wrote back and told me that my products *never* contained any safflower oil. That ingredient would have only been added if I had been asking for custom formulated products. I guess it is partially my fault for not asking more questions, but now that I am using a cleansing oil, I have had better luck removing my sunscreen and fewer breakouts.

I'm glad that I discovered this big "flaw" in my favorite cleanser - I was kind of tired the company's high shipping prices and slower shipping times.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top